We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing today” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rib Room Bar & Restaurant

The Rib Room Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #276 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$104
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Belgravia
Description: The Rib Room Bar & Restaurant is one of the capital's most loved culinary institutions. Now over 50 years old and boasting a chic refurbishment by interior designer du jour Martin Brudnizki, The Rib Room remains the destination of choice for foodies in London. The menu has been reinvigorated by Michelin-starred chef Ian Rudge, with dishes like breast of Loomswood duck, honey crusted drum stick, pear, parsnip purée, shaved chestnuts and fig sauce, and old favourites such as the legendary Aberdeen Angus rib of beef. With a new keenly priced lunch menu including trolley service dish of the day and the return of Sunday lunch, The Rib Room offers memorable dining in distinctive surroundings. The striking interior features a glamorous cocktail bar, 3 private dining rooms, and a cigar terrace, with all offering an air of understated elegance. Artwork by Feliks Topolski decorates the restaurant, recalling famous faces and places of the 20th century. With an extensive wine list of more than 450 bottles compiled by head sommelier Louise Gordon, and a unique gin and bitters experience served by the spirited bartenders, The Rib Room is an all-round gourmet experience.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very disappointing today”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We like to pop in here to have a soft drink or a light lunch while out and about in Knightsbridge shopping. We usually like to sit outside which we did today. Unfortunately, we were joined by a resident mouse! Given we had ordered food, we didn't really feel comfortable eating it knowing that there was a mouse running round so we moved inside. This seemed to cause a bit of chaos and our food was taken outside and then back inside only to find they had got one of the orders wrong. So we had to wait again for the right order to be served. Service was good and very apologetic but food wasn't great and combined with the star appearance of the mouse outside made me feel that a total bill of £38.00 for all this didn't really feel right. Might go again but will wait to hear if the mouse situation has been addressed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonXYZ1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michele c, Manager at The Rib Room Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and I’m sorry to hear about your experience. The Rib Room team strives to deliver immaculate service throughout any guest’s visit and I am disappointed to hear you were not satisfied on this occasion. Our terrace is a popular place to dine and drink, and unfortunately it seems to have been the destination of choice for a mouse during your visit.

As part of our continued effort to prevent such unwanted visitors, we have instructed our external company to increase their activity within this area until we are satisfied that this issue is resolved. While we hope the mouse does not return, we would love you to!

Should you wish to speak in more detail about your experience, or to make a future reservation, please contact me at michele.caggianese@jumeirah.com. I will ensure you have a wonderful experience.

Yours sincerely

Michele Caggianese
The Rib Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    72
    22
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Splendid dinner from start to finish. Great Prime rib and great wine. Impeccable service from Carlo and Chiara. A little pricey but as I am used to say: "the search for excellence has its costs".

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano27162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Simply one of the best restuarants in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Being an avid steak eater, this place certainly delivers on service (although the staff could smile a bit more), flavour, quality of the cooking and presentation. Prces are not over the top for Knightsbridge.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CityGuy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth more than one visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was taken by some friends to the Rib Room at the Carlton Tower Hotel, which I hadn't been to for quite a few years for no other reason than there always seemed to be newer places to try - what an idiot I am!! It had changed its décor but that was about all. It was a really delicious Sunday Lunch with all the trimmings and desserts were gorgeous I had the Eton Mess and another one had the Chocolate Brownie and Walnut, in fact there were two or three others which looked just as good - oh so many choices but not a large enough appetite. The service was impeccable, so much so that The Maître d even offered to show us the kitchens which were ultra clean and seemed to be efficiently. I will certainly make it a pretty regular place to go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mconway3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
729 reviews
597 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Excellent across the board”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Friday night dinner with the Mrs. Clearly a fancy place with a solo live jazz singer gently in the background performing for the smart clientele sitting in the bar area.

We were welcomed in by a smiling member of staff who quickly wished us off to our table.

Our waiter was also very welcoming and introduced himself whilst pouring some sparkling water. Service throughout the evening was just spot on.

The menu is not too long which is always a good sign that this place is going to strive for excellence on a few dishes rather than mediocrity on many.

The manager 'Robert' was present in the dining area and we had a good chat about the menu options. In the end we went will all his recommendations which was a good plan!

1) Rib Room Classic Prawn Cocktail was up there with the best I have ever had;
2) Orkney Scallops were outstanding and one of the highlights of the evening, not just the flavor, but the size, they were huge;
3) The Rib Room Classic Roast Beef and Yorkshire pudding was substantial and delicious served with the most savory yummy gravy ever; and
4) Finally the 60z Wagyu Steak was about as tender and buttery as a steak can be. On the side was a top draw peppercorn and Bearnaise sauce.
5) Side dishes were all 10/10 mash was creamy, spinach and green beans had just the right amount of seasoning and finally the roast potato's with garlic and rosemary were a welcome change from chips.
6) Desserts we had the Brownie which was the winner on presentation because there were 4 different things all working together in one dessert and the Raspberry was the winner on taste because if you closed your eyes you felt like you had just fallen into a raspberry field.

Surprising result was the fresh watermelon juice which was even better than the one I make at home! I dont get it.

Yes the menu prices are on the higher side. But there are good reasons for this, not only the high quality food but also to be fair it is a first class restaurant inside a 5 star hotel in one of the most expensive squares in the world. Also please remember that you do not have to go for the a la carte, they have set menus which represent excellent value too.

Pictures of all the food attached.

Enjoy.... we will be going back for breakfast as soon as possible.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rib Room Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Rib Room Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing