We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food slightly let down by service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ping Pong - Westbourne Grove - CLOSED

Ping Pong - Westbourne Grove
Price range: US$16 - US$56
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
Description: At Ping Pong we have kept all the best bits of the ancient tradition of Chinese tea houses, like meeting to relax and share. We just thought that after a thousand years or so it would be ok to add cocktails to the mix. Our Dim Sum is handcrafted by our specialist chefs using the freshest ingredients. We may have put a man on the moon, but there remains no better way to make Dim Sum.Join us for an endless assortment of steamed or griddled dumplings, steamed fluffy buns, baked flaky puffs, spring rolls, soups or coconut rice pots and, admire the varied shapes and colours of our little parcels of deliciousness. Enjoy some of our signature dishes or our Dim Sum favourites such as the king prawn & garlic black dumpling, cuttlefish in satay sauce, chive dumpling, scallop & shitake dumpling, har gau, char sui bun or crispy hoi sin duck spring roll, all available for a starting price of £3.39 a serving. We love a sharing experience at Ping Pong so try our set menus to take through the A-Z taste of Dim Sum, starting from £9.99. Have you heard about our seasonal specials? These are our unique creations updated every two months, so catch them while you can.Tea drinking is an integral part of the Chinese Dim Sum experience, come and wow your eyes with our hand-tied flowering teas and hand-rolled jasmine pearls. Simply sit back and let the tea theatrically blossom in your glass. We also offer an exclusive range of cocktails, such as a lychee & roses martini (tanqueray gin, rose petals and lychee juice) or raspberries & bourbon (four roses small batch whiskey, guava Juice, raspberries and butterscotch liquor). Coolers and iced teas are also our speciality with the exotic pineapple coconut and lime, lemongrass & ginger iced tea, or strawberry & vanilla. A wide variety of Chinese beers and wines of the world are also available.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food slightly let down by service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We went in early on a Saturday evening when it was reasonably quiet. After being shown to our table we were left alone by the staff for a little too long and did feel slightly forgotten about for a while. The tables are quite small and considering the number of plates that came as part of our order the staff could have been a little more attentive. Luckily the table next to us was empty so we off-loaded our finished with dishes there. That said the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. We will definitely go back. If you go for the first time and are not sure what to order then I recommend the set menu...and don't worry about the weird 'national lottery' style menu that you fill in, the staff will collect that from you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CPS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    36
    15
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never fails to deliver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great service food ambience. Have been dining there for past three visits to London. Always a great experience .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, Bucks, England
Level Contributor
299 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Good food, atmosphere and service - and "interesting" cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Came here with friends on the 1st Feb 2014. Booked for 8pm - busy - but it was a Saturday night AND the first weekend of the Chinese New Year.

Nice atmosphere - and our table was close to the kitchen area - which may have helped with the speed of the service - as it was pretty seamless. Last time I has Dim Sum was in Hong Kong, so knew my way around the ordering process a bit and some inkling of what we were ordering.

The Beef Dumplings are sweet and delicious - and not too doughy. The fizz was good too, and the cocktails really did end a lovely evening. I say Interesting as they were not the normal cocktail fair you get these days.

Passion Fruit Martinis with a flaming fruit shell on the top.
Lemongrass and Lime concotion - refreshing - but with a lot of "vegetation" in it!
Spicy Mango - winter warmer - and although it tasted like a Yankee Candle of the Christmas variety - it was weirdly tasty and I fully appreciated the chunk of cinnamon bark on the top! This was taken home and put in the spice cupboard.

As an intro to Dim Sum - this place hits the spot - it's user friendly - good wait staff, and the food is tasty and reasonably priced. Plenty of dips and sauces too to keep each mouthful interesting.

If I was in this part of town again I would definitely come here again - with friends or family.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charleygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food!! Great cocktails ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice ambience about the place was not too busy which was good amazing mojhitos!!

You have a list and you just tick what you want off that selection which was straightforward .

Value for money and would recommend to anyone who likes Asian cuisine .

Helpful?
Thank Emrah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good dim sum, great cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My boyfriend and I recently visited this modern dim sum restaurant a short walk from Portobello Rd / Notting Hill. The restaurant was almost full on a Saturday night and we were given what seemed to be the only empty table. The table was a little cramped for our liking but the staff were nice enough to let us move to the next one that freed up (the first table also had a downlight shining right on it, I felt like I was sitting awkwardly in a spotlight in the middle of the dimly lit surroundings haha). The food came out reasonably fast, although they brought the mains out as we were still eating the entree. The food was all pretty tasty. The drinks menu had some unusual combinations but everything we tried was delicious. Who knew wasabi in a cocktail could be so good?
Dim sum can often be expensive as all the little dishes add up quickly, but we thought this was great value for money. I had the £12.50 vegetarian set menu and my boyfriend the £16.00 Ping Pong signature set menu - both had a good range and were the perfect amount of food for us.
Overall, a relatively cheap, trendy and enjoyable dim sum dinner, yum!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey_J_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ping Pong - Westbourne Grove also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing