We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Delhi Brasserie - Kensington - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Delhi Brasserie - Kensington
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We went there with a group of 8 people to have our dinner during a conference at Imperial college. Though it's an Indian restaurant, the owner and chefs are Bangladeshi (which is the case in most of the Indian Restaurant in London).

We ordered different starters and main dishes. Food Quality was great. In average per person cost was around 22 pound including starters, main dish, drinks etc. The staffs were really friendly and helpful. They even gave some free dishes. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmsbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“Delicious food - but an unpleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a little restaurant, nothing fancy, so one shouldn't expect too much. Our meal was indeed very good, but the decor was a bit grotty and the waiters were totally unprofessional: relaxing, speaking noisily among themselves as if they were in their sitting room, not really being very attentive to our needs. Still, the three dishes we tasted were high quality and the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveSavatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surly staff, good food”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I were staying at a nearby hotel in Kensington and thought we'd give this tandoori restaurant a try. From the minute we entered the restaurant until we left we were met by courteous but quite unfriendly staff. The food was good, there's no denying it, but unfortunately the ambience and atmosphere ruined the whole experience. The guests at our neighbouring table asked the waiter why he wouldn't smile, and surprisingly after that question he still didn't manage a hint of a grin. In conclusion; average food, nice place, good service but not welcoming and quite unfriendly atmosphere. Our compliments to the chef.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle-Hulme - UK
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“All round dreadful”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

What a disappointment. I've not been here for about 5 years as it was dreadful then. I thought it might have improved, but obviously not.
Upon entering you are "greeted" by waiters who make you feel like you are inconveniencing them by being there.
I ordered a chicken korai and roti and in less than 5 minutes my food arrived, very suspicious of being preprepared. However, the veg (onions and peppers) were nice and crispy. But the chicken looked and tasted like reconstitued rubbish. Added to this the sauce tasted of burnt garlic. My stomach felt the effect during the night and next morning with the contents of my stomach regurgitated. Not a pleasant experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We'd enjoyed a previous visit last year, so having a hotel just across the road AND a discount voucher, it seemed a 'no-brainer' to visit again. However, although the food was very nice, the service left a lot to be desired and rather spoiled the whole evening. Although the restaurant was not full, it seemed as if the only thought in the waiters' heads was to get us back out of the doors again as soon as possible - in fact their overall attitude was rather miserable and unpleasant. We would not visit again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank alunmorgan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delhi Brasserie - Kensington also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing