We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel in London! Perfect for St. Pancras and Euston.”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #128 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel in London! Perfect for St. Pancras and Euston.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I were going on a Christmas trip on the Eurostar and needed to stay the night before our train left. Hotel Megaro is literally right across from St. Pancras. It is easy to find by the paintings on the outside. We thought the hotel was excellent and slept so well. Also we loved the bathrooms! The receptionists are extremely friendly. They also have a fancy coffeemaker in each room. Definitely a quality place to stay and we would stay there even if we didn't need to catch a train.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 6 May 2017
Hey Hey Hayley M,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    849
    154
    65
    34
See reviews for
596
968
170
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed a night at the Megaro in early April, guided by reviews here. I was fortunate to receive an upgrade to a nice self-contained studio apartment a block from the main hotel. The room was excellent--clean, quiet, equipped with coffee-maker, good TV, great bath. Less than two blocks to Kings Cross rail and tube stations and no shortage of good pubs and restaurants in the neighbourhood. Would strongly recommend. Breakfast was not included, but the price was more than reasonable in the London market. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 6 May 2017
Hello David M,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights although my roommate stayed on for some extra days for a conference. The location is fantastic - across the street from Kings Cross/St Pancras underground and mainline stations. You can't miss the building because it is multicoloured! There are plenty of shops nearby for convenience. We did not try the hotel restaurant or bar, so I can't comment. The vibe inside the hotel was funky and modern.

The room itself was LARGE for London standards for two people. Apart from the large bed, there was a sofa that ran alongside an entire wall of the room under the window (where we could see Kings Cross mainline station - we were on the 5th floor). The sofa had cushions and comforters so it was a nice place to "rest" without lying in bed. There were drawers and hangers for clothes and an in-room safe. The minibar was stocked (including fresh cool tap water and milk - both free) and there was an espresso machine! In front of the bed and under the TV was a small desk with a table that could pull out so you could use your computer or keyboard. The TV remote control took a bit of getting used to (just follow the instructions exactly in the hotel room and you'll be fine). The hotel guest directory is pretty quirky (if you have the time to read it).

The bathroom was spectacular - a huge rainwater shower (over a bath) and heated towel rails and ENORMOUS THICK towels! Plenty of toiletries (and toilet paper) too. The only downside was that there was no rail or hook to put a handtowel.

The room had a perfumed smell which was a little irritating, and the room itself got quite warm - we tried changing the room temperature but there appeared to be an error. When we asked reception, they said that there have been some problems which they are working on, and offered us a fan to cool down the temperature (which was appreciated)!

The free wifi was fantastic and reliable. Overall we were really impressed with the location, the layout and facilities, and the price for the size of the room was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TashfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 6 May 2017
Hey hey TashfromMelb,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Spent a week in London and stayed at the Megaro. The location was perfect. It was directly across the street from King's Cross station and St Pancras. We stayed in a "Family Room" which was spacious and very comfortable. The room was clean and modern with plenty of room for myself and two daughters. The restaurant in the hotel was great for breakfast. The staff was helpful and accessible. My only negative was that we were on a lower floor above the restaurant and the street traffic and music from the bar area were loud at times. I would request a higher floor if possible. The building was painted with brightly colored geometric shapes which made it extremely easy to find and distinctive. I know some reviewers didn't like this about the building but I thought is was rather helpful! It was a relatively good value and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floor not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 512debbiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 6 May 2017
Hey hey 512debbiea,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Have stayed here a few times when using East Coast and Eurostar. The location could not be any better being just on the other side of the road. For this stay we were upgraded at check in to a larger room and this was very comfortable and nicely laid out with a big sofa with TV’s for both the lounge and the bedroom. You also get free fresh milk and water in the mini bar along with proper Nespresso style coffee machine and coffee. Breakfast is freshly cooked and the scrambled eggs with salmon were tasty. Overall, good quality hotel in an ideal location for the rail stations.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering-Gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 6 May 2017
Hello hello Wandering-Gardener,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel has it all.
Great location. If you want to see London with ease, Kings Cross is the spot to stay. The tube can get you to most places.

Hip, funky decor and spacious rooms. I was lucky and had a room on the top floor for 4 nights overlooking Kings Cross/St Pancras stations. Yeah, it's busy but that's London: lively, diverse and why we all travel here. I wish I had stayed longer in the hotel and of course London.

The Megaro bar under the hotel is a unique space with cool grooves, a great atmosphere and hot Italian and Australian owners.

I shall be telling as many people as I can to stay at the Megaro. I certainly will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 6 May 2017
Dear Dean G,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed here for a night on my way out on the Eurostar and you cant fault the location of this for ease of use. It is directly opposite Kings X and 2 mins from St Pancras so all the stress of hiking across town was removed.

For £160 a night it was pretty good; unusual looking place (didnt like the mural painted on what would have been a lovely building, but you dont miss it) and the rooms are a very good size for the price! I have stayed in more expensive with significantly worse a finish and less space.

It is noisy and i was facing the road so i was expecting that; i am used to that noise anyway so that wasnt wholly annoying but if you want location this is the price you pay! It could annoy some more sensitive travellers though i suppose.

There isnt much space in the hotel itself so dont stay here if you are planning on using it as lounge as there is a lovely looking bar but that appeared to be about it (although if you are staying in London to just see the inside of a hotel then you maybe need to question why you are staying at all!). Again, not a requirement for me so i was fine with that, even if i would have been staying longer it wouldnt have bothered me but parties/groups may find this an issue

The room itself was comfortable; tea and coffee, more storage space than was necessary if staying for a month and sky tv that actually worked for all the channels (a rarity in the UK!). Great shower and good sized bathroom and the twin room was a proper one-again another rarity. a double bed with a single pull down from a wardrobe so more than adequate for sharing without either being nose to nose (the new fad for twin rooms-effectively 1 bed with two single duvets. You are either very intimate with the person you didnt want to share with but equally falling between mattresses if you had booked a double

So...would definitely recommend this for travellers using the main stations, absolutely perfect for them. Maybe alright for a few nights as a tourist or longer traveller as the noise may offend some but i think a very good value for money overall in a very expensive city

Room Tip: If road noise is an issue for you, ask to not stay at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatWarner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, 6 May 2017
Hey hey KatWarner81,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,069 in London
1,744 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#256 of 1,069 in London
1,986 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#384 of 1,069 in London
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Property: Hotel Megaro
Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing