We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy lebanese food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diwan Restaurant

Diwan Restaurant
Ranked #9,266 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Marylebone
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy lebanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

If you're looking for good, quick lebanese food, Diwan on Oxford Street is the place to go. Best hummus I've ever eaten, friendly atmosphere, great location, nice staff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SonjaBirnbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    4
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Average, but then became poor because of rude service...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

As a local to the area, I just gave this a whirl and wish I hadn't... I had a wrap and asked for more salad and was given the worst look ever... He then bagged it up and slammed it on the counter... Lucky you guys take the money first before "cooking" as I would have walked... the wrap contents were over overfried and then microwaved... If you think this place rocks then you obviously havent been to a decent lebanese...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

very tasty food and good and quick service
central london. cheap prices. lebanon food. close to shopping streets

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MalyMiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
393 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“£43 for 2...crap food and a rip off...trust me, go elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hummus was fine but the chicken shawarma main course was terrible...the chicken was dry and tasteless...and not cheap at £13.50. I mentioned it to the waiter and he replied "that's how it comes". I told him that I had eaten at many Lebanese restaurants and I had never had it like this. He came back later and said that the chef had left it on too long....what a load of bull...it was not burnt, it was just old and crap.

We had mint tea after the meal. It was a normal tea bag with a sprig of mint in it. It was very bitter and we could not finish it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rkjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great, cheap, delish.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We got the Diwan dinner to see what Lebanese food was like and it was so delicious. Great, fresh textures and flavors. Were converted.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Partyplanner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diwan Restaurant also viewed

 
Stratford City, London
 

Been to Diwan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing