We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant suprise ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victory Services Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victory Services Club
Ranked #6 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
224 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“A very pleasant suprise ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

As the name implies, its an Armed Services based establishment and as such has a fair population of service personnel

We were staying there as we had hired the venue for a meeting so it wasnt an obvious usual choice for me

Reception was friendly and welcoming my room was in the recently renovated "memorial" wing and whilst it was a hike it was a well appointed room, clean, tidy with free wifi throughout the hotel it seems although signal was non existent in the bar
We went to eat in the next door Lebanease resteraunt which was ok so cant comment on the food although breakfast was good

Would i stay here again/ recommend? Yes i would

Helpful?
Thank sdcsmith2000
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    173
    27
    7
    10
See reviews for
141
195
79
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

First time stayed here whilst in London, very pleasant staff and easy check-in process. Room decent sized and clean. bed comfortable. Stayed in Century wing which was nice and quiet.
Free wifi in the room as well.

2 min walk to Marble Arch tube station, did not eat in club and had breakfast over the road at Wetherspoons

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

For such a central location this is an excellent place to spend a few days and offers exceptionally good value. Staff are always very welcoming and helpful. We will continue to use this club when in London.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget the rooms with shared facilities offer the best value. The bathrooms are clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank riversiderIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Although a member for some time, I visited the Club Restaurant for the first time last evening with my wife for dinner. Like the rest of the club, it is a very pleasant, contemporary environment but on a Monday evening there were no more than 12 diners. I am no particular fan of background music, but I actually think this restaurant could benefit from it, if it was chosen carefully. On a quieter evening, such as last night, with many diners being alone, there is very little noise, apart from the occasional rush of the air conditioning. The food and wine were excellent and very well priced, bearing in mind this is the West End, and the service was first-class.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank officeadmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

I use the VSC occasionally, whenever I need to stay in London. Location is great, right by Marble Arch, rooms are ok - some of the older ones could do with a refurb, but generally that are all of at least a satisfactory standard. Staff very helpful, breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeardyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I joined the VSC on my trip to UK in 2010 following the recommendations of my mother when planning a return visit to UK from Australia. I find the location of VSC is excellent being a short distance from Marble Arch underground, bus stops and Hyde Park. As a solo traveler I feel comfortable here and always made welcome. I had booked a room for my early am arrival into UK but the flight was delayed. Unable to advise of delay VSC had in the meantime rung my contact # to ask if I was still arriving.

This visit I requested a premium Memorial twin room to see the difference between the Centenary premium and as stated on the web furnishings are comparable of 3 to 4 star but room was still very good. There is a walk from the lift past some of the Centenary rooms to get to the Memorial Wing but it is level. The ensuite was new and room was comfortable with tasteful decoration. The bed was comfortable and the room had individual temp control which I appreciated. I found housekeeping to be very accommodating with any requests eg. extra teabags, milk and different biscuits due to allergy. Also I reported a faulty exhaust fan which was repaired.

I have always requested a quiet room which means one facing the back of the property. I was on the 4th floor and passed the shared bathroom facilities which also looked new. From 7.00am there was low building noise above my room which I took to be ongoing renovation but the noise level was low until 9am when tools were used. I had a quest stay with me and she also found the room very comfortable and the food excellent with the breakfast having excellent choices.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plantmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

For a few days, the VSC is worth considering. Full English breakfast and other meals are excellent and reasonably priced. This is not the very "upper-class" London Club --- although it does convey the feeling of being "British"! My wife and I are members and use the club whenever we have only a few days in London, otherwise we rent a furnished flat for a week or more.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SwindonMcPrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#66 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#140 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#18 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Services Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Services Club

Property: Victory Services Club
Address: 63-79 Seymour Street, London W2 2HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victory Services Club (VSC) is a Tri-Service, all ranks, Members Club for retired and serving members of the Armed Forces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victory Services Club Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing