We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Traditional London pub”

The Mitre in Lancaster Gate
Ranked #1,552 of 24,648 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice Traditional London booze. Far enough off the beaten track, not to be a tourist trap. Great friendly service, good choice of beers and lagers.

Thank Mike_Steed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For nearly 30 years we have visited the Mitre for drinks and/or dinner. This year it was a terrible disappointment, staff unfriendly, not too clean and meals not very enjoyable. We will not be returning. A pity as we had two young adult grandsons with us who had not visited previously and they were not impressed. They reside in London

Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lorraine,
This is James the general manager of the Mitre.
I am so sorry you had such a disappointing visit. As you will hopefully see from the rest of the reviews on tripadvisor that apart from the odd blip we are still regarded as a great pub to visit. Unfortunately it looks like you got that blip for which I am truly sorry, especially as you have been coming in for so long
I do take these issues very seriously as you can see from the replies to all reviews on tripadvisor. I would really appreciate some more detailed feedback if possible so we can fix what went wrong. Also i would love to be able to restore your faith in the Mitre by offering you to revisit for a meal on the house (even if its for your grandsons as they live close). If you are happy to email with more information or want to come back please email me at mitrelancastergate@youngs.co.uk
I hope we can carry on hosting you in the future
Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived early evening and was looking over the menu, when the menu's were changed. We had looked at the lunch menu and were given the evening menu....the items were still the same but the prices for some of them had increased significantly. Ordered food and despite it taking a good while to arrive it was hot and of good quality and size. Good range of beers and very good service.....would go here again if in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Paul,
Thank you for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your meal and that it was worth the wait.
With regards to the menu pricing, the only thing on the menu that changes price in the evening is the steak as we go from a flat iron steak to a far better quality sirloin steak in the evening. I am guessing this is what you wanted. Sorry if that wasnt made clear
we hope to see you again in the future

kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I know this is just a pub - a rather pleasant one at that - and I only went there to meet a friend for a bite of lunch, admittedly on a Monday, but my interesting-sounding chicken, ham and avocado sandwich was cardboard-dry, despite me adding lashings of mayo, and the bread was distinctly stale. My friend, who had cauliflower soup with sourdough bread, reported that, although the soup was OK, her bread too was stale. To make matters worse, the Young's bitter was cloudy, flat and just a little sour

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPlatford, General Manager at The Mitre in Lancaster Gate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,
This is James, the general manager of the Mitre pub
Thank you for your recent review
I am so sorry it was such a disappointing experience. At the Mitre we are proud to be serving seasonal British food that is prepared from scratch in our kitchen. This time it looked like we let you down with the quality of the bread (one of the few things we actually buy in!). I can assure you i will be taking this up with the chefs to ensure it doesn't happen again
To try and restore your faith in the Mitre i would love to invite you back to try us out again. if you would like to take me up on the offer please email us at mitrelancastergate@youngs.co.uk
Kind regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a very good lunch today at The Mitre. We got an excellent chicken, a very good fish & chips and a very good hamburger in a friendly atmosphere. The team at The Mitre was obviously making sure that everything was going well and they checked several times how we were doing. Definitely a nice place for a family lunch or a dinner with friends. Thumbs up for a nice Sunday lunch !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mitre in Lancaster Gate also viewed

 

Been to The Mitre in Lancaster Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing