We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever”
Review of La Porchetta

La Porchetta
Ranked #7,062 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$42 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Bloomsbury
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst experience ever”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I've been coming to La Porchetta for more than three years by now and last visit was simply the worst! We ordered pizza which had garlic on the menu, but when I finally got it, there was no smell or taste of it. I gave it back to the kitchen asking to add garlic to it. 5 minutes later I received same pizza with no taste or smell of garlic, but pizza was fully covered in oil! It looked like an oil lake in a plate. When I gave it back to a manager, he was angry and instead of trying to sort out this situation he started gossiping with staff showing on our table! afterwards he demonstratively printed the bill and put in on a counter constantly looking on us waiting when we'll leave! But when we asked for the bill, he simply ignored our request and continued to chat with waitress. I tried to explain him what was wrong with pizza, but from his replies it was quite obvious that he hardly understands English as he was saying completely different things from what he has been asked for!

This restaurant was such a lovely place when Mauricio used to worked there. staff was smiling and willing to help, atmosphere in a restaurant was friendly and relaxing. now it is absolutely unpleasant place to eat, manager is grumpy, non-smiling and you can see question in his eyes: "what are you doing here? go away". pizza chief doesn't follow the menu, waitress ignores customers and this place pretends to be a restaurant! Fast food places gives better service than your "restaurant".

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian food on a budget”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Tooked away down a side street off Theobalds Road I came across this little place on a walk one evening whilst staying in town on a business trip. if you want flashy, pricey food then this is not going to be for you. Dishes are tasty and good value for central London, the ambnience isn't great for a restaurant but the food and service were spot on and I returned on a number of occasions. Pizzas are particularly good if you like hearty, filling food then this is better than many other eating houses in the area

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Living in the building next to the restaurant, it is a very handy place. Every time i go there the service is very friendly, especially from the managers. The food is consistently good and is also very good value.
Recommend it to anyone for a quick tasty bite

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I visit this restaurant once a week with business colleagues and have done for a number of years. Its good value, the pizzas are consistently good. It is such a shame they don't do steak anymore.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank woodbourne16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My partner and I went for a "special" meal a few weeks ago. We had read the reviews on Tripadvisor about Porchetta and all looked great so we booked. It was a different story when we were there though. The bruchetta starter was cold and soggy ... I was very obvious that the toast had been sitting around for quite a while and the meal had not been freshly prepared. The main courses weren't much to write home about ... nothing at all special.... bit of pasta and ready made sauce. We were asked if we wanted to see the desert menu, but after over 10 mins of waiting we gave up and complained to the manager about the whole experience. He offered a discount of £10 from our bill which we reluctantly took. The staff didn't see that bothered about us and we left quite disheartened.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Porchetta also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to La Porchetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing