We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good english food”
Review of Porters English Restaurant - MOVED

Porters English Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$47
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: Established by the seventh Earl of Bradford to serve 'good, simple, traditional English dishes', Porters remains a succulent stronghold of hearty British fare. Situated in busy Covent Garden, the relaxed and family-friendly restaurant offers a well-priced range of classics such as steak and kidney pudding, beer battered cod and chips and shepherd's pie. There are afternoon and evening fixed price menus, including one for post-theatre diners, and afternoon tea is available.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“good english food”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

First visit to Porters and was not disappointed. Good service, no rushing and an excellent choice of English food. The chicken bacon and mushroom pie was cooked to perfection, ample portions of chips and vegetables. Chicken liver pate for starters was also very good.
Would not hesitate to visit again, good value for money especially in Covent Garden

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allan2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    418
    146
    54
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Go to a Fuller's pub for your pie”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I had eaten here years ago and remembered it fondly. I don't know whether the quality has changed dramatically or that I now have a better appreciation and understanding of traditional English food. My pie--the crust was soggy and there was absolutely no flavor in the sauce, though there was quite a bit of meat. The side of mashed potatoes was awful. It tasted like the potatoes had been mashed with water, rather than milk and butter. Fuller's pubs make decent pies. Go there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stubtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordofthepieslondon, Owner at Porters English Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
This appears to be malicious as the reviewer has blocked any replies when I have tried to find out some actual details, like what pie he was not happy with and when he ate in the restaurant. Yet another blow to the credibility of TripAdvisor. If you are ever not pleased by any of the food at Porters, say something at the time, then everyone will end with a happier experience. Seeing as he expresses fondness in the past for the restaurant, maybe he might contact me if he reads this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Typical English cuisine”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Typical English cuisine and a cosy atmosphere at the restaurant. Good service and very helpful. The children also had a nice evening out. And the restaurant had a Birthday campaign, when we where eating at the restaurant, so the children eat free of charge!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mblorup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So so...”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Nice customer service, decent selection of beers and ales. I was pretty unimpressed by the food: I ordered a traditional Beef, Guinness and mushroom pie with mashed potatoes. The pie was decent, but the mashed potato was definitely a precooked one, heated probably in a microwave. Inadequate.

Helpful?
2 Thank prof_rikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Consistently great British pies”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is our third visit to this lovely restaurant, and my second review on tripadvisor.
Again my husband and I had a great meal, we enjoyed there wonderful pies. . The quality of the meals and the friendly manner and professionalism of all porters staff is consistent.

If you love a great British pie, then this is your restaurant. Prices are also very good for London. The atmosphere is relaxed and it's a comfortable place to be.

Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda_sid72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porters English Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing