We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Taste Of Italy”
Review of Il Fornello

Il Fornello
Ranked #5,050 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bloomsbury
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“A Little Taste Of Italy”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I was in the area on business and was going to visit a chinese in the same road however i was tempted by the thought of a pizza.
The restaurant has a very authentic Italian feel to it, the waiters were very good even altering the starter for me.
I had a pasta with garlic followed by a pizza with peroni. all very enjoyable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    134
    56
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant must go!!!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have eaten here many times when in London and love it every time. The girl's are just lovely and the food is superb.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank estheryou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marburg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive, for what they offer”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The food was ok, though not outstanding, and I appreciated it was opened late and the staff was nice, but the bill was sort of expensive for the quality.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cberghoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Classic trattoria, like a time warp”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Don't expect The River Cafe or Jamie's Italian. The only concession to trendiness is a 'Focaccia' that is actually a disc of pizza dough with rosemary and garlic. Bloomin' lovely though, as was the immense dish of lasagne verde, that was creamy, meaty and so comforting. We found the service wrm and friendly. All in all, an old fashioned eating expeience, and none the worse for it, with old fashioned prices too. Loved it

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly service, accommodating chef”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a delightful find! My group of five walked over from Montague on the Gardens. When the extensive menu didn't provide anything of interest for my mother-in-law, the chef graciously accommodated a special request. The service was attentive and friendly. The food rocked!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneInMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Fornello also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing