We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great nights stay in Central London”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victory Services Club
Ranked #6 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Yet another great nights stay in Central London”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed one night before flying out of Heathrow. Once again the welcome was warm, the room was comfortable, the bar's prices were reasonable and breakfast was more than adequate. But the Club's greatest asset is its location - easy to get to, discounted parking if required and close to the underground and shopping/attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdcontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    188
    28
    7
    10
See reviews for
147
209
85
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We are both X Royal Navy and have just found this hotel, we were well impressed, the rooms very clean and adequate size - staff very friendly, Bar lovely surroundings, reasonably priced snacks and drinks, and warm lovely atmosphere.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back due to traffic noise at the front. Take your own hairdryer - although yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

VSC is in a great location, very central and convenient for getting around. We had a double room in the Centenary Wing on the 2nd floor, overlooking Seymoor Street, which was quiet. Although this room was one of the reburbished ones, it was not enhanced by the 'brown' colour scheme which made it appear a little dingy. However, the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean, but ladies pack your own shampoo/conditioner as there is none and the soap bar was miniscule. Hair dryer and ironing board/iron were provided in the bedroom along with tea and coffee making facilities. Plenty of storage space. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. There is a quiet library for reading, which is convenient if you don't want to use the main lounges. We had dinner in The Club Restaurant which was very good and breakfast was fine too. We had breakfast one morning in The Grill Room and the following day in The Club Restaurant - the Club is much better, in our opinion, white table linen, more room, brighter and better coffee! Central London £130 per night including breakfast....you can't complain. VSC has a lovely atmosphere and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The last time I stayed was over 30 years ago whilst still a serving officer, and to be honest it was rather tired. My wife's choir were singing at the Albert Hall, so I booked a basic room for my stay expecting the club to be much as it used to be. What a surprise! The public areas had had a make over, as had many of the rooms. Mine hadn't, it was basic but clean. What more did I expect for the price? It was too warm for me, but traffic noise was a problem with the window open. Food & staff excellent. I will certainly be booking future stays for my wife and I.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms and if traffic noise could be a problem to you ask for a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

From arrival to departure this was a very pleasant experience. I have for the last 15 years had the pleasure of running a miltary hotel and having stayed here can honestly say it is up there with the best. Arrival and departure was effortless, reception faultless, concierge more than accommodating, breakfast excellant, room clean and tidy (not the best view but hey I only wanted a bed for the night). On a scale of 1-10, this rates as an 8, which believe me from my standards of knowing and inspecting military accommodation is excellent.
Keep up the good work and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferandane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Clean and comfortable accommodation. Excellent room service and Reception staff. Facilities cater for all and include a reading room. Breakfast was exceptional and availability of a tasty lunch/tea menu in the Lounge compliment the excellent dining room meals. Child friendly environment but suitable for all on a short or long stay.

Room Tip: Floor 5 quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Centenary rooms good, bed comfy, very clean, no complaints. Bring ear plugs if light sleeper as it is a major city. Staff friendly especially doormen and restaurant staff.. Some bar staff could be a little more chatty but on the whole it is a great place to stay. I have every intention of returning. The breakfast is a little hectic but renovations being carried out in downstairs room so ground floor restaurant being used at present and this may be why, however, breakfast good and warm. Plenty of restaurants to walk out to. Great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#75 of 1,067 in London
1,558 reviews
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,067 in London
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Services Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Services Club

Property: Victory Services Club
Address: 63-79 Seymour Street, London W2 2HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victory Services Club (VSC) is a Tri-Service, all ranks, Members Club for retired and serving members of the Armed Forces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victory Services Club Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing