We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity For The Breakfast...”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #139 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We spent a week end break at the Megaro Hotel, coming from Paris.

As many other travellers pointed out, the hotel is very convenient if you travel with Eurostar because it’s literally opposite Saint Pancras train station.
We asked for interconnecting rooms but the hotel said tehy could only give us adjacent rooms which we accepted.
Only, when we arrived the rooms were not adjacent at all although in the same corridor.
We decided not to complain : as we have a toddler of 2 we asked for quiet rooms which we got and they were indeed very calm.
The rooms are decorated with taste and everything is brand new. The nice detail is the espresso machine with complimentary water and milk in the fridge. Being Italian I particularly appreciated that because it changes from the Nescafé and the kettle…

We were helped with tube and buses by receptionists so there is absolutely nothing to complain.

What we did not appreciate was the continental breakfast included in our plan : the advertising in the lift mentioned a selection but the staff said that if we wanted certain things it would be extra.
We made clear that we had no intention to pay an extra for an oat porridge and in the end we could have it included in the plan.
Overall the buffet is pretty mediocre and could really improve.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobiOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sini K, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear RobiOne

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. We were delighted to read that you were impressed with the location of the hotel. On the other hand, we were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,179 - 2,185 of 2,544 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2009

The hotel entrance is very discreet (it's next door to Barclays, directly across from Pancras Road). The lobby is tiny, but there is a nice bar at the back. Check-in wasn't particularly slick, but well-meaning. Accessing the lift to the rooms requires a room key (reassuring, Kings Cross is improving as an area, but lone women should still be cautious late at nght).

The room itself was excellent: very large by London standards, and a particularly comfortable bed. The bathroom had a glass door which was only partially opaque: the WC is not visible, but potentially a bather would be visible by his/her travelling companion.....! There is free wifi, complimentary mineral water and a decent tv. The fridge is great, but as a tea drinker, I would have preferred a proper kettle as well as the espresso machine.

London had been unusually hot that week, and the air conditioning was essential: it did take a while to get going, but was very effective eventually.

We got a really good deal via Laterooms for a Friday night: will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feline_charm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sini K, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Feline_charm

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

I stayed one night friday 3rd July, our room was one of the best I have ever stayed in worldwide and I worked in 5 star hotels for 15 years ! it was spotless , very big and with a great bathroom. The hotel manager, a lady was very helpful and very professional. A rare thing now days. The hotel was very good value and I would recommend this hotel fully.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIZ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello Dear LIZBETTERIDGE,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We spent three nights here in late June and would recommend the Megaro to any London visitors. We arrived early from Paris (on the Eurostar ) so we could not check in immediately. The staff stored our luggage and we were able to use the lobby restrooms to change and wash up. The front desk staff all were helpful and attentive so no complaints there.
Our reservation was made directly through the hotel website and was fair (109/night) but did not include breakfast, which is available in the hotel restaurant. However, we found a small bakery nearby, Patisserie Deux Amis on Judd St (5 minute walk, left on Euston, left on Judd) which had wonderful breads, pastries and coffee for a morning start. We also ate dinner locally at the Camino (spanish food) restaurant and it was delicious.
We had two executive double rooms (one for us, one for teenagers) and each was spacious (as big as what we are accustomed to in the US), clean, well furnished and equipped with a large LCD TV, which doubled as a computer monitor. The built in Internet was handy, when it worked; the kids room remote keyboard did not work (they had a laptop so no bother) and our internet froze on the final day. There is also no printer so printing boarding passes has to be accomplished elsewhere.
The beds were very comfy and while the bathrooms were good sized there were two quirks. First, there was a bit of a problem with getting cold water. After the first day, the cold water tap produced warm water only and we were told that a plumber was working on the entire system to correct. Better to have hot water and no cold, than vice versa, but it was a little annoying. Second, the bathroom in the kids room was fully glass enclosed with frosted glass from about two feet off the floor to five feet high. Just a little strange. None of this would stop us from staying here again.
The metro is literally steps from the front door and St. Pancras (Eurostar station) was just across the street. Regarding the front door - it is easy to miss as the hotel "footprint" is very small. There is a currency conversion shop next door and its rates are very good, especially compared to the train station. Kings Cross is a major station so access to everywhere is pretty easy from this location. There is a 9 3/4 gate for Harry Potter fans in the Kings Cross station near platform 8 for the suburban trains - just ask the station staff and they will direct you to it. The British Library is just down Euston Rd a bit and has the Magna Carta and other interesting collections. Otherwise this is a hotel in a train station neighborhood which is trying to clean up and has mostly, but not totally succeeded in doing so.
The rooms all had air conditioning, a safe, espresso machine, milk and a small fridge with milk. The beds were big and comfy, really comfy. The room key also is used as a master electric control for the room (which we have seen in some other European hotels). Place it in a slot by the door and only then do you have lights and a/c, etc. There was one fairly small elevator which worked, although there was a wait at times because housekeeping also used the hotel to move the days dirty linens and towels in huge bags.
You can book this hotel with confidence and enjoy a big comfortable room at a good price. The staff will help you upon request and the whole of London awaits you through the Underground.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveLIsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sini K, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear DaveLIsa

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We usually opt for the Novotel St Pancras for nearness to Kings Cross station for convenience but it had no availability for one night on our way back from a week's holiday in New York. We discovered the Megaro and booked via the internet. I was a bit dubious as we have experienced some poor hotels in the Kings Cross area in the past. The entrance was small and unassuming and at first we thought it was solely the restaurant entrance. We arrived at 1145 am, jetlagged after a long flight and then an hour on the tube from Heathrow so were disappointed that we couldn't check in until 2pm. They did let us leave our heavy cases though and we killed time, returning2 hours later. I liked the fact that you could not access the stairs and lift to the bedroom without using a room card. The room itself was 'superior' (I don't know how this differs from 'standard?') and although it's not huge it's minimalistic and very contemporary with everything provided that you need. Well thought out, with fabulous coffee maker, a fridge complete with a small bottle of milk, an electronic safe and very easy-to-use thermostat controls. Everything was spotlessly clean, the bathrom was lovely (and I'm fussy!) and the shower was brilliant. We were a bit concerned about traffic noise but didn't hear anything once we got into the very comfy bed and slept like logs! A free daily newspaper was outside our room (and all rooms) in the morning. The staff, who were Italian, were helpful and couldn't do enough. The continental breakfast which was included in our one night stay of £106 was perfectly sufficient, very nice and consisted of cereals, juice, croissants, rolls, cheese and ham. The only niggle in the breakfast room (downstairs restaurant) is that it was extremely cold, but I suppose that's a minor thing. This hotel was everything and more that we hoped for and we would definitely use it again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roombudYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello Dear roombudYork,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We were a family with 2 daughters - 10 and 16. Spent 2 nights-1-2 Jun 09. Excellent and safe location in central London. Across the road from King's Cross tube station and St Pancras Int'l stn for Eurostar which we took for Paris. Sumptuous breakfast. Hot milk given on request. Cloak room near reception for keeping the bags. Staff not too conversant with English(seemed Italian or Spanish) though very helpful and one can manage even with this little handicap. We had a Quad room which was very spacious and also economical vis-a-vis 2 double occupancy rooms(Room#202). Good view of the road outside and King's Cross tube stn esp at night. Had done booking thru local Delhi-based agent who used Gullivers Travel Agents(GTA) software. No difficulties at all at check-in or chk-out. Room and bathroom adequately provided/stocked with amenities. Had an digital safe, electric kettle, iron, hair-drier, wi-fi connectivity (tv+remote used for surfing), LCD tv, fridge etc. Clean room and bed linen. Overall very comfortable stay and we would love to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SouthDelhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello Dear SouthDekhite,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Location beside st. Pancreas station was great - comfort and space in bedroom fantistic, there was water and an espresso machine with fresh milk in fridge - absolutely everything you could need. Staff were absolutely great and nothing too much trouble from more coffee pods for the room to taxis and directions, the service was second to none and always with smile and humour!
The street presence is quite small and easily missed if you don't know where to look and taxis often had'nt heard of it - but once found is a little gem of only about 50 rooms with all the charm, comfort and service of the large luxury hotels but with much more heart!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello Dear FermanaghKeys,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#284 of 1,076 in London
1,767 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#277 of 1,076 in London
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £133 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing