We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy hotel in North London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Palm Hotel
Ranked #553 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Handy hotel in North London”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Fine for visiting London on coach tour, not sure about ease of access on tube. I was there with a group of school students. The only criticism I have is that some of the rooms were a bit smelly (sewage type smell).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancshirLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    319
    126
    67
    65
See reviews for
166
296
20
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Best Western's slogan 'The Price is Right', must refer to the price being right for the hotel management, certainly not for the poor customer….I was recently charged £5.30 for a double espresso in the Best Western Palm Hotel, Hendon, around the cover in a similar hotel the same coffee would have cost me £1.70. The price certainly isn't right for the customer, thats for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelenia Gora, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent there a week and must say the hotel hardly meets three-star-hotel standards.
upon our arrival we were given a room with a little window, facing noisy, outer air con extractor.
After two days we were given a room in the new part of the hotel, which surprisingly does not
have properly working air conditioning system. We reported this to the reception, nothing was
being done about it for another two days, a Polish maintenance technician Robert struggled to find any solution, he finally called a group of Romanian technicians working for the hotel. Those guys easily identified a defect, which was a sensor installed inside an air con box, not in the room area. This caused that the air con system stopped quickly itself due to much higher temperature inside the box, irrelevant to actual air temperature in the rooms. We made another rooms swap, back in the old part of the hotel, where the air con sensors are properly installed and finally could get a relatively good rest there. The hotel itself is not bad, with the exception to some of the reception staff speaking with Eastern European accent, never saying even a
'hello' or 'good afternoon' to the hotel guests. The rest of the reception staff and cleaning service was excellent, the rooms cleaned and tidy on time, no problems at all, breakfast meals
with not much of choice but just exactly what you need in the morning, with friendly and funny at times, waitresses. We would also like to thank one of the hotel staff, she was a hotel event
manager, we guess, as she helped us to solve the mentioned issues very quickly. The hotel location is not the best due to adjacent busy main road, but at walking distance to The Tube
station, good and quick train connection to the centre and any part of London, close to some
shops and restaurants, a good idea in case of sightseeing trip to London.

Room Tip: Do not book any rooms at the new part of the hotel until they fix the air con sensor problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

When I arrived at your Palm Hotel in London and checked in with my other half for a relaxing weekend to catch-up and meet friends in the capital. We soon got into bed to get intimate together as we hadn’t seen one an other for some time due to both being shift workers. We were both completely exposed on the bed in room 111 in the middle of a very private moment when another guest of the hotel walked and saw everything that was going on. The guest ran out the room totally embarrassed and I and my girlfriend were in total shock as to what had just happened!!

I went straight down to reception and demanded to speak to the manager about what had just happened, while I was waiting the same person that had checked me in was dealing with the person who had just walked into my room to sort her new one out.

Two people came and speak to me about what had just happened and I don’t fell that they at all understood the severity of what had just occurred by the manner they met me with! The 1st gentleman (a Mr Dumitru Dotel) said “what would you like me to do” in a patronising voice, then offered me a free breakfast in the morning. This to me was a total insult, to say that this embarrassment and disrespect was worth a free breakfast. My disregard to this compensation was met by another Manager of some sorts (a Mrs Andrea Daniel) who said she would give me 50% of my stay that night which works out about £30. My word, if £30 is what they expect you to think is reasonable for what happened then this is a mockery and total lack of respect to human dignity.

I asked who checked the other guest in to my room and was told that it was Mr Dotel, I asked him if he had even checked if somebody was in the room? He said he hadn’t

I

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank C8alp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

The room was supposed to have three single beds, they gave us one with a small double and a couch bed.towels were for 2 people and not for three persons, WiFi wasn't working in the room.we reported these things to the receptionist but he said he could do anything.The staff was kind in general, but the guy at the bar seemed to be quite annoyed and impatient while serving you. Even if the price was low I think they should improve the level of service

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank manupia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Situated near Brent Cross with easy access to central London by bus (outside the door) or underground (from Golders Green).
Room (in extension at rear as requested) was well furnished (modern shower but no bath) and quiet. Staff were pleasant and helpful (I left my mobile phone in the room safe and it was forwarded to me).
Good choice of food for breakfast. Dinner now being served (not sampled).
Free parking also available.

Room Tip: Twin rooms at rear are in newer part of building and quiet (housing estate behind hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hendon Hall Hotel
#459 of 1,068 in London
626 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Palm Hotel

Property: Best Western Palm Hotel
Address: 64 - 76 Hendon Way | Hendon, London NW2 2NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in London
#335 Luxury Hotel in London
#370 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Palm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the A41, just minutes from the North Circular and M1, the BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel has recently completed a full renovation and now boasts 100 modern and spacious guest bedrooms, two large function suites, and restaurant onsite (available Monday – Thursday). Our hotel is within close proximity to Golders Green tube station, just 15 minutes’ walk or £6 by taxi (approx.), journey to Kings Cross/St Pancras station is just 30 minutes. We are also ideally located for visits to Camden Town, Wembley Stadium, Wembley Arena and Lords Cricket Ground.Recently renovated to a high standard, the BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel offers modern & comfortable accommodation in the heart of North West London. Our spacious rooms are elegantly decorated in natural colours with walnut furniture, en-suite bathroom with luxury walk-in shower, complimentary toiletries, comfortable bed, spacious work desk, complimentary high-speed internet access, and wall mounted Freeview LCD TV.Relax and unwind in the spacious guest lounge with ample seating, which features large flat screen TV and modern art. You can also take advantage of complimentary use of Wi-Fi internet in public areas. The Churchill restaurant serves a variety of dishes and is open from Monday until Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing