We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality, great location, and great accommodations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coach House
Ranked #112 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hospitality, great location, and great accommodations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A very nice bed & breakfast with two separate bedrooms and two separate bathrooms. It is a quiet, safe neighborhood with easy access to the Tube and train (Balham station). Harley and Meena are fun and informative about not only tourist ideas but also about British culture and history. Meena is a great cook and made breakfast a significant event each morning. Harley was very helpful in arranging transportation from Heathrow airport and then to the St. Pancras train station when we left.

This is a fantastic place for a family or a couple to stay. If we are in London again, we plan to stay at The Coach House!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We enjoyed five nights at the Coach House, appreciating the peace and comfort of the lodging along with Harley and Meena's company at breakfast. Yes, the porridge is amazing! From the upstairs bedroom, we had wonderful morning sun streaming through the south-facing windows, and a superb view over the beautiful garden and main house. Perfect for visiting our London family who live nearby, the Balham area itself is charming with lots of cafes and specialty shops for browsing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sitka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

+ nice and clean house
+ no traffic noise
+ 5 minutes walk to underground from which you are in about 30 minutes right in middle of London
+ room on first floor very spacious with nice bathroom
+ kitchen with all supplies you need
+ very good breakfast in the main house made by Meenah, we loved her poridge.
+ many good restaurants in neighborhood

- taxi arranged by the coach house.
We orded a taxi for 4, but 3 days before arrival 1 of ours had to cancel the trip. So we needed a taxi for 3. I phoned Harley 3 days in advance and asked him to change the reservation into a smaller taxi which should be cheaper according to the website. He promised to do so. But when we arrived we still had to pay for 4.
- bathroom on the groundfloor is very very small.
Maybe an idee: take out the door between toilet and bathroom and put in a sliding instead.
- bedroom on groundfloor is small and dark
- beds are very hard

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duesseldorf
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

A wonderful place to come back to after an exciting day in the centre of London. Quiet, peaceful and comfortable with perfect hosts to ask thousands of questions at breakfast. And of course a marvelous breakfast.
My husband and me and our two boys (11 and 8 years old) loved "our" Coach House!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This place is a gem! It is perfect for families or two couples with two baths and two bedrooms plus a small kitchen. The setting is charming and the Coach House is located in a lovely garden behind a very nice family home. The daily breakfast was wonderful and help was provided promptly with transportation arrangements or any requests for information. You are outside of central London with an easy walk of several blocks to the tube and then about 15 minutes on the tube into central London. We enjoyed the tranquil setting of a residential neighborhood after a busy day of sightseeing and crowds. The property is comfortably furnished, well maintained and clean. Note that the staircase to the upstairs is quite steep. The only reason we did not give it 5 stars is that we would have appreciated just a bit of flexibility with the check out time as it is early at 10 am (so plan accordingly). It would have been nice if we could have stayed an extra hour or at least stashed our bags for a bit so we might sightsee in the area before catching a mid afternoon train. However, this could not be arranged. This is a very nice property and we would stay at the Coach House again! We would definitely recommend this property to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My sister - an elderly non-overseas traveller to this stage - enjoyed her very first days in London with me at this wonderful place. Meena and Harley were the quintissential hosts - humorous, warm and aware of the need to keep the detachment which goes with the paying guest-host relationship and then occasionally adding something of themselves. The facilities reflect their tastes and the experience of years of hosting many people from around the world. The garden is special and the coach house very private, well situated and very secure. They provide reliable airport pickups -good advice on any issues facing the experienced and inexperienced traveller - action requests quickly - allelements which set the very best apart from the rest.

Room Tip: Race to get the upper level because it overlooks the exquisite garden ...and if you lose the race...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trailswest2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohrbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We as a family with 5 stayed at the Coach House for 4 nights during our stay in London. First of all we realized the silence of the very beautiful garden, then the fine appearance of the Coach House itself, first from outside, afterwards the well-tended rooms with all the antique furniture. It was the perfect accomodation four us with enough space and two bathrooms. And the total house was ours!

The next mornings we enjoyed the fantastic English breakfast of Meena (very delicious and anytime an "eyecatcher", especially the porridge!). Moreover we appreciated our morning talks during breakfast in Harley´s and Meena´s house where we took lots of profit by the precious advice when planning our daily London tour. In German I would say: "Wir fühlten uns sehr wohl", which I mean says more than "we felt good", because it includes something like feel at home.
Moreover, after a walk of about five minutes you reach the station of Balham; from this place the tube takes only about 15 minutes for example to London Bridge. That means we enjoyed the beautiful surroundings of the Coach House and were very could connected to the busy center of London.
We could only recommend this wonderful place (www.rentals.chslondon.com) for visiting busy London, and for a second trip we would book the Coach House again, of course!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteGiRo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#97 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#592 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
FlexiStay Aparthotel Tooting London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#332 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Balham Lodge
#99 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#22 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 2 Tunley Road, London SW17 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing