We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #129 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were visiting London with our family to celebrate my husband's birthday in mid August. I spoke with the General Manager, Carol, when booking our rooms and she was a delight and was eager to help make our weekend memorable with local advise and ensuring we had lovely family rooms. The rooms were large with sofa beds for the children, a real bonus was that beds and pillows were so comfy. The bathrooms were very large, modern and clean. We appreciated the little touches of the selection of loose teas, the coffee machine, fresh milk and water in the fridge, iron and iron board. There was a box of apples and sweets in the reception area which were available for guests to help themselves and were enjoyed by the children. The hotel was in an excellent location, close to both Euston and Kings X station and to the hop on hop off bus. When we visit London again we will certainly be staying at the Megaro Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 7 May 2017
Dear Lynne T

Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    849
    154
    65
    34
See reviews for
596
968
170
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights, late August. I was very impressed with the room - 603, very big, great views. Our room also had a spare sofa bed, separate sofa, dressing table, tv, tea & coffee facilities, hair dryer, iron & board, mini bar/fridge, tv, large bathroom with toiletries.

Breakfast was included in our rate, the service and food was lovely. The breakfast area had an internal vertical garden. The eggs benedict were fab along with a free newspaper. There was a cocktail bar in the basement with lovely cocktails.

Location was fab for Kings Cross & Euston. I would definitely stay here again. Only minor negative was that due to proximity to train stations, the main road can be very noisy, other than that - excellent.

Room Tip: Room 603 was huge, but could be noisy if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larkhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 7 May 2017
Dear Larkhall

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. The Food and beverage team were delighted to read that you were impressed with the delicious breakfast served in the restaurant. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my 14yr oldand her friend. loved the look of the hotel on the outside ....... all brighly painted. wanted somewhere near to kings cross then i knew how to get around.
The inside was beautifully decorated, the reception staff were lovely and helpful, giving us an upgrade to a loft apartment. The apartment was fabulous, very chic boutique and the girls loved it, especially the square bath!
The restaurant was good offering very high quality food and something different to the normal full english breakfast, all the food was fresh, made from scratch and delicious.
I have stayed nearby in other hotels and B&Bs but this far outshines them will definately be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thrnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 7 May 2017
Dear thrnss


Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the apartment. We all appreciated the statement, "staff were lovely and helpful." This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is in a very practical area but understand it is a station area so it is a bit noisy, dirty and rough outside.
The hotel design is great and they have some really nice little ideas to make it different.
The rooms and the main area are in need of freshened up with mould and varnish peeling in bathroom, stain on furniture which is a shame when someone spend so much time creating a cool design...
The breakfast is good, it is in a little cafe like area of the hotel and the the food was great.
The hotel service is really what I think could be improved but don't stop there if you really don't expect your luggage to be carried for you down and upstairs.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank magaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 7 May 2017
Dear magaussie

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. We were delighted to read that you were impressed by the hotel design and the breakfast that is served in our restaurant. On the other hand, we were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I didn't want to give this hotel 1 star as it was actually nice - but unfortunately the poor service we received meant that we left with a negative overall opinion.

We booked the hotel as we were due to get the Eurostar early the next morning. For this the hotel was excellent and I would strongly recommend it to any one almost for this reason alone.

However when we arrived, we were informed the lift wasn't working which was hardly ideal with two massive suitcases, a baby pram and several smaller bags. However we were offered help by the staff but instead of picking up the biggest bag, he went straight for the carrier bags! I then struggled myself to lift the bags up two flights of stairs. He then didn't come down to help any more so I had to struggle with all of the remaining bags.

When we eventually got there, we found out that our room (which had been "upgraded" as a result of the lift being broken) was essentially a double room with a bed that pulled out of the cupboard. When we asked where the cot was which we had booked (and was clearly shown on the booking form) we were told that this information had not been passed on to them by the booking company and so they didn't have one! We thought this was ridiculous as it clearly stated on the booking that we required a cot and it was not our fault that they didn't have this information (we have also complained to the booking company about this).

A member of staff then (very very reluctantly it has to be said) went to find us a cot for our baby. He returned in a suspiciously short period of time to declare that there was not a single cot available in the whole hotel. We then demanded to speak to the manager (who to be fair was quite apologetic). 5 minutes after speaking to the manager, there was a knock at the door and lo and behold a cot had appeared. How strange that one should appear!

All of this palaver unfortunately took most of the evening so be the time that it was all sorted, we were too tired to anything else.

All in all a fairly decent hotel in a great location, they just need to sort out the reception staff and their dealings with the booking company!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 7 May 2017
Dear Gordon D

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. We were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I've reviewed well over a hundred hotels in 30+ countries on TA and I don't think I've ever given a 1 star rating to any place before. Much about the hotel is actually quite good but we were very badly let down by a regrettable VAT issue which pretty much destroyed the good opinion that we'd previously built-up. We were visiting London for a long weekend and had chosen the Megaro because of it's positive reviews and convenient location for connections between the airport express trains and the major underground links; and on that front it certainly delivers. The place inside is well decorated, in a fun and funky style, and seems generally well maintained except that their elevator was broken throughout our 5-day stay (despite several promises that it would be fixed "tomorrow"). Our room was (not unexpectedly) small and maybe a little over-warm but comfortable enough and quite chic. The attaching next-door restaurant (Karpo, which I've separately given a four-star review) served up excellent and great value breakfasts. All of which is of course fairly positive. Our problems came at check-out when we were charged VAT on top of what had been advertised as an all-inclusive price; given that London hotels are expensive generally, this was a not an inconsiderable addition. We didn't really notice the extent of the discrepancy at the time and initially I assumed that it must just be a currency conversion error but we wrote to them once we'd gotten back home when we realised the true size of the over-charge. Although we pointed out several times during that correspondence that it was the very explicit policy of the booking agent they had used to never exclude VAT from prices being quoted, they refused to accept this point, arguing instead that an abbreviated reference hidden in the T&Cs disclosed their policy, and eventually they simply stopped responding to us. We therefore escalated the issue by writing to the booking agent directly at their parent company HQ in the US; after several very helpful telephone discussions with them, we got the overcharge refunded without any quibble (plus we got a discount voucher for our trouble). I also understand now that I am not the first customer of the Megaro to have experienced this problem. They were clearly in the wrong here, and their sharp practices and very poor customer service contrasted dramatically with the behavior of the agencies (hotels.com and Expedia) who could not have been more helpful. So, a warning to all who think about staying here: yes, the hotel is good on several fronts, but be very very careful about how they bill you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sini K, receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 9 May 2017
Dear firbolg,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro.
We were sorry to read there was an administrative error with your booking. Thank you for bringing this error to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback.
We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here as we were looking for a hotel with close proximity to Kings Cross Station that was reasonably priced, it didn't disappoint on either score...Very nice larger than average rooms, spotless clean and with all the usual room amenities but a Los in this case an iron and ironing board! The staff were very efficient, helpful willing to give advise as necessary.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 8 May 2017
Hello dear Rebecca W,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
I am also pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

I can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,068 in London
1,743 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,068 in London
1,985 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#383 of 1,068 in London
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Property: Hotel Megaro
Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing