We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #131 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I would strongly recommend the Megaro hotel to anyone travelling to London. The rooms were spacious, modern and clean. The location of the hotel is conveniently located making it easy to travel around London and to areas outside of the city. The staff is very helpful and provide excellent customer service. I will deffinately be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello Dear tjjc,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,505)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Megaro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,077 - 2,083 of 2,506 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2010

We found this hotel much by chance and got a deal via LM for just over £100. The location is superb if you are travelling to or from Kings Cross or St Pancras. The view from our window overlooked Kings Cross (but more on that later).

Unfortunately I had to bring my car and being central London the hotel has no parking, which I knew. On street parking after 7pm is actually very easy in the area, but be warned you are in the Congestion Zone (just!) so if you are not leaving at the crack of dawn, you'll need to pay the CC. Still, for overnight parking £8 isn't too much to pay.

The lobby is small, but the rooms are not. A very decent size and a good bathroom too. Unfortunately the first room we checked into had a problem, but we were quickly moved into a neighbouring room, so all was well.

The bed was acceptable, pillows not great (personal opinion). Back to the view though... Whilst it is great to be so close to the hustle and bustle, the ambient noise is noticeable, so depending on how heavily or lightly you sleep will make a difference.

The breakfast policy at the hotel is also one of the best I have seen, with a light breakfast (toast, tea/coffee and orange juice) being only £3.50 - nice to see a hotel being reasonable for once. The free Wi-Fi and good coffee machine was also a big plus.

Definitely recommended and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teodora V, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Dear Moanypants

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

After careful research on TripAdvisor I chose this hotel for a wedding anniversary trip with my wife. The positive reviews were correct: this truly is a very good hotel.

We arrived around 2 a.m. from the airport quite exhausted. The hotel's entrance was literally right next to the tube stairs (look for the exit labeled Euston Street South). The late check in went smoothly and we were given a very nice room on the 4th floor. The room had a spacious bathroom with a tub, a double bed and an LCD TV which was actually a computer with free internet access. There was also a small fridge with complimentary bottles of mineral and still water, which was a pleasant surpise given the time of arrival. The espresso machine (also in the room) proved to be very useful for the morning and afternoon coffees. A kettle and an iron with an ironing board were also provided.

On the downside, the night sleep was distrupted a bit by the busy Euston street. Bring earplugs to be on the safe side. This is naturally not the hotel's fault and there was no noise originating from the hotel itself. The TV-computer combo proved to be very handy but it got stuck a few times and had to be rebooted.

The breakfast room was nice but a little busy during the weekend. Continental breakfast included coffee, juice, a few slices of bread and toast, a croissant along with ham, salami and marmelade. Not an all-you-can-eat type of breakfast that would keep you pounding the streets until dinner, but quite sufficient anyway.

Overall this hotel delivers a very good value for money: it has nice and well-equipped rooms, an excellent location and good service.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trumelunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello Dear Trumlunki,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I booked this hotel on the recommendations below. The narrow entrance hall isn't very inspiring and had us a bit worried. We were early (12.30) and the room wasn't ready but the staff did their best to get us in. When we saw the view - St Pancras clock opposite - from the 6th floor room, we were amazed. The (executive) room was really large with everything you need - espresso machine internet and so on. Good comfortable bed with decent pillows and a light duvet meant a good solid sleep. A great bathroom with deluge shower and deep tub was enjoyed too. We though it was good value and so convenient for St Pancras/Kings Cross.
The 2 warnings I would offer are. There is road noise despite double glazing. But you are in London so get used to it. There was no internal noise, so good soundproofing. The staff at breakfast were a bit inexperienced too and didn't seem to appreciate that an english breakfast didn't mean you had to have everything. And that you might want some cereal or whatever. A bit of training needed? But the chef seemed to be a native and what we had was cooked to order: a pleasure after the stewed bacon you see in many buffets. Go try!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello Dear RoamingJock,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

The full english breakfast was served piping hot..a rare treat . The hotel is opposite St Pancras station and right on the Kings Cross Subway exit. The room was spacious by London standards ( wondered if we had been given a free upgrade as we had a king size bed). The decor was clean and modern. There were just two minus points. The room keys kept failing and the hotel is on a busy (noisy) road. Lots of noise at night, but it didn't stop us from getting a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stFloridahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima P, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Dear 1stFloridahome

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. The Food and beverage team were delighted to read that you were impressed with the delicious breakfast. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

What a gem! So well located - more or less opposite Kings Cross St Pancras, I also thought the room price was ok for central London. Staff were lovely and exceptionally polite, the room and bathroom were very clean, contemporary and modern, bed was comfy and above all it was peaceful. The Free Internet on TV was a great help. I honestly can't fault this hotel.
Great for catching the Early Euro Star Train

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RowingBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello Dear RowingBloke,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We arrived of the train at Kings Cross at about 13:30 so we were just going to "dump" our stuff in the room and go sightseeing. We left the station and crossed the road and there was the Megaro right infront of us. We quickly got checked in which was very easy and hassle free and then went up to our room. While my mother was unpacking I was trying out of curiousity going to try out the free wifi on my laptop. It was superb the speed was great and you didnt need to sign up or anything. After our dinner we went back to the hotel to get ready for bed. I went back on the Wifi on my laptop and my Dad tried the free internet via the television. He was very impressed and it was really fast. When it was time to go to bed we got a very good nights sleep in the really confortable beds.

In the morning when I went for a show I was really impressed as they had a new "rainbow" show which was superb and the heated towel rail is always helpful ! We had also got contenental breakfasts, when we got down they had just got the fresh paistries out of the oven which we delicious and I had ground coffee as well which was nice.

This is a superb modern hotel which we are certanly going back to.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timecapsule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello Dear Timecapsule,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#265 of 1,073 in London
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,073 in London
2,014 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £139 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing