We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Corney & Barrow - Paternoster Square
Price range: US$0 - US$39
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: OPENING 24TH APRIL. Relocated from Ludgate Hill, The gorgeous Happenstance is nestled in Paternoster Square with unrivalled views of St Paul's Cathedral - the perfect spot for everything from your morning macchiato through to your Espresso Martinis until the early hours. Enjoy the alfresco terrace in the warmer months
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stopped for last orders after a night out. Waiters couldn't do enough to help. Plenty of space (probably helped by time) and the drinks were reasonable for the middle of London. The food we saw looked simple and also reasonably priced. Not sure why we haven't been before.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaldon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    34
    30
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I went for an early lunch with a friend of mine and we sat at a table in the restaurant, where we were not overheard by any of the other diners and were undisturbed by their conversations, which in my experience is quite unusual in the City. We had a glass of Sancerre each, pasta with a mushroom sauce for our main course and a cup of coffee afterwards (one double espresso and one cappuccino). The waitresses were attentive and efficient. The food was tasty and well presented. The cost of the meal, including drinks, was low for the area. All in all, a place that I would certainly recommend to others.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good week night hangout...albeit loud”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Went there after work. It was late and although the crowds had dwindled, there was still a buzz at 10pm. Service was quick and polite. However if you are planning there having a proper conversation you maybe disappointed- it is very loud inside so head outside (not the fault of the bar...its just the atmosphere)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BDeRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Substandard, overpriced food. Stick to the bar for drinks”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Xmas set lunch. Food was substandard for the price. Best part of the meal - the roast potatoes! Terrine starter came with no accompanying bread so just a slice on a plate, processed turkey slices for main were dry, carrots and sprouts undercooked and cheesecake pud was no better than Tescos. In fact I'm not even going to bother saying anymore - just don't eat here! My advice is to stick to this for the afterwork drinks. There are far better places around here to eat. Places like Bread Street Kitchen and Barbecoa put this place to shame. In fact anywhere at One New Change down the road is probably better for food. Sorry Corney and Barrow but you should be doing better.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BucksOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Private room so-so”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Private bash for completion of a project in private room -- handy to where we had all been working. Flowing wine and plenty of canapés albeit undistinguished in flavour. Still, we made our own fun. C&B prides itself on fine wines, but service could be slicker to match.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterC489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorneyAndBarrowBars, Front Office Manager at Corney & Barrow - Paternoster Square, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi Jon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at C&B Paternoster Square. I’m very sorry that your visit was disappointing for you and not up to our usual standard. I assure you that we will be investigating this incident thoroughly to ensure that we improve for the future and learn from your feedback.

If you would like to discuss this matter any further then please feel free to contact me on 0207 265 2500 or cbho@corneyandbarrow.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corney & Barrow - Paternoster Square also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing