We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair to reasonable curry”

Khan's of Kensington
Reserve with OpenTable
Khan's of Kensington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #135 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$53
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Description: "Khan's of Kensington has developed a core of devotees over the years, from household names to lesser mortals, who delight in its slightly modern take on North Indian cuisine. The colonial ambience is very relaxed, pleasant, and its bijou dining room has an intimate feel. Some favourites -- among many -- are the fish Coliwada, which is fried marinated pomfret fish from Bombay, and the Officer's Chop of lamb in honey sauce. The tandooris and baltis are very popular, and if by chance you don't find your favourite on the menu, the kitchen are happy to set that right, too. Lounge bar on the lower level, charming atmosphere throughout. "
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fair to reasonable curry”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

A fair to reasonable curry at a high price - probably better off going further out of town for better value. But if you're local and in a hurry Khan's is OK. Service was reasonable and dishes quite tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    107
    48
    23
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food and service, decor could be upgraded”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

White tablecloths on table with rose in vase, poppadums offered quickly (extra 1.50 on bill). Fish with Goan touched curry was quite good. Mushroom masala good as were green bean, the okra was very well cooked, the best of the three Indian restaurants we went to. Good pokra, nice touch to keep dishes warm by having candle heating raised plate. Decor not great, big pictures of people on wall. Located opposite South Kensington station.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke8842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Watch your step in the ladies”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A strange start to a review but there is a step just inside the ladies loo which, as the floor is black with no white markings is to my mind dangerous. I had washed my hands and stepped back and went flying. Luckily for me I am well padded !!
The poppadums arriving as soon as we sat down without us asking was off putting and they went on our bill. Food was average and I think overpriced but it is in Kensington.
This was not our first choice of venue but as we were off to a matinee at the Albert Hall, the one with no queues. And now I know why. An expensive mistake.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Close to South Kensington tube station and the prices probably reflect the generally high prices in this part of London. Went with my 7-yr-old son, so always good that Indian restaurants are happy to serve side-dish sized portions for him. We were going to order poppadums anyway, so no problem when they arrived before even drinks were ordered, but as they charge for them if you don't want them I can see why that would be a problem. Curries were nice. Chili paneer bhuna was spicy (as I'd hoped) though paneer was a bit rubbery/greasy. Service was generally good, although loudly announcing that service was not included was a bit uncalled for.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I ate here with a friend quite early (just after 6PM) and the service was actually TOO fast (maybe we were talking too much!). The food selection is good and was well presented.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khan's of Kensington also viewed

 

Been to Khan's of Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing