We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed lunch with great service”
Review of The Phene

The Phene
Ranked #5,677 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$20 - US$52
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Chelsea
Description: Set in the heart of residential Chelsea, a short walk from the Kings Road, The Phene has been a pub at the centre of the community since 1853. The Phene is comprised of an airy ground floor bar, a large leafy garden, an exceptional restaurant serving modern British cooking, and two private dining rooms on the first and second floor.
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxed lunch with great service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

At the end of a long weekend trip to London my wife, eldest daughter and I decided to take a stroll back to Westminster along the embankment after exploring the Kings Road. To set us up for the walk we decided to have a lunchtime drink in The Phene. After a warm welcome on a typical rainy May day and ordering drinks from the friendly barman we sat at a table in the bar.

A brief examination of the menu soon convinced us to stay for food and we were glad we did. My wife and daughter both ordered the burger, one with pulled pork the other without, the meat was juicy, bun substantial yet light and the skin on fries crispy and not remotely oily. My wife was most impressed with the coleslaw which she reported to be like none she'd had before.

I opted for the quinoa and grilled broccoli salad which I was glad to see came with roasted sweet potato rather than lettuce! As I still believe "salad" to be a four letter word I added the chicken which was cooked to perfection.

The service was exemplary with the waitress attentive yet not imposing and the aforementioned barman cheerful and ready to serve.

We will undoubtedly visit again when we next return to London and would wholeheartedly recommend to others.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    99
    51
    51
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Went on a Friday night with a girlfriend to grab some beers, enjoy the sun on their outside patio for the short bit it while it was out and have dinner.

Food: My girlfriend and I both ordered the burger. She added the pulled pork and I added the bacon to our burgers. Clearly we know how to eat! Unfortunately being from the states we expected our pulled pork and bacon to taste differently and were both disappointed. The burger itself is yummy as is.

Drinks: We ordered two beers with dinner.

Price: For two people we paid 45.28 GBP.

Ambiance: The outdoor patio is great when the weather is nice. Definitely get there early since it's first come first serve. The space inside is very welcoming and cozy.

Service: Everyone from the bartender, hostess and server were all very friendly.

Would I go back? Definitely! It's a great spot in Chelsea.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
414 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Chelsea Set Pub”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great buzz on a Saturday and a lovely garden, which does close at 10.00 so get inside quick for room in the bar. The wine list is very good starting at about £20.00 a bottle which is about right for the area. Most of the clientele are young Chelsea residents and the pub had a great atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Good food and well presented”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had lunch here last week with friends and all the kids so were quite a few of us. Had a great table tucked out of the way - this place is very busy and as the day was good was extremely full.

Food choice was good and something to suit all 8 of us. Had the sharing platters as starters which everyone enjoyed.

Overall a good food experience with good service the waitress was also on hand to make sure we had what we needed

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ian239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing! Appalling service.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

So disappointed with this venue. Very poor service, no organisation or structure. Went today for some food and drinks, staff were not helpful at all,we struggled to get there attention to ask for menus, eventually we managed to get some after asking 2 different staff members, 45 minutes after arriving, unfortunately neither returned to take our order, so we left after another 25 minutes of sitting with the menus in front of us. Would return for drinks,but not for food. Alot of improvements needed!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Phene also viewed

 
 

Been to The Phene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing