We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coach House
Ranked #94 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This place is a gem! It is perfect for families or two couples with two baths and two bedrooms plus a small kitchen. The setting is charming and the Coach House is located in a lovely garden behind a very nice family home. The daily breakfast was wonderful and help was provided promptly with transportation arrangements or any requests for information. You are outside of central London with an easy walk of several blocks to the tube and then about 15 minutes on the tube into central London. We enjoyed the tranquil setting of a residential neighborhood after a busy day of sightseeing and crowds. The property is comfortably furnished, well maintained and clean. Note that the staircase to the upstairs is quite steep. The only reason we did not give it 5 stars is that we would have appreciated just a bit of flexibility with the check out time as it is early at 10 am (so plan accordingly). It would have been nice if we could have stayed an extra hour or at least stashed our bags for a bit so we might sightsee in the area before catching a mid afternoon train. However, this could not be arranged. This is a very nice property and we would stay at the Coach House again! We would definitely recommend this property to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

My sister - an elderly non-overseas traveller to this stage - enjoyed her very first days in London with me at this wonderful place. Meena and Harley were the quintissential hosts - humorous, warm and aware of the need to keep the detachment which goes with the paying guest-host relationship and then occasionally adding something of themselves. The facilities reflect their tastes and the experience of years of hosting many people from around the world. The garden is special and the coach house very private, well situated and very secure. They provide reliable airport pickups -good advice on any issues facing the experienced and inexperienced traveller - action requests quickly - allelements which set the very best apart from the rest.

Room Tip: Race to get the upper level because it overlooks the exquisite garden ...and if you lose the race...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trailswest2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We as a family with 5 stayed at the Coach House for 4 nights during our stay in London. First of all we realized the silence of the very beautiful garden, then the fine appearance of the Coach House itself, first from outside, afterwards the well-tended rooms with all the antique furniture. It was the perfect accomodation four us with enough space and two bathrooms. And the total house was ours!

The next mornings we enjoyed the fantastic English breakfast of Meena (very delicious and anytime an "eyecatcher", especially the porridge!). Moreover we appreciated our morning talks during breakfast in Harley´s and Meena´s house where we took lots of profit by the precious advice when planning our daily London tour. In German I would say: "Wir fühlten uns sehr wohl", which I mean says more than "we felt good", because it includes something like feel at home.
Moreover, after a walk of about five minutes you reach the station of Balham; from this place the tube takes only about 15 minutes for example to London Bridge. That means we enjoyed the beautiful surroundings of the Coach House and were very could connected to the busy center of London.
We could only recommend this wonderful place (www.rentals.chslondon.com) for visiting busy London, and for a second trip we would book the Coach House again, of course!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteGiRo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at The Coach House for 4 nights during our brief stay in London. There were 5 in our party and the privacy of our own little place was wonderful. The two bathrooms helped during wash-up time and the upstairs bedroom afforded privacy for both rooms. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The downstairs twin beds were quite firm but we were so exhausted after our days of exploring, we had not trouble sleeping! The steps to the upper floor are steep and small…just a word of warning…but worth going up!

The courtyard was beautifully cared for and looked to be right out of a magazine. The flowers, roses and scents were lovely. Wish we had had the time to sit at the table…just so much to do in London!

The entrance is through a gate which was locked so we felt completely safe leaving our valuables in the house. The free WiFi was very nice in planning what we would do the next day.

The location was perfect. Just a short walk to a tube station and 15-20 min to London. Very quiet and private neighborhood.

We enjoyed the breakfasts that Harley and Meena put on in their breakfast room and the continental ones we had in the Coach House when we were starting out early. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catsforkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Carriage House is the ideal oasis a few Tube stops past the mad traffic and bustle. Upon arrival and every am& pm Meena's garden welcomed us and smoothed out any stress of the day. Her decorating also shines throughout the rooms and comforts and then the delicious cooking: granola, marmelade and British fry up all have her personal touch. 3 -block access to Tube, delicious local food at Harrison's and the serene atmosphere of Meena & Harley's oasis - if one cannot be pleased, one should check one's pulse. And economical & personal transport was arranged to & from the airport. Can't praise these hosts' thoughtfulness enough. A real privilege to be invited into their home. Book & book early.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JAT51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Opening the gate and walking through the garden to our cottage was a welcome relief every evening and waking to bird songs every morning was a delight. The cottage itself was all we could ask for in comfort and charm. Two breakfasts by ourselves in the cottage when Meena and Harley were away with fresh fruit and croissants and two breakfasts with Meena and Harley replete with porridge and fine music and good conversation made for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We finished our two week UK vacation with a three night stay at the Coach House and it was a perfect way to end our trip. The quiet neighborhood is a short walk to the tube station and we were in central London within 20 minutes. The cottage provide more than enough room for 5 adults to relax after intense site-seeing in London. Harley and Meena are gracious and helpful hosts.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Bette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,078 in London
3,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#51 of 929 in London
589 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: 2 Tunley Road, London SW17 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing