We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Hotel Near the Trains”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #133 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked the Megaro because it was near St. Pancras train station. We were staying a night in London after returning from a cruise that docked at Dover. The Dover train was a quick trip to London and St. Pancras. The Eurostar also travels from St. Pancras. Kings Cross is next to it for additional tube and train travel. The area around the train stations is chaotic and packed with people. Luckily when we arrived at Megaro, which is just cross the street, it was calm and quiet. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The room was nice, but we could not turn on the lights. We called the front desk and were told to insert our room key into a slot in order to work the lights. Odd. The bathroom was clean and modern. There was some noise at night from sirens, but considering its location, it was quiet enough. The hotel is walking distance to the British Library and the British Museum. When we were leaving, the taxi we had arranged to take us to Paddington for the Heathrow Express failed to show up. The man at the front desk called two times to check its status. Finally, after finding that roads around London were blocked due to the Tour de France, he cancelled the taxi and carried our bags to the tube with directions how to get to Paddington. What a guy! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Hey hey CalifroniaLeslie,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,500)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Megaro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 2,500 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Well, everything was excellent. Loved the room (deluxe) which was huge, clean and well maintained, nice shower and a nice view too. Location fantastic, super easy to find (if you are a light sleeper staying in central london is not for you!). Downstairs bar and restaurants are lovely, breakfast was amazing and dinners are a must try. All staff were pleasant and helpful. Obviously for all of this you pay more than you do for hotels further away or with less to offer. We usually stay in the outskirts of London and drive but Megaro Hotel has changed our mind, it's well worth paying the extra to enjoy your time here!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Tonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Hello Hello Tonia B,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Megaro is in the perfect position, opposite the St Pancras Station where we boarded the Eurostar to Paris.Kings Cross underground is right next door to St Pancras so travel is easy.
The hotel is a modern art decor with comfortable rooms and helpful staff.We would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Hey hey Chris T,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers.
All the team here aim to create an atmosphere and feeling of home and relaxation – so to read your feedback is very rewarding for us.
Our hotel is indeed a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
Please accept my apologies if there was any inconvenience caused, and we can only hope that you choose Megaro next time you stay in London, and do not forget to collect your -10% voucher off dinner at Karpo Restaurant at reception.
Best regards,

Deyse Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

There are a lot of good things about this hotel - free unlimited wifi, modern clean rooms, sky tv, espresso machine, reasonably priced minibar and close proximity to the Eurostar. Unfortunately this all becomes irrelevant if like us you get a bad night's sleep. We requested and were given a "quiet" room (310) on the side of the hotel. All night we were treated to constant loud road noise and various people shouting outside the hotel. Upon mentioning this to the reception staff when checking out, their response was simply to state that the rooms on Euston Road are much worse. Not good enough and we will not return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Travel_Lion_10

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. We were delighted to read that you were impressed with the unlimited wifi, modern clean rooms and the location of the hotel. On the other hand, we were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My daughter and I were going to Wimbledon Tennis on 26th June and wanted a hotel close to Kings Cross so we could drop our bags off early leaving us free to enjoy the tennis. The hotel is really easy to find - directly opposite Kings Cross Station. We got there at 10:30 so we knew the room would not be ready but the staff on reception were very polite, friendly and helpful and took our bags to the lock-up until we checked in later that evening. On check-in, about 21:30 the staff quickly retrieved our bags and gave us a voucher to enjoy a free cocktail in the bar (very welcome). The room was gorgeous, massive with a huge soft and comfy bed. The views were amazing over Kings Cross and St Pancaras stations (our room was 504). Mini-bar extremely reasonably priced for any city, let alone London, large flat-screen tv and lovely coffee machine. The en-suite was lovely with a very nice body shower. Breakfast was very nice and the staff in the restaurant were again very friendly and helpful. On check-out we asked if the hotel could look after our bags as we wanted to enjoy a day in London before travelling home from Kings Cross that evening. The staff were more than accommodating with this and were very happy to do so. We had just left the hotel for our day out when I realised i'd left my phone charger plugged in the room. We didn't want to waste precious time in London going back so I phoned the hotel, the charger was retrieved from the room and waiting for me behind reception when I collected my bags. Excellent hotel, excellent staff and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room 504 has excellent views and is no the 5th floor so is not bothered too much by busy Kings Cross...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Primmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Primmy1

Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. We all appreciated the statement, "staff very friendly and helpful." This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. The Food and beverage team were delighted to read that you were impressed with the delicious breakfast. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We picked the Hotel because of its location to St. Pancras Station and it was very reasonable, we were surprised when we arrived as it was a really beautiful Hotel and the room was a great size and every facility you would ever need. We stayed 1 night before getting the train. Breakfast didn't start early enough for us on a Saturday which was a shame so we had to get Breakfast in St. Pancras. Staff very friendly. We had a portable air fan and it was very quiet so didn't keep us awake. I think it was worth paying a little more for a bigger room but it was still fairly priced. Would definately use it again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davinafoodie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Davinafoodie

Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. We all appreciated the statement, "staff very friendly." This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here four nights. Agree with most of other reviews. Very warm, but they included a portable air fan. On the day we checked out, a crane was in the street to install a new AC unit so that should be fine going forward. The room was very large but facing the front street and thus, noisy. There are two skylights letting light in very early, and one of them leaked water when it rained. The worst part is the bathroom which is beautiful to look at, but the shower is totally unusable with only a small glass partition, and what appeared to be black mold in the corner where the water hit the wooden side of the tub. The staff are very nice and helpful, and great to receive free drink coupons. Loved the location, and the access to the train stations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTA-ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deyse M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear KTA-ID

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. We all appreciated the statement, "staff are very nice and helpful." This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#266 of 1,072 in London
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#260 of 1,072 in London
2,010 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £142 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing