We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price/quality but service and rooms could be better”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #141 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is in a very practical area but understand it is a station area so it is a bit noisy, dirty and rough outside.
The hotel design is great and they have some really nice little ideas to make it different.
The rooms and the main area are in need of freshened up with mould and varnish peeling in bathroom, stain on furniture which is a shame when someone spend so much time creating a cool design...
The breakfast is good, it is in a little cafe like area of the hotel and the the food was great.
The hotel service is really what I think could be improved but don't stop there if you really don't expect your luggage to be carried for you down and upstairs.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank magaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear magaussie

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. We were delighted to read that you were impressed by the hotel design and the breakfast that is served in our restaurant. On the other hand, we were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,729 - 1,735 of 2,662 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

I didn't want to give this hotel 1 star as it was actually nice - but unfortunately the poor service we received meant that we left with a negative overall opinion.

We booked the hotel as we were due to get the Eurostar early the next morning. For this the hotel was excellent and I would strongly recommend it to any one almost for this reason alone.

However when we arrived, we were informed the lift wasn't working which was hardly ideal with two massive suitcases, a baby pram and several smaller bags. However we were offered help by the staff but instead of picking up the biggest bag, he went straight for the carrier bags! I then struggled myself to lift the bags up two flights of stairs. He then didn't come down to help any more so I had to struggle with all of the remaining bags.

When we eventually got there, we found out that our room (which had been "upgraded" as a result of the lift being broken) was essentially a double room with a bed that pulled out of the cupboard. When we asked where the cot was which we had booked (and was clearly shown on the booking form) we were told that this information had not been passed on to them by the booking company and so they didn't have one! We thought this was ridiculous as it clearly stated on the booking that we required a cot and it was not our fault that they didn't have this information (we have also complained to the booking company about this).

A member of staff then (very very reluctantly it has to be said) went to find us a cot for our baby. He returned in a suspiciously short period of time to declare that there was not a single cot available in the whole hotel. We then demanded to speak to the manager (who to be fair was quite apologetic). 5 minutes after speaking to the manager, there was a knock at the door and lo and behold a cot had appeared. How strange that one should appear!

All of this palaver unfortunately took most of the evening so be the time that it was all sorted, we were too tired to anything else.

All in all a fairly decent hotel in a great location, they just need to sort out the reception staff and their dealings with the booking company!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Gordon D

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. We were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I've reviewed well over a hundred hotels in 30+ countries on TA and I don't think I've ever given a 1 star rating to any place before. Much about the hotel is actually quite good but we were very badly let down by a regrettable VAT issue which pretty much destroyed the good opinion that we'd previously built-up. We were visiting London for a long weekend and had chosen the Megaro because of it's positive reviews and convenient location for connections between the airport express trains and the major underground links; and on that front it certainly delivers. The place inside is well decorated, in a fun and funky style, and seems generally well maintained except that their elevator was broken throughout our 5-day stay (despite several promises that it would be fixed "tomorrow"). Our room was (not unexpectedly) small and maybe a little over-warm but comfortable enough and quite chic. The attaching next-door restaurant (Karpo, which I've separately given a four-star review) served up excellent and great value breakfasts. All of which is of course fairly positive. Our problems came at check-out when we were charged VAT on top of what had been advertised as an all-inclusive price; given that London hotels are expensive generally, this was a not an inconsiderable addition. We didn't really notice the extent of the discrepancy at the time and initially I assumed that it must just be a currency conversion error but we wrote to them once we'd gotten back home when we realised the true size of the over-charge. Although we pointed out several times during that correspondence that it was the very explicit policy of the booking agent they had used to never exclude VAT from prices being quoted, they refused to accept this point, arguing instead that an abbreviated reference hidden in the T&Cs disclosed their policy, and eventually they simply stopped responding to us. We therefore escalated the issue by writing to the booking agent directly at their parent company HQ in the US; after several very helpful telephone discussions with them, we got the overcharge refunded without any quibble (plus we got a discount voucher for our trouble). I also understand now that I am not the first customer of the Megaro to have experienced this problem. They were clearly in the wrong here, and their sharp practices and very poor customer service contrasted dramatically with the behavior of the agencies (hotels.com and Expedia) who could not have been more helpful. So, a warning to all who think about staying here: yes, the hotel is good on several fronts, but be very very careful about how they bill you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sini K, receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear firbolg,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro.
We were sorry to read there was an administrative error with your booking. Thank you for bringing this error to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback.
We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Sima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here as we were looking for a hotel with close proximity to Kings Cross Station that was reasonably priced, it didn't disappoint on either score...Very nice larger than average rooms, spotless clean and with all the usual room amenities but a Los in this case an iron and ironing board! The staff were very efficient, helpful willing to give advise as necessary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello dear Rebecca W,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
I am also pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

I can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Often hotels near railroad stations (and airports) are often on the "grotty" side and not somewhere you would care to spend more than one night. The Megaro is a distinctive exception to that rule. After a long and grueling day of travel with no shortage of obstacles to my room, the warm and friendly greeting at the front desk late that evening was a perfect way to end my journey. The corner room (504) is worth every penny with a lovely view overlooking both train station fronts. It can get slightly noisy during the day, but no noisier than your average NYC hotel. Indeed, it the first hotel near a rail-station, I would have enjoyed spending more than one night.

Room Tip: Corner room has best views but could be too noisy for some (more like white noise). Ask for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonelyplanetguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teodora V, Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear lonelyplanetguy

Thank you very much for your lovely words and for taking the time to share your experience you had with us.
I am pleased that you found your room comfortable and beautifully decorated and that you enjoyed its details and amenities. Our rooms are indeed stunning with all rooms individually designed. I am also very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and in particular that the team were very friendly, ultimately making your stay even more enjoyable and comfortable.
Also, I am thrilled that you highlight the convenience of our central location. Indeed, our hotel is a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel. That's why it is such a pleasure for us to know that you had a good night sleep with no noise or other obstacles.
We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Teodora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great little continental hotel in London. We were upgraded to a larger room with two doubles (one bed settee) and lots of space on the corner of the building. The location for access to all tubes and rail couldn't be better. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Only niggle was the building works outside kings cross - wont be there forever but they did ruin the view and added to the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sini K, receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear VF,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro.
As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel. This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times.
Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Megaro very soon.

Kind regards
Sima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just got back from an overnight stop.What a great spot just across the road from Kings Cross station
We arrived early and were right away given our room on the sixth floor although my husband doesn't like lifts it was definitely worth the walk up the views over London were superb we had a room at the rear of the hotel so we were not disturbed by the road noise
The room was a lovely size with everything that you could want the bed was also
very comfortable
I would highly recommend this hotel whose staff are very pleasant and helpful

Room Tip: High floors for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qhoracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello dear Qhoracer,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
I am also pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

I can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#298 of 1,077 in London
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#265 of 1,077 in London
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in London
#222 Romantic Hotel in London
#285 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £125 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in London. Minimix, our slightly bonkers lobby minibar is the threshold to a unique hotel.Join our team for cocktails upon arrival. In the morning, we serve the best breakfast in the area. Welcome to Megaro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing