We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”

The Hydrant, Monument
Ranked #5,229 of 26,891 Restaurants in London
Price range: £15 - £30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Among the very the best bars in the City of London, The Hydrant serves up great food, craft beer, wine - and a stunning view of The Monument to the Fire of London.
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Terrible staff on the front desk, no idea what they are doing, very unprofessional and rude. Cant explain themselves when questioned and looked like they did not even want customers to come in.

Would not recommend
.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank 1982edpnr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jonathan W, Deputy Manager at The Hydrant, Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Hello Edvinas P,

Sorry our service was not up to speed on Saturday. I am aware that in the time period you attended we were in the process of closing for a private event. This maybe why you felt unwanted but, please do not feel that way.

We would like for you to visit us and have a great time, but, just in that circumstance we had an occasion that was for invited guests only.

If you would like to discuss this further please email me directly at hydrant.manager@fullers.co.uk

Thank You,
Jon Ward
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 136 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2016

I like gastropubs but Hydrant is a very popular place for drinks on Fridays so I'd recommend visiting it only on quiet days / time if you want to dine in (please note tables upstairs may not be available in offpeak hours).
The menu often changes and offers continental tapas; please ignore the one posted on google maps (check their official website) as it's out-of-date.
Good value overall as tapas portions are quite generous.

Service unexpectedly quite pushy about ordering soon and I cannot see the point of taking away the menu / tablemat especially if you want to order the dessert after.
Some slices of complimentary bread with oil&vinegar are provided waiting for food.

I ordered unusual plates for my habit: bufala with tomatoes + ratatouille and the spiced brisket. In the first case I expected some kind of sandwich but parts were actually presented separately. Taste was decent, particularly for bread.
On the other plate, it was a bit of a mess with 3-4 flavours but meat was tender.
Perhaps I have been unlucky with the choice of plates but, even though above frozen pub food, none of them were memorable or worth of gastropubs (affordable prices should be a hint about lowering expectations...).
The fact it's sometimes crowded at dinner also is not an incentive to dine in on a regular basis.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fabsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon W, Deputy Manager at The Hydrant, Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Hello Fabrizio O,

Firstly, thank you for the heads-up on google maps - as a third party we can only recommend they update there menu - must be one we have missed, thank you. We encourage our waitresses to speak to the customer and make them feel welcome - this involves several trips to the table which I guess can come off a bit pushy, this is something I will pass on to my staff and the next opportunity.

We are changing our menu in late October hopefully you can come back and give us another try and maybe each dish you try will be full of flavour and delciousness?

Thank You,
Jon Ward
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

New name - freshly decorated, with new staff, menus and new beers - we particularly like the Hawaiian golden ales
There is more space upstairs !

Date of visit: August 2016
3  Thank 67Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon W, Deputy Manager at The Hydrant, Monument, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Aloha 67Mac,

Thank you for quick review. We love you!

If you prefer to sit downstairs you can always book in advance on our website!

See you soon!
Jon Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

The food tasted nice but the portions were quite small. Small detail but waitress didn't write order down and forgot our 'Rosemary salt chips'. Oh and service charge was automatically added...

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank TheOneiRupes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Called in here, just for a quick beer. There is a decent selection of craft ales and larger served to to you in barrel pint glasses, by friendly staff. The bar wasn't busy, but still had a good atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Hydrant, Monument also viewed

 

Been to The Hydrant, Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.