We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely poor service and food totally OVERPRICED!!!”
Review of Souk Bazaar

Souk Bazaar
Ranked #7,158 of 22,692 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$0 - US$51
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: It must be those of us who are too young to hit the hippy trail have a secret hankering to get away from it all in a kaftan. However, instead of jumping on a ferry from Southern Spain and heading for North Africa, we do it in our lunch hours and head for the nearest North African restaurant. Souk is very much like stepping into Morocco - all low seating, cushions, low lighting and vibrant colours. Every Thursday, Friday and Saturday evening they lay on belly dancing, and there is a dj after 11pm every night except Sunday and Monday (and every night during December!). Very Moorish if you are looking for a cheerful, cheap venue in the centre of town.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely poor service and food totally OVERPRICED!!!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I went to this restaurant with a couple of friends in the evening, no one welcomed us we sat and wait long minutes before getting a the menu.
Very poor and RUDE service, we chose the Marrakech menu which is £24 each, it is meant to be a 3 courses menu but in fact we only had 4 little tapas plates to share as starter and then the main course: a mix of lamb and chicken couscous to share again. There is no desert only a tea with 3 disgusting 'baklavas'.
I ABSOLUTELY do no recommend this restaurant. Worst experience in London so far.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cloebek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    52
    36
    35
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
222 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“An interesting experience!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Discovered this restaurant after viewing Matilda at the nearby Cambridge Theatre...great atmosphere, the food was nice but a little overpriced although we both left incredibly full due to the huge portions! My only downside was the staff...some were a little abrupt/rude, others were not attentive enough.

Helpful?
Thank choward1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My girlfriend and I visited Covent garden for the first time and found it while wondering around. The restaurant has a great atmosphere and although some of the seats aren't very comfortable, the food made up for it, we ordered the Royal Mezze, which was superb and full of flavour.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dont bother trying to use a TASTE card !”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I really enjoyed this place, service was terrible but when you get food it is pretty nice. Tried to use my Taste card, but apparently at a Tapas restaurant its only applicible for banquets... not much use for small eaters.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor Restaurant”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I booked this restaurant for Christmas Dinner.
The place is dilapidated, prices are quite high, it really needs a makeover, the pictures found on the internet do not resemble the restaurant in the slightest.
Really disappointed, the Lamb Tagine was particularly awful. Chicken was OK. some of the staff could not speak English very well at all. Tables were round and could not fit any bowl on, bowls were served with Knives /folks, very difficult to relax and enjoy the meal, basically has to hold the bowl in our hands and user a folk /spoon! Nightmare!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Souk Bazaar also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Souk Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing