We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience, excellent hosts and fantastic memories.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coach House
Ranked #111 of 567 London B&B and Inns
York County, PA
1 review
“Great experience, excellent hosts and fantastic memories.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

Though new to the Bed & Breakfast scene I am not new to travel and hotel stays. The Coach House was not only everything I had hoped for it was also excellent value for what my wife and I had planned to do.
We spent our 30th anniversary in London. After much research on hotels and vacation rental flats we chose the Coach House. The Bed & Breakfast is only part of what Coach House Rentals has to offer. The also have an array of vacation rental flats but the Bed &Breakfast experience was what my wife and I wanted.
The owners, Harley and Meena, made us feel very welcome from the start. They made the arrangements for us to be picked up at Heathrow and additionally were kind enough to make the reservations at a nearby restaurant for our anniversary dinner.
The location in the Wandsworth area is convenient to the Northern Line and rail service at Balham. There is shopping close by and an array of restaurants and cafes to choose from. Recommended are Chez Bruce and Gurkhas. In nearby Tooting Bec there are more restaurants to choose from. We had our anniversary dinner at Chez Bruces. As it turns out, it is one of the places our hosts recommend. For our last night in London we chose dinner at Gurkhas which was just a few minutes stroll from the Coach House.
I am not known for being a breakfast eater but all it took was one of Meenas full English breakfasts with porridge to convince me otherwise. It did bring back memories of part of my childhood spent living in London.
Over breakfast both Harley and Meena offered tips on places to go, directions when needed and entertaining conversation. Both of them made us feel welcome and provided a personal touch that hotels just can not compete with.
The Coach House offers privacy as it is behind the main house and has a private entrance.
The only drawback to our stay was the time of year but, as our anniversary is in February there isn't anything to be done about that. Spring and summer will bring out the beauty in the garden courtyard at the Coach House and my wife and I plan to return during one of those seasons. Where to stay? For us it's a "no brainer". Obviously it will be at the Coach House.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harleydan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

Excellent communication before leaving. Organised airport pickup. Friendly and welcoming. wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenadot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkeley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

Our hosts were wonderfully friendly and prepared an amazing breakfast each morning. Everything one needs is in the coach house, in a wonderful setting. The coach house is cozy while roomy, set in a lovely garden, and it is as nice as you would hope given the lovely photos. About 3 blocks from Balham tube and train stop. Inexpensive and friendly restaurants close by. Easy access into downtown London on the tube. This is one of the best bed/breakfast arrangements we have stayed in, period.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OaklandDaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

This was a great find. The Coach House is a self contained two bedroom cottage set in a garden location in suburban Balham. The rooms are light and airy and have a country cottage feel. There is a small kitchen for preparing snacks, bt you are unlikely to need this given the excellent cooked breakfast, with the porridge particularly highly recommended. The property is a few minutes' walk from Balham tube station and a range of 'essential' shops are minutes away. Central London about 20 minutes by tube.

Harley and Meena are delightful hosts. All in all a charming and different way to stay in London.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Myself and a group of friends were looking for a place to stay in London with at least 2 bedrooms. I started looking at apartments when I came across The Coach House. I'm so glad we made this choice. The Coach House feelt so homey..hidden behind a secret-garden like gate (complete with a secret-garden like key)..following the path past the main house through a beautiful garden to a quaint house that you can call your own for a few days. Harley and Meena took care of us very well, with a lovely breakfast and tips for the day as well as stocking our kitchen with breakfast goods on days we could not join them for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

The location was extremely convenient, near the tube and many restaurants. It's set on a quiet street with your own entrance, which makes coming and going very convenient. Every day Harley and Meena send you on your way with an amazing breakfast. All your questions are answered and they give your other options as well. We had them arrange a pick-up car for us at Heathrow which dropped us off right at their doorstep. We were able to leave our luggage that first morning and then went off to explore London while our rooms were readied. On our last day, Meena prepared an ostrich egg breakfast (which we had purchased at the Borough Market--another great suggestion by them). Harley then arranged for a taxi to take us to King's Cross train station.

We travel a lot with our children and they both agree this is one of the best places we've stayed. This will be our new London "home" whenever we get the good fortune to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerFromTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We recently stayed at Coach House as part of a holiday throughout the UK and Ireland. London was the first stop on our tour and Meena and Harley were kind enough to arrange a car to pick us up at the airport and bring us to Coach House. Coach House is located a five minute walk to the Balham underground, making it a convenient location just outside center. Coach House itself was spacious, with a small and tastefully decorated kitchen, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Breakfast was served in the main house and Meena's cooking was spectacular! The days we left early to sightsee, Meena and Harley left a wide array of breakfast foods in the Coach House for our consumption. Harley and Meena were friendly, approachable and very helpful in giving directions and taking a genuine interest in our plans for the day.
However, we have two reservations in recommending Coach House to other travelers. The main floor bedroom became EXTREMELY damp- despite having the windows closed- enough to make your clothes and sheets noticeably damp (not the most appealing after a long day of travelling). The second, and perhaps greater issue, was the complete lack of hot water and water pressure. Though we were informed that hot water was in short supply, and we could not manage more than two showers at a time, we found the hot water lasted no more than 2 minutes per shower in the downstairs bathroom. This 2 minutes of "hot" water was more an alternating patterm of scalding and frigid droplets trickling from the shower head. During our time in London, it rained with more gusto than this shower could muster! Furthermore, the upstairs shower came with an instructional manual, which even when followed diligently, failed to work at all- leaving 4 people to use the downstairs, very small, shower. For a building marketed to accommodate five people, the showering facilities were totally inadequate- even for a couple.
The dampness combined with the showering facilities detracted from an otherwise pleasant stay. For the price, we would recommend searching for comparable accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TilSummerComesAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#98 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#593 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
FlexiStay Aparthotel Tooting London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#328 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Balham Lodge
#103 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#24 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 2 Tunley Road, London SW17 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing