We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay and just as good”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #117 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
FALKIRK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Second stay and just as good”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

As title suggests this was my second stay but this time I was with my wife as were going to a wedding.
We stayed for three nights and booked well in advance gaining an excellent rate. Many other people we knew who were going to the wedding found much poorer hotels for much higher price and it is superb value for London.
The location is perfect being near Kings Cross and St Pancras for travel on the tube within London and suited us as we took the Eurostar to Paris. The room was very large and well decorated.
Would definitely stay here again when in London and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear JOD75

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,255
    814
    142
    61
    30
See reviews for
561
930
164
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Great location, friendly staff, great rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuttle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Shuttle01

Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. We all appreciated the statement, "friendly staff." This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Pros:
1. Footsteps away from King's Cross St. Pancras Station (access to several Underground lines and Eurostar).
2. Clean +, comfortable, spacious, modern room perfect for a family of 4 (Deluxe Loft)
3. Courteous, friendly, and knowledgable staff
4. Restaurant and room service on premises
5. McDonalds, Burger King, Pret a Manger, Starbucks, and Pizza Express nearby.
6. Harry Potter fans will appreciate the view of King's Cross Station (St. Pancras) right outside their window. We were surprised to find we had a balcony.
7. 24 hour convenience store across the street
8. Down the street from the British Library
Cons:
1. Our room, especially the bath, would not have been suitable for a traveler requiring a handicapped bathroom. Our shower had no handrail and the tub was on the tall side. Otherwise, it was perfectly serviceable.
2. Some street noise outside. While it wasn't a bother for us, it could be for light sleepers
3. There are a couple of pubs nearby, but nothing noteworthy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalanceBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear BalanceBean

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. We all appreciated the statement, "friendly and knowledgable staff." This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stay in this hotel for 5 nights. The crew was very friendly. Room was very big on 5th floor. It was very quite. Internet access is free but on the slow side. The most important aspect is the position of this hotel, which is virtually opposite main entrance to St Pancras station and almost sitting on major tube transportation centre station. Also, there are many bus stops in the close vicinity.
I didn't like the breakfast which is available in the Megaro's own restaurant.
The prices are high but the portions are very small. If you want cheap breakfast, go across the street to St Pancras station where you can find few excellent restaurants serving English Breakfast.
Summing up: Excellent hotel in very accesible area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam3544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima P, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear adam3544

Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. We all appreciated the statement, "crew was very friendly." This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

As always my first choice hotel when I stay in London, Stayed here in June and July (in May I had to stay somewhere else - was not a patch on the Megaro). All the staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautiful and well furnished with the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.

The breakfast is lovely - made to order so no problem with me being a veggie and the food is piping hot when it arrives.

Lovely hotel, Polite and friendly staff, excellent location - can't wait to go again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicia L, Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Salhaley

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength and the motivation to improve and to give always our very best.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast in Karpo restaurant. We are famous at hotel Megaro for our breakfast, it is indeed lovely and an amazing start of the day.
I am delighted to read that you found our staff to be friendly, helpful and polite. Highly appreciated!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write such lovely review. We very much hope to welcome you back in the hopefully near future.

Kindest regards,
Teodora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Megaro many times. We love everything about the hotel, the staff, location and value. It is close to UCL where our son is a student and member of the drama society. We usually stay over, after each of his plays, rather than return to Wiltshire, where we live.

Booking through Octopus Travel we got the room £20 - £30 cheaper than usual and a full English breakfast included, which we hadn't had before. It is definitely worth going through Octopus Travel and we look forward to using their service again. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank love_london81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima P, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear love_london81

Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I first stayed at the Megaro back in Oct 2010, and raved about it to anyone who'd listen.

So in March I took the opportunity to show my sister just how clever I was in finding this gem.

What a let down.

More so because I was trying to show off.

We were allocated a room at the front of the hotel - this was not acceptable. As you'll see form my previous review, traffic noise from the Euston Road is nonstop. So we were offered an alternative without issue.

I couldn't wait to get to our room, and opened the door with to a fan fair.

What a disappointment.

Our room was so tiny, that upon entering, we almost landed on the bed! On top of that (not the bed!) the following let the room down further:

The fridge was unplugged so the milk was off and the bottled water warm.

The bathroom whilst clean, had a broken shower head and the wooden flooring had buckled, with some planks performing a springboard effect!

The TV was out of action, even after the 'technician' had 'fixed' it.

I'd expect this standard for the Travelodge.

Dining now takes place downstairs. It's quite dark and moody, nice for the evening, but not so sure for breakfast. Which leads me on to my final gripe. I can't understand how something as simple as breakfast can be so contentious. They really have made life difficult for themselves by having a complexity of 'options'. One of which was a Full English without a drink included! Ri-ght... Who doesn't have a cuppa or fresh juice with their breakfast? We weren't the only ones, who weren't impressed. A very disgruntled couple, were giving the manager a piece of their mind, and I don't blame them.

I will stay at the Megaro again, but only because of it's handy location. Next time my expectations will be much lower.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanialh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima P, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Tanialh

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. We were delighted to read that you were recommending us to others and our services exceeded your expectations. On the other hand, we were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#248 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Property: Hotel Megaro
Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing