We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick lunch great service”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #14,126 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$38 - US$43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Leadenhall offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas
Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quick lunch great service”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Touring Leadenhall market we decided to grab a pizza and drinks at this restaurant. The place filled with office workers quickly at lunchtime. Pizza was delicious. The service was great even though the place was packed. Pizza and 2 cokes for 12 euro. Very clean and we would return on another visit to London.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldhalloween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Your average Pizza Express really!”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I met a friend here for dinner one evening after work, since she is very fussy and Pizza Express is one of few places she will happily dine!
We were seated on the lower floor, which was empty when we arrived but filled up quickly, so if you are going in the evening during the working week, I would recommend booking to beat the after-work crowd.
We ordered the bruschetta con funghi for starters, i had the polpette bolognesa romana pizza for main, which was very tasty but disappointingly lacking in meatballs. Since 'polpette' is the first word in the title of the dish, I would have expected a good amount of meatballs! My friend ordered the pollo ad astra romana pizza, which is the only thing she'll eat so she must have thought it was good!
We skipped dessert and enjoyed hot drinks instead. I had the Bailey's Latte, which was absolutely delicious! My friend had the mocha.
The service was great, a little slow at times but it was very busy. The atmosphere of the place is nice. There were a lot of people but it wasn't too loud.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncnstntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
866 reviews
494 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“It does what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

If you are in the city I recommend going here for lunch as the building is large and on two floors. The lower floor which is accessed by some pretty narrow stairs is usually a better bet to get a table more quickly as it is a very popular venue for city types.

The menu is standard Pizza Express fayre with plenty of pizza, pasta and some salads.

We chose the Chicken Caesar and the Goats Cheese salad and ordered a couple of drinks.

The food came quickly, well presented and tasted fresh.

The decor is nice and modern with words spelled out on the wall in cutlery which is a bit different.

Overall good service and total bill £32 which for the city is about average.

There was no shortage of people waiting for a table and we were lucky to be seated so quickly.

Toilets checked out and found to be clean and tidy and stocked with paper and toiletries.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great pizza and fast service - ideal for a lunch break”
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Meeting up with a friend during a lunch break from work, we were looking for somewhere with good food, reasonable price and that we could fit into a 45 min break.

Chose this pizza express for its location - half way between our two offices and were pleasantly surprised by the decor and friendly service. We chose to sit downstairs which was quiet enough for a catchup though tables were pretty close together.

Food was prepared and served very quickly and was one of the best pizza's I've had in a while.

Priced at £36 for two (main, a beer and coffee each) whilst not cheap is pretty reasonable for this part of London.

Helpful?
Thank Kev-B-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
505 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Busy, Busy, Busy”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A City based branch catering for the city workers across the Square Mile. Went and lunch time and the food is served hot in record time but the atmosphere and service does suffer as a result. Probably best to wait until after the rush if you want a slightly slower experience!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_Away_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing