We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food shame about the wine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Babinodas

Babinodas
Ranked #8,146 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good food shame about the wine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had a lovely group dinner here of meze. Food and service was good. Only complaint was that there wasn't a lot of room around the tables and the house red was rubbish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foxholes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Visited with some friends to show them a traditional Greek meze. The food here is as close as I have ever come to my family's home cooked Cypriot food. Everything is fresh, cooked on the grill and to order, and comes in generous portions. No messing about, just great food in a lovely, clean restaurant with very attentive and friendly staff. This is always my go-to for Greek food in London.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“under new management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We used this restaurant quite a lot about twelve years ago but stopped going due to price/portion of food especially for meze and quality/price of Greek wine.
We was recommended to try it again by a friend as now under new management.
Food was very good we had a table of five of us and three had the meze the owner said if we needed any more of any of the courses just ask. Needles to say we didn`t, also the red house wine had some body in it (not like a watered down Ribena).
All in all good food, friendly staff and a good evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B/WOOD ENGLAND
Level Contributor
186 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“The Finest Meze”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

It was a 50th Birthday celebration that brought us to this fine Greek restaurant. As so many Greek restaurant's have closed in our area, it was a fine treat. The first course was a selection of dips, Humous, Tzatiki, Taramosalata etc, with prawns, mussels and smoked mackerel. Lovely a meal in its self. Then the second course, fish dishes Garlic Prawns, Mullet, Calamari, Salmon and salad. Now we are quite full and an hour later the final course, the meat, full of flavor Lamb chops, marinated chicken, there were other meat dishes that I did not try, as I was full to busting point. My partner and I washed this feast down with a lovely wine from Cyprus (Aphrodite). This was truly super evening with good friends and family. In a extremely busy restaurant, that is run by great team of waiters and waitress's. True value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANTHONY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Greek dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I've been coming to this restaurant for YEARS and I have never been disappointed.

We always get the Meze and being Greek ourselves know that this is the real deal.

The staff are friendly, well mannered and attentive and being regulars they always remember us.

Would not swap this place for another and would always choose them over the other local Greek places.

LONG LIVE BABINONDAS!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babinodas also viewed

 
Enfield, Greater London
London, England
 
Barnet, Greater London
 

Been to Babinodas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing