We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #114 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Tucked away just around the corner from King's Cross/St. Pancras the hotel is ideally situated for users of those stations. It was great to be able to get off the train and check in without having to struggle on and off the tube with luggage. Staff are polite and friendly, rooms are clean and spacious, and our bathroom had a multi-jet shower.

Had great American pancakes with maple syrup for breakfast in the adjoining restaurant.

Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank racarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    783
    134
    59
    28
See reviews for
520
891
158
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
438 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,310 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in an Executive Double. The room was clean and spacious. The only downside to the room was that it too warm so you had to open the windows. This made it tough to sleep due to the high level of noise outside.

They claim to have W-Fi but it didn't work.

They don't respond well to email inquiries, which created some problems for us.

The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

We ate breakfast at their restaurant and it was very good. It also has very good Wi-Fi reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for one night in October. Ideal location for kings cross and the tube. Clean and modern room. Only down side was that the description upon booking stated 'superior double' but our room was more like a standard double & the view of another building and some stairs was a bit disappointing. Hotel staff were helpful and very welcoming

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Booked the Megaro because of its location across the road from St. Pancras and the reviews on here. Pleasantly surprised, the hotel lived up to its reviews and was great for a stop over.

On booking we had requested an early checkin via email, so we could drop our bags and get changed, this was accommodated without fuss and set us up for a great visit.

Room was modern, clean and spacious with a huge king size bed, decent sized bathroom with a deep tub. The small roof terrace, with table and chairs was a bonus, nice to have a nightcap overlooking the rooftops and chimneys.

Continental breakfast was included in our rate but there wasn't really many continental options on the al a carte breakfast menu. It turned out it was an allowance to use against our choices. That said the omelette and poached eggs hit the mark washed down by freshly squeezed juice and strong coffee.

Would recommend and would happily stay again if I needed to be in the area, if nothing else to stock up on my favourite sweets from the complimentary bowls in reception, who doesn't love Love Hearts and Refreshers!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mchughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here the night before travelling on the Eurostar to Brussels. I'd done a little bit of research prior to staying and from the reviews posted and the photos taken, it seemed to be a little gem hidden away in a side street just off Kings Cross Station. We decided to book straight away.
We originally booked a Eurostar deal through Groupon, and unfortunately had to cancel our trip with them due to unavailability. I contacted the Megaro once rebooking our trip through another agency, and they were very accommodating with our request to change dates to an earlier weekend.

Upon arrival, we were told our room was not quite ready, but were offered a room on the main road if we didn't want to wait. We decided to take them up on their offer, and we were amazed at how spacious the room was. Despite it being a little loud with the windows open (constant sirens and road works), we had breathtaking views of the St Pancras Hotel across the road. The bathroom was ultra modern and spacious with several massage jets coming out of the wall of the shower recess, and featured glass doors/wall. While this was fine for us, if you were staying with someone you weren't particularly familiar with, the glass doors could be a little intrusive.

We didn't use any other hotel facilities due to already having dinner plans and early departure the next morning, however the hotel restaurant looked very chic.

All in all, we would recommend staying here, not only if you have Eurostar tickets, but also because it is so fantastically located to many lines in the undergound.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Megaro's a nice, small-ish boutique-style hotel. Very nice rooms, great staff, SUPER comfortable mattress (easily the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel).

Their price (at this level of quality) beat almost everybody else. At the same time, their location's fantastic: It's right opposite both King's Cross and St Pancras International railway stations, which also means access to several tube lines, including the Piccadilly line, which will take you to the most famous spots in the general direction of Buckingham palace. (Especially important to me: Russell Square/Holborn stations are on that line as well - I love the British Museum.)

No need to say that coming in from Luton or Gatwick, these two stations sound pretty good as well. Heathrow as well, of course, as the Piccadilly line will get you there also.

If you do some more reading here, you'll come across comments on the Megaro's air conditioning system. This is a bit of an issue. In our room (404) there was a tipping point: Below 26°C the room would get cold, and above it would get really hot. It takes a night, but you'll get used to it :) Also, they can adjust the thing a little from downstairs, so you can ask for help at reception as well.

Their in-house restaurant, Karpo, isn't anything I'd recommend though. Bossy personnel, and the driest Cumberland sausage sandwich I've had in my life. (A good cappuccino though, if you're into breakfast coffees.)

We had to sit right next to the door for Internet - they were installing optical wiring on our floor at the time of our stay, and that was the only place where we had reception from the router on the floor below.

But all in all: We'll be back. We had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We had 404 and will ask for the same next time - love the view of St Pancras station from that windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This boutique hotel is on a side street right opposite Kings Cross and St Pancras. Very handy for anyone, like ourselves, catching an early Eurostar.
For London rooms are decently sized, quite well appointed and comfortable. Given the size of room a king sized bed instead of regular double would have been nice.
We arrived early and expected to just leave our bags for a later book in, but a room was ready and we were happy to be allowed to have this early.
Only one problem is that at the weekend breakfast doesn't start until 8.00. A bit late if you have to get the train. They kindly brought us some pastries to our room early, but this was not really what we wanted, or had paid for.

Room Tip: Surprisingly quiet even though we could see Kings Cross. Don't think it matters what room you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#244 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#237 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#366 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Property: Hotel Megaro
Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing