We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but no 4**** service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Ranked #366 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our extended family of 4 adults and 2 children stayed for three nights over this weekend in two executive twin rooms on the first floor facing the court yard. The location of the hotel is great, we also loved the comfort of the beds and the quiet setting.

However, I am not sure I would chose this hotel again for a next stay in London. Apart from the fact that you have to pay a whopping GBP 10 for 24 hour access to WiFi, which is just simply a standard in anything above 3*** these days, the staff was very friendly for the most part, but not really service oriented on several occasions.

We had pre-paid for Continental breakfast and upgraded to a full English twice (again only possible for an upgrade-fee of GBP 5.50 per breakfast). On the second occasion the waiter would come back to the table repeatedly saying we could not upgrade to the full English for some reason despite the fact that it had been possible the day before. While he was trying to figure out why it wasn't possible to upgrade, the breakfast did not get ordered and was delivered with great delay, which was annoying as the rest of the family had finished breakfast by the time the full English arrived.

When checking out of the hotel we had asked the reception desk to please call a large taxi that would fit 6 people to take us to the airport. The reception desk staff said they could not do that but we could use their Chauffeur service which was TWICE as expensive as the regular taxi fee. So we asked the staff to give us the number of London taxi services which they did not do either. So we finally had to google the London taxi provider phone numbers on our smart phones to be able to order a cab, while there were 3 people at the reception desk idly standing around without assisting us to get a transport to the airport..

Definitely not a 4**** service

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_platts_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Beauchamp Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to make a review. We are pleased you liked the hotel and its location, however we are disappointed that your expectations were not fully satisfied. Please accept our apologies. Your comments have been noted and will be addressed internally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely, quiet hotel with decent sized rooms, excellent beds, very clean with pleasant modern décor. Bathrooms were nice, but the tub/showers are tiny. It was the only major drawback for us since my husband is 6'4. But you can't beat the location, just around the block from the British Museum and in an area with tons of great pubs and quaint shops. We had room 106 and it was very nice - lift if you needed it or just a short walk up the stairs. Large windows overlooking the street, but double paned, so very limited street noise. Excellent breakfast too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ytc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Beauchamp Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Good to learn you enjoyed your stay and found the location good, particularly for the local museums. We hope you will return to us on your next trip to England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It is a nice enough hotel and a pleasant stay….but an older and slightly worn property. Rooms are large with 2 Queen sized beds though which is what i needed for this visit with Children.

Bedding is clean and crisp. Comfortable Bed. Housekeeping service was very good. Air conditioning was crisp. Attentive staff.

We found taking the flights of stairs more efficient than the slowish elevator.

It is a quiet residential area between two parks. Right near the British Museum. Only functional Italian, Indian (and such) restaurants and uninteresting pubs very near to the hotel. So have to walk maybe 1/2 mile to Covent Garden or Oxford Street to find more interesting street life.

Main complaint is that the lobby is tiny and the furniture in the lobby older and not very functional. Also, there is no hotel bar and the drink service in the uncomfortable lobby ends very early.

Small complaints: No bottled water in the Room, No Iron (But instead one of this flat board shirt presses that i don't know how to use) ; No Minibar;

Sounds like a negative review but as long as expectations did not include the above, it is a fine and serviceable place to stay with comfortable rooms. Just not luxurious or social.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Beauchamp Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Sorry your expectations were not fully satisfied on this occasion, your comments have been noted. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

lovely boutique hotel...located 5 mins from russell square tube station...modern minimalist reception area...lift up to 2nd floor ...room 205....lovely fittings and decor..not much room however which is why i have only given 4 stars...in every other respect it was top notch...breakfast was good quality and plenty of choice...well situated for leicester square , covent garden and nice pub round the corner...would recommend to couples...not sure it would suit families with small children

Room Tip: one review said they had a large spacious room....we didn't...quite small...not sure how you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Beauchamp Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your nice review, we are pleased that you enjoyed our boutique hotel, its location and the breakfast. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is a real hidden gem. The rooms are spotless and stylish. Its quiet location backing onto pleasant gardens ensure a good nights sleep. Best of all its within easy walking distance of the west end, Covent garden and Oxford street. The staff are welcoming and efficient.

Room Tip: Our room was on 2nd floor overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Beauchamp Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the peaceful Beauchamp and found the location ideal for travelling to Covent Garden. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights June as a celebration of my husbands 75th birthday, Great location, so handy for everywhere. Breakfast was lovely, good selection and attentative staff. The room was very small, however the bed was really comfortable, which is a must for a short stay. Bathroom nice, Didn't understand the tea making tray being so high up inside the wardrobe but we managed. Dining room staff very helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jr2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Beauchamp Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your nice review, we are pleased you enjoyed your birthday celebrations at The Beauchamp. We hope you will choose to celebrate with us often in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Me and my mother had a WONDERFUL stay in this hotel. We stayed for 8 days, and couldn't be happier with the hotel. The room was big, clean (very clean!) and comfortable, the staff were extremely kind and helpful, and the location was perfect - 2 minutes walk from the tube station - direct line to the airport. The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that the Wi-Fi was very expensive - but the hotel was so great we got over this. We will definitely come back to this hotel and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inbal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Beauchamp Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your excellent review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#555 of 1,077 in London
566 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#566 of 1,077 in London
339 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#400 of 1,077 in London
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#580 of 1,077 in London
670 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#594 of 1,077 in London
182 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Beauchamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Beauchamp Hotel

Address: 24-27 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in London
#256 Luxury Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
#309 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £72 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Beauchamp Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Beauchamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beauchamp Hotel London
Beauchamp Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing