We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for New Year's Eve BUT...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #399 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location for New Year's Eve BUT...”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We booked this hotel due to the location for New Year's Eve fireworks. We checked in early and our room wasn't available, so we left our bags and told them we would be back when check in opened. When we arrived back 1 hour after check in had opened we were first told there were no rooms ready (even tho check in was 3 and it was 4pm now). Then they quickly said actually it's fine. We got into our room to find only one towel, so we had to go back down to reception this took ages (huge queue, and 2 lifts which are always busy so a long wait). I got given another towel at ease but there were two people behind me who had the same issue. I think not putting enough towels in each room and making the customers go get them is pure laziness. In the room there was no soap, shampoo or anything which I don't think would cost much to put some soap in. Overall good location, rubbish service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spicebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback Spicebob. Our check in time is from 3pm and we do expect all of our rooms to be readily available for guests arriving to check in at this time, we also expect your room to be set up correctly. Our staff should provide the correct amount of towels in every room so it is regrettable to learn you had to ask for an extra towel on your arrival. As a brand standard we do not provide toiletries however we do provide a vending machine at reception should you need to purchase any extra toiletries. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to the hotel management team which will help support any improvements which need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    780
    301
    116
    75
See reviews for
686
574
72
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The excellent location really makes this hotel a good choice for central London. It is only a few minutes into the center from Southwark tube station. the room was basic but clean and had most of the amenities that we needed. More sockets would have been useful though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank CATCOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

It was our first Travelodge experience and a good value for money. We stayed for five nights in room 422, no view, but then again, we didn't come to London to look through a hotel window (except to see if it was raining or not). The room was clean and warm, the bed was comfortable and even Steven Fry appeared on the telly. We will probably stay in this hotel on our next visit to London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SecondDoorLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very limited choice of cooked breakfast, no clean bowls, no clean plates-had to find staff member to ask for both; some tables not cleared and cleaned at all while we were there, others were but not in any rush, my husband had to ask for coffee machines to be sorted out as BOTH needed cleaning and changing. Staff had not checked this, so we didn't get a coffee until we'd finished eating. Milk had been spilt and was pouring onto the carpet by the milk dispenser, it looked awful, the bin next to it was full and overflowing with rubbish left on the carpet- the area was not checked by staff at all. When I did ask a staff member of the realised how bad the service was, I received a blank gawp. Only 1 towel in the room when we arrived, no hairdryer be warned, no toiletries at all, had to go down 5 floors to ask for both as there are no phones in the rooms. On the positive side, the room was clean (decor not my taste but hey ho) and reception staff polite. Otherwise not a patch on Premier Inn, would recommend there any day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review Louise A. Our bar café staff are trained to ensure that all breakfast items are readily available for our customers and to ensure that the café is clean and tidy, so it is regrettable that the service fell below the standards which we would expect. Our housekeeping staff are required to ensure that our rooms are set up correctly with the correct amount of towels and linen so we are truly sorry to learn this did not happen. As a brand standard, we do not offer hairdryers, toiletries and phones as this helps us to keep our costs low so we can pass on these savings to our customers and allows us to continue to offer great room rates. We do however allow our guests to borrow a hair dryer at reception on a first come first service basis and any extra toiletries can be purchased from our vending machines. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team so that they can be aware of the improvements which need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a room with two mates for the NFL game. Stayed two nights.
The price was incredibly cheap. I think we paid less than £60 per night. Worked out at less than £40 each for two nights accommodation in London.
The room was clean, though small. The service on reception was minimal. However, this is exactly what we expected. Budget accommodation.
Would stay again if looking for somewhere similar. I.e a base to crash, close to tube etc.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adamwayne007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The service we received was excellent . The room was clean and fresh .
It is situated very handily for Waterloo station and the underground system . Also ideally located for the south bank
The only drawback was the decidedly lack of channels on the tv and the wi-fi was a tad expensive

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Paulcox171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was the best option for location on our company's list of available hotels with B&B (cost is always an issue). I always suspect this chain to be cheap and cheerful, but I was pleasantly surprised at both the service and quality of rooms. No they don't provide toiletries, but most people bring their own anyway. Tea/coffee making facilities and a TV OK, but I forgot to ask for a hairdryer when booking in, and so did many others as you will notice at breakfast (PS no phone in the room either). I didn't hear any trains during the night and I could see the track from my room which also overlooked the Nelson pub. I opted for an evening meal in the cafe/bar,very friendly staff and a good meal. Breakfast was serve yourself, and everything you could possibly want was available. Would be nice to have proper orange juice though. Would stay here again for work as it is close to the London office, and has good facilities nearby, or for a short break.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#248 of 1,067 in London
3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing