We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room but detail let it down”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #139 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent 2 nights here and had a very pleasant room of a good size though a lot of the space was taken up by a second put up bed which we didn't need. Staff were very friendly and the décor was interesting - on the 'funky' side.
Whilst we were there they lost their satellite reception and were unable to get it fixed - we'd planned a relaxing time whilst my husband was working so this was a great disappointment and we were surprised that they had no back up plan or way of solving the problem. However, they did give us a discount to make up for it. This was also fortunate as we discovered our booking 'may or may not include additional taxes and fees' so the room was actually 20% per night more expensive than we'd budgeted for. This is unusual for Expedia so must be a hotel policy. I think there are better hotels in the location in the £200 per night price range and would probably choose a different one next time.

Room Tip: If there are only 2 of you make sure they don't give you a room with an additional bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Jenny P,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,578 - 1,584 of 2,544 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Megaro Hotel is a wonderful hotel across from Kings Cross/St. Pancras station. It is very easy to get onto the transportation and go anywhere in the city. We stayed in a Deluxe room which was very nice and included free robes, slippers, water and milk. The room was very large and had a view of the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel. The walls could be thicker as there was a lot of road noise but it was not overly annoying.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Tammy L,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Quick check in to room 301 at back of hotel, nice and quiet. Large room with everything we required, hospitality tray, iron,ironing board, nice toiletries in the big bathroom. Bed a little on the firm side for me but I still managed to sleep. A bit slow in taking our breakfast order however nice when it came (Eggs Benedict). Very convenient hotel for travel via mainline Kings Cross and St Pancras

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Collybean,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just come back from a trip to London with girlfriends to see a show - something we do every year and I have to say that the staff in this hotel were the friendliest I have ever experienced in London. We would like to say a special thank you to Lynsey who took the time to show us a lovely walking route to Portobello Market - you were right we thoroughly enjoyed it there. The hotel has an excellent location, like other reviewers we arrived at Kingscross station and it was lovely to just walk across the road to check in. When we booked we thought we were having continental breakfast but we had a freshly cooked hot breakfast, fresh juice & coffee - all of which was gorgeous & included in our room price. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reggaelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Reggaelicious,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have stayed here before and didn't have a good time but was prepared to give it another go

Looking at the positive reviews it makes me wonder if we stayed in another hotel?
In every case, the bathroom has been full of mould and rotten wood- see picture of our bathroom in room 210. I don't expect this in a hotel at any price- let alone one we paid £350 for!
putting wood in the bathroom was a costly mistake- but one that should have been fixed.
No TV that worked in the room either "satellite out...."
Sort out the bathrooms and niggles and it would be a very nice hotel. But twice bitten for us.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheshire159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear cheshire159

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. We were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We were impressed by this hotel review on Tripadvisor & booked it for our last stopover after Barcelona & Paris. Below are our reviews :

Pros :
1) Good location. Near St Pancras International (Eurostar) & near King Cross tube (Metro).
2) Large & modern design room with bathtub

Cons :
1) Noisy even at midnight due to the nearby hospital. You may get to hear ambulance siren every 30mins. Our room was not even facing Euston Rd W1... We were facing a small street called Belgrove Street.
2) Not for smokers. As we were warned & threatened by one of the reception staffs on 28/10/2013 at abt 2030hrs that they will fine us 200-400 pound if we smoke again. This even after honestly admitted our mistake as we were told that we actually activated the fire alarm which we didn't actually hear & apologised to him. He even pointed at me in a threatening manner like a police officer do to an accused. In fact, we were not told by any of the staffs when we check in that the entire hotel building is a non-smoking building. He even sternly said that the fine will be charge to my credit card even without my knowledge. Theft? There was no simple signage informing hotel guest that guests cannot smoke in the room. So smokers, please avoid this hotel at any cost. We actually let the matter to rest when we were actually reminded again when we checked out on 31/10/2013 at 1120hrs by another male staff with regards to the smoking incident. In fact, being an law abidding citizen of an Asian country, we didn't smoke in the room after we were told not to do so. The staff merely called his housekeeping colleague & asked to check whether was there any smell of cigarette smoke or any damage done due to smoking. The best part was, after we stopped smoking in the room, the next morning at around 7 plus, the fire alarm was activated & we can smell from our neighbouring room, stenched of cigarette smoke. Is it because we are guest from Asia? I let you guys decide. We have been to Barcelona & Paris before our last stopover at London, it totally spoilt our honeymoon. So smokers, stay away from this hotel... You can be fine through the credit card that you produce when check-in. The staff should have advised us rather threatening us with so called "FINAL WARNING" when it was the first time that they approach for that smoking incident.

3) Bed was quite hard. Smaller than queen size even when we are only 1.65m tall and Asian built. We are not even plump mind you.

Most of the hotel staffs are okay. Except for the 2 hotel staffs who spoilt our holiday. The management should really educate them on customer service like most of the hotels we have stayed & reviewed.

Totally disappointed. Will write a separate e-mail to the General Manager for her to know what happened on that 2 fateful days.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IMKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear IMKH

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. We were delighted to read that you were impressed with the location and size of our bedrooms. On the other hand, we were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The staff in this hotel, mainly Eastern European but speak good English, are friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite large and well equipped. However we found that too many things just didn't work properly. The nice coffee machine leaked and produced cold coffee. The shower with nice massage jets sprayed all over the floor. The cold food at breakfast was nice but the cooked breakfast food was poor. This could be a good hotel if they could sort out the little things.

Room Tip: The rooms at the backare definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima P, receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Tony T,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro.
As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. On the other hand, we were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement.
We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Sima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#283 of 1,076 in London
1,767 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#274 of 1,076 in London
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £132 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing