We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, excellent room and extremely good valye for money.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victory Services Club
Ranked #6 of 824 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic location, excellent room and extremely good valye for money.”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Fantastic location, excellent room and extremely good valye for money.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socpbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    184
    27
    7
    10
See reviews for
144
206
83
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Coming up to town for a museum vist or a spot of shopping staying at the VSC is always a delight. The staff are warm and welcoming, the rooms a high standard and recently the restaurant food has been of a really high standard - not that it was not good before but the menu is more imaginative. Cannot recommend it too highly - well done VSC.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back are less noisy - not the fault of the VSC but London is a 24/7 city!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avidtraveller096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Debbie and I have used the Victory over many years and they still impress, the upgraded rooms are to a high standard, the food is good, the bar better :) If you are country folk like us you may notice some of the London noise, not the fault of the club, the windows are double glazed but so many emergency sirens.

Room Tip: Phone and asked for one of upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcodeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights.

We were in the new wing and the room was modern, clean and spacious. The food at breakfast was brilliant and the location was perfect. Easy to get to and at the end of Oxford St (to my girlfriend's) delight.

Top tip: Book your car into Northolt with your ID and get the tube to it if you are coming from West of London!

I will definately come again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have stayed at the VSC a number of times over the years and it is always an enjoyable experience. The staff are friendly and professional from the moment you enter the front door to the moment you leave at the end of your stay. It is highly convenient to Oxford Street and the entire "West End" experience as well as being good value for money.

There is an ongoing programme of improvements. By a pure coincidence we stayed in the same room (660) as we had stayed in a couple of years earlier. The decor and facilities are probably due an upgrade in the near future, but we had a flat screen television in the room, were able to turn the central heating on and off as required, open and shut the windows etc. The bathroom facilities were spacious with excellent hot water and shower facilities and unlike some hotels I have stayed in we had room to move and spread ourselves out a little. Each morning the friendly cleaning staff came through to service the room and were always happy to work around our requirements so we were not disturbed.

We were on a "bed & breakfast" tarriff and the breakfasts in the dining room downstairs provided any sort of breakfast you required from "full English" to "Continental" but the fruit selection was a particular highlight for me given that we stayed in the middle of winter when fruit selections are always a bit more challenging for caterers.

Under points for improvement I would mention two specific items. 1. The WiFi signal tends to be rather weak at this end of the VSC so I didn't bother with it. 2. The extractor fan in the bathroom needs servicing so that it works when the excellent hot showers are flowing. But these are minor points and overall I am once again delighted to have had an enjoyable time staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erasmus16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

You can share the experience of staying at the Victory Services Club if you are military retiree and become a member or are a member of the Marine Memorial Club in San Francisco. Don't forget to bring proof of service. Joining the Victory Services Club is cheaper. My husband and I have stayed there before and are headed back this spring. The location is fabulous - right by the Marble Arch/Hyde Park and the 'Tube'. Walking distance to most everything (as are many major cities in Europe).

There is a new wing called the Centenary which has some air conditioning (not a must in Europe) and more upgrades. The older Memorial wing is not air conditioned but still has many en-suites and more than adequate.

This is not super luxurious but lovely enough by European standards and is the best deal you can get in London. Ask for the great local pubs to eat and drink. At the bar you can meet many WWII vets from the UK who have great stories to tell.

REMEMBER - you must be either retired or active duty from a NATO country (includes the USA). Check out their website www.vsc.co.uk

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the Memorial wing face out toward Hyde Park and are noisey due traffic under yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel_Hints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

As a woman who often travels solo I know that unless you pay a king's ransom London hotels can be pretty lacking in soul, so I value the Victory for its safety, its friendly and welcoming staff and the security which comes from knowing that it's members only.
The newly refurbished rooms are spotlessly clean, there's free wifi, an open, relaxing lounge with long sofas and a Scandinavian-style fireplace, plus a quiet reading room where you can get a few hours' work done. I have stayed in the outstanding-value 'shared facilities' rooms, and found the spotless bathrooms two steps from my door - and I seemed to be the only person using them. Breakfasts are generous (there's even porridge). An absolute haven if you're lucky enough to be eligible to join this club. What are you waiting for?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hanna_Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#74 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#20 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Services Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Services Club

Property: Victory Services Club
Address: 63-79 Seymour Street, London W2 2HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 824 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victory Services Club (VSC) is a Tri-Service, all ranks, Members Club for retired and serving members of the Armed Forces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victory Services Club Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing