We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rotten dirty bathrooms and no working TV”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #137 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have stayed here before and didn't have a good time but was prepared to give it another go

Looking at the positive reviews it makes me wonder if we stayed in another hotel?
In every case, the bathroom has been full of mould and rotten wood- see picture of our bathroom in room 210. I don't expect this in a hotel at any price- let alone one we paid £350 for!
putting wood in the bathroom was a costly mistake- but one that should have been fixed.
No TV that worked in the room either "satellite out...."
Sort out the bathrooms and niggles and it would be a very nice hotel. But twice bitten for us.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheshire159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear cheshire159

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. We were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,582 - 1,588 of 2,544 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We were impressed by this hotel review on Tripadvisor & booked it for our last stopover after Barcelona & Paris. Below are our reviews :

Pros :
1) Good location. Near St Pancras International (Eurostar) & near King Cross tube (Metro).
2) Large & modern design room with bathtub

Cons :
1) Noisy even at midnight due to the nearby hospital. You may get to hear ambulance siren every 30mins. Our room was not even facing Euston Rd W1... We were facing a small street called Belgrove Street.
2) Not for smokers. As we were warned & threatened by one of the reception staffs on 28/10/2013 at abt 2030hrs that they will fine us 200-400 pound if we smoke again. This even after honestly admitted our mistake as we were told that we actually activated the fire alarm which we didn't actually hear & apologised to him. He even pointed at me in a threatening manner like a police officer do to an accused. In fact, we were not told by any of the staffs when we check in that the entire hotel building is a non-smoking building. He even sternly said that the fine will be charge to my credit card even without my knowledge. Theft? There was no simple signage informing hotel guest that guests cannot smoke in the room. So smokers, please avoid this hotel at any cost. We actually let the matter to rest when we were actually reminded again when we checked out on 31/10/2013 at 1120hrs by another male staff with regards to the smoking incident. In fact, being an law abidding citizen of an Asian country, we didn't smoke in the room after we were told not to do so. The staff merely called his housekeeping colleague & asked to check whether was there any smell of cigarette smoke or any damage done due to smoking. The best part was, after we stopped smoking in the room, the next morning at around 7 plus, the fire alarm was activated & we can smell from our neighbouring room, stenched of cigarette smoke. Is it because we are guest from Asia? I let you guys decide. We have been to Barcelona & Paris before our last stopover at London, it totally spoilt our honeymoon. So smokers, stay away from this hotel... You can be fine through the credit card that you produce when check-in. The staff should have advised us rather threatening us with so called "FINAL WARNING" when it was the first time that they approach for that smoking incident.

3) Bed was quite hard. Smaller than queen size even when we are only 1.65m tall and Asian built. We are not even plump mind you.

Most of the hotel staffs are okay. Except for the 2 hotel staffs who spoilt our holiday. The management should really educate them on customer service like most of the hotels we have stayed & reviewed.

Totally disappointed. Will write a separate e-mail to the General Manager for her to know what happened on that 2 fateful days.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IMKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear IMKH

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. We were delighted to read that you were impressed with the location and size of our bedrooms. On the other hand, we were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The staff in this hotel, mainly Eastern European but speak good English, are friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite large and well equipped. However we found that too many things just didn't work properly. The nice coffee machine leaked and produced cold coffee. The shower with nice massage jets sprayed all over the floor. The cold food at breakfast was nice but the cooked breakfast food was poor. This could be a good hotel if they could sort out the little things.

Room Tip: The rooms at the backare definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima P, receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Tony T,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro.
As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. On the other hand, we were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement.
We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Sima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Tucked away just around the corner from King's Cross/St. Pancras the hotel is ideally situated for users of those stations. It was great to be able to get off the train and check in without having to struggle on and off the tube with luggage. Staff are polite and friendly, rooms are clean and spacious, and our bathroom had a multi-jet shower.

Had great American pancakes with maple syrup for breakfast in the adjoining restaurant.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank racarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear racarter,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in an Executive Double. The room was clean and spacious. The only downside to the room was that it too warm so you had to open the windows. This made it tough to sleep due to the high level of noise outside.

They claim to have W-Fi but it didn't work.

They don't respond well to email inquiries, which created some problems for us.

The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

We ate breakfast at their restaurant and it was very good. It also has very good Wi-Fi reception.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Jeff K,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for one night in October. Ideal location for kings cross and the tube. Clean and modern room. Only down side was that the description upon booking stated 'superior double' but our room was more like a standard double & the view of another building and some stairs was a bit disappointing. Hotel staff were helpful and very welcoming

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear SarahTez,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Booked the Megaro because of its location across the road from St. Pancras and the reviews on here. Pleasantly surprised, the hotel lived up to its reviews and was great for a stop over.

On booking we had requested an early checkin via email, so we could drop our bags and get changed, this was accommodated without fuss and set us up for a great visit.

Room was modern, clean and spacious with a huge king size bed, decent sized bathroom with a deep tub. The small roof terrace, with table and chairs was a bonus, nice to have a nightcap overlooking the rooftops and chimneys.

Continental breakfast was included in our rate but there wasn't really many continental options on the al a carte breakfast menu. It turned out it was an allowance to use against our choices. That said the omelette and poached eggs hit the mark washed down by freshly squeezed juice and strong coffee.

Would recommend and would happily stay again if I needed to be in the area, if nothing else to stock up on my favourite sweets from the complimentary bowls in reception, who doesn't love Love Hearts and Refreshers!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mchughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima P, receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Mchughs,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro.
As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention was great visit.
Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Megaro very soon.

Kind regards
Sima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#284 of 1,076 in London
1,768 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#272 of 1,076 in London
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £132 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing