We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veterans in London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victory Services Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victory Services Club
Ranked #6 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Veterans in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

You can share the experience of staying at the Victory Services Club if you are military retiree and become a member or are a member of the Marine Memorial Club in San Francisco. Don't forget to bring proof of service. Joining the Victory Services Club is cheaper. My husband and I have stayed there before and are headed back this spring. The location is fabulous - right by the Marble Arch/Hyde Park and the 'Tube'. Walking distance to most everything (as are many major cities in Europe).

There is a new wing called the Centenary which has some air conditioning (not a must in Europe) and more upgrades. The older Memorial wing is not air conditioned but still has many en-suites and more than adequate.

This is not super luxurious but lovely enough by European standards and is the best deal you can get in London. Ask for the great local pubs to eat and drink. At the bar you can meet many WWII vets from the UK who have great stories to tell.

REMEMBER - you must be either retired or active duty from a NATO country (includes the USA). Check out their website www.vsc.co.uk

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the Memorial wing face out toward Hyde Park and are noisey due traffic under yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel_Hints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    173
    27
    7
    10
See reviews for
141
195
79
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

As a woman who often travels solo I know that unless you pay a king's ransom London hotels can be pretty lacking in soul, so I value the Victory for its safety, its friendly and welcoming staff and the security which comes from knowing that it's members only.
The newly refurbished rooms are spotlessly clean, there's free wifi, an open, relaxing lounge with long sofas and a Scandinavian-style fireplace, plus a quiet reading room where you can get a few hours' work done. I have stayed in the outstanding-value 'shared facilities' rooms, and found the spotless bathrooms two steps from my door - and I seemed to be the only person using them. Breakfasts are generous (there's even porridge). An absolute haven if you're lucky enough to be eligible to join this club. What are you waiting for?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hanna_Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The Victory Services Club is one of life’s little secrets and what a gem it is.

The club is not pretentious, and being an all ranks you have a wonderful mix of people who all have one thing in common, they have served their country.

The rooms by London standards are spacious, always clean and well appointed. Not all rooms have en-suite facilities but you will know this at the time of booking, remember it is a club, not a hotel.

Food in the restaurant is variable from good to exceptional, but never bad. More importantly if you are on your own you can dine alone without feeling awkward, something I value when staying away on business. Breakfast is a feast to behold and food in the bar area ticks all the boxes.

As a club, there is an air of civility and friendship you rarely get in hotels and the prices as you would expect are hugely competitive.

I have been a member of better clubs in London but have paid a King’s ransom for the privilege. The VSC ticks all the boxes and if you qualify for membership and need to stay in London, you will not find a more enjoyable, friendly and well-appointed place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicholas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

You have to be a member of this club. I stay here regularly and love it. Spotlessly clean rooms. A great bar and more than adequate restauarnt. Fantastic location near Marble Arch. The staff are friendly and seem to like their jobs because I always see the same faces. It is nice to be welcomed back like an old friend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rbaileyhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I booked a room in your hotel for the 17 Jan and 18 Jan for me and my boyfriend to stay in while he was on R and R, upon arrival the lobby was lovely however when we approached the desk and explained he was on R and R and provided his flight details and confirmations we were told he needed a letter of his boss could we ring him? Or even email him? We explained that being on tour means they do not get constant access to emails and ring him was out of the question the receptionist told us several times to try and ring his boss while we were staying there even though we explained several times we could not do this it was almost she was not listening to us and quite frankly did not care, we did not mind paying the full price however i was told on the phone all that was needed was confirmation that he was on R and R which we provided, it was the mere attitude of the staff that upset us.

Once we got to the room quite frankly we were disgusted as my boyfriend stated his accommodation at the base in Afghan was at a better standard and both commented we have both stayed in better army bases for the trainees and even college students, the room was cold so much so we were both sat in coats freezing, the room was stuffy and the windows did not open to air it out. The bed had a thin sheet with another sheet underneath that was even thinner!!! The room was dirty and not at all sleepable. My boyfriend went to reception asking to be moved into another room on the other wing with the offer of paying the difference as we did not get the discount we were told we would have, he was told the hotel was full. We promptly looked for other hotels to stay in this resulted in us having to pay out twice as much to go and stay in another hotel. When we went to the reception to check out only an hour after we had checked in another receptionist did not ask why we were checking out so soon but just said you still have to pay, we commented we knew this but wanted to leave she replied well you've paid that's fine, never once did she ask what could she do to improve our stay or even ask us why we were leaving she was just bothered about us paying for the room.

The room and customer service was disgusting, i would not advice this hotel to anyone let alone a soldier on R and R from a tour who wants some where nice to relax and enjoy home comforts before they go back to a war zone. We were both shocked and appalled by what we given as a hotel room for the serving. This hotel was recommended to us and to be honest it will not be recommended to anyone else, the person who recommended this hotel to us apologized so much for the let down in what he was told would be a lovely break away. Had we of checked the reviews on the place it would not of booked or even considered but as stated someone suggested it for us.

I hope that the hotel was proud of the service they provided for us for only being interested in the money of us and not how we felt. There are a lot more problems that can be named about the hotel the mere fact we had to get into a service lift to reach our room just to name one suggests that the hotel and staff need a lot of work to make it a place where someone would want to spend a night, because at the minute it is no where close to being acceptable.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank CeilidhChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire (Rhondda!)
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This Hotel is primarily a Club. You need to become a member, but you do have to be Military Services, ex Military, Family or friend for entrance. The membership cost is very little, paid annually. The staff are great, helpful and friendly. The location is just right tucked away just off Marble Arch. There is car parking at a discounted rate under Marble Arch 5 mins walk away from the club. I have stayed a number of times and will keep using it. Folks if you're Military or ex get in there well worth it!!

Room Tip: Ask for en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TaffR0berts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at beginning of January 2012, had booked tickets for Da Vinci Exhibition at National Gallery. This is a very busy area but the Club is a haven of peace. We had a delicious evening meal, sat in the tranquil bar area for a nightcap. Breakfast is included in room price. If you can stay then you should. Centenary Wing is more modern but the old wing is currently undergoing renovation. Local area, Edgware Road is culturally diverse with maily middle eastern influences, Hyde park and Oxford Street just around the corner!

Room Tip: Centenary Wing is more modern of the choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJDSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#66 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#140 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#18 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Services Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Services Club

Property: Victory Services Club
Address: 63-79 Seymour Street, London W2 2HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victory Services Club (VSC) is a Tri-Service, all ranks, Members Club for retired and serving members of the Armed Forces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victory Services Club Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing