We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #12,036 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$38 - US$43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: East End / East London
Description: Bright and modern, Pizza Express Stratford East offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I visited this branch of Pizza Express before going to see a play at Theatre Royal, Stratford East. The staff were all friendly and served us promptly. Food was hot and nicely presented.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    32
    8
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Went with friends who were visiting recently and the food came quickly and was great. Staff were attentive and looked after us well. Had a toddler with us and he was treated well too. Tasty food and quick service. Would recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Di H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I've been to a lot of Pizza Express restaurants and this one was by far the best in terms of service!
We hadn't visited stratford before and the person serving us helped us out in finding our way to our accomodation as well as providing great service for the meal itself.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clare1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best PE branch Mohamed leads a great team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

A regular spot to eat with friends this may be a chain but the staff here are so good you want to come back. Food is standard good PE, no surprises or shocks, but the friendliness and warmth of welcome makes it a favorite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We've eaten at this Pizza Express every time we have gone to a pantomime at the Theatre Royal Stratford, which is just across the road. No literary prizes for describing what you get at a Pizza Express, although the pizzas here are better than at some other PE branches. The staff (Mohamed, our waiter and the manager, whose name we didn't get) were incredibly polite and efficient. They bent over backwards to ensure we got served in time to make it to the theatre. It's a great place with children, perfect for pre-theatre. No Pizza Express provides the most amazing food or decor in the world (although the vintage Italian film posters here are nice) but we thoroughly enjoyed our meal there yesterday. There was a huge group in the room at one very long table and lots of other families and teenagers. A very relaxed, nice atmosphere. For the sort of purpose we were there for, I would recommend it 100%.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank floramalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing