We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #403 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at Travelodge Southwark for one night as part of our theatre package. It took 15 minutes to get here on the tube from Euston and the hotel is literally a minutes walk from the tube station, fantastic!!
Great welcome from the reception staff, really friendly. Room small but more than adequate, very clean and functional, my one and only complaint was that whilst there are plenty of mirrors, not one had a plug socket anywhere near it to allow you to see what you were doing when drying your hair!!! A minor glitch in an otherwise fab stay.
Rooms have air con which was much appreciated as hotel rooms can be too hot for me to sleep in,I was pleasantly surprised to see this in a budget hotel.
We stayed on the 5th floor and it was really quiet, we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast had a good choice, the coffee was lovely which was a surprise as it was out of a machine. Staff again really friendly and welcoming.

If you're looking for a great value, great location hotel in London Travelodge Southwark ticks all the boxes. It's super easy to get around on the tubes from here and there are some great pubs and restaurants in the area including Nandos. We will be back again on our next jaunt to London. Well done Travelodge

Room Tip: 5th floor was really quiet, no road noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    754
    290
    110
    71
See reviews for
669
546
70
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Was a very good staying. A lot of options for breakfast, confortable and clean room and perfect located near the tube. Around the hotel there are a few great pubs and restaurants. The only thing that was not perfect was the employees that, maybe because the number of then, they couldn´t give much attention to us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here for four nights. Staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. Speedy check in and we were able to leave our luggage after we checked out so we could go and explore before heading home. Room spacious, clean and fully functional. Location excellent - couple of minutes walk to Southwark Tube Station. Great value for a hotel in central London. 24 hour shop outside, which was really handy. We only had breakfast on one of the days but weren't overly impressed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Spent 3 nights here (January 9th to 12th) mainly in order to attend Maroon 5 concert at The O2 Arena. Ideal as Southwark underground is a few minutes from the hotel and only a few stops away on the Jubilee line from the venue. Very handy also for Westfield Shopping Centre at Stratford. Waterloo station is also close (about 10 minutes away on foot), and it was as pleasant walk to The Embankment over Hungerford Bridge. Check-in was quick, friendly and helpful. We asked for a quiet room and had three nights undisturbed sleep The room was cleaned/tidied every day. There is a 24 hour convenience store next door - ideal for milk, sandwiches and hot pasties! Cost - £135 for 3 nights so great value for central London. I always book very early and find it is often a cheaper option than the Travelodge sales!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank JennyHo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was where I stayed with a group of students. We wre in london to visit the Globe theatre and see a play at the Noel Coward Theatre. The travelodge was ideally located (though actually hard to find!) Plus the rooms were clean with great beds! The breakfast rom and entry are on the dingy side, but you can't have everything. Service at reception was first class.

Room Tip: Just ask at reception if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for one sunday night just before Christmas as a birthday treat for my mum.

To find the hotel as you come out of the tube station walk STRAIGHT ahead towards the offices/shard in the distance and you will see it on the right hand side.

There is a Nandos , a few convenience stores and pubs within 2 mins of the hotel.

Having read reviews before we went we knew they could look after our bags which was great.Friendly (asian 30's?) greeted us at reception and welcomed us to the hotel. we donated the £2 for charity and was told the room would be ready after 3pm.

we were in room 516 looking over the train tracks.

Rooms look much more modern/fresh than the Covent Garden hotel ... major plus ! Bed extremely comfortable and the bed was already set up with 2 nice full pillows each. As with other reviews the room only had one towel so we had to request one from reception which was dealt with promptly - i don't know why they don't give two if you have booked for two?

Room fitted with TV tea/coffee facilities a few clothes hangers and soap in bathroom- basic but what more do you need.

Could get the AC to work ...every time we tried to heat the room it would either blow cold air or cut itself off.

We didn't get back till late after a packed evening & slept very well - no noise from passing trains even though it was rush hour on a Monday when we woke.

Now onto breakfast........we entered the room and no staff were around. Upon being sat down a member of staff appeared looking very rushed ( one of only two members of staff but young females) from the kitchen. As other reviewer stated....... ''Very limited choice of cooked breakfast, no clean bowls, no clean plates, tables not cleared and cleaned at all while we were there''

We had to wait about 15 mins for all the cooked items to be restocked ....then they had ran out of bread for the toast.... then had to ask for clean cups ....then for teabags .wanted tomato ketchup but all tables had ran out...when I asked for a croissant to be toasted I got a muffled huff as a response.... it was unorganized, messy and basically a joke! The hotel wasn't even full so i dread to think what it would be like on a weekend morning! (this was monday morning)

upon trying to check out again no members of staff around after about 10 mins - we had to go into the bar to find one of the breakfast girls to help.

Due to the awful weather ( the 80mph gales) all trains from Euston were cancelled so we had to cut short our trip and leave early- when we arrived to re collect our bags there was a big que of people ready to check in and just one member of staff which meant another 10 min wait.

Overall if you book in advance and get a cheap deal then its a steal as its much better than other central London travelodges and the staff when you find them are very friendly however id avoid breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciePop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback LuciePop. We do expect our rooms to be fully set up with the correct amount of towels for the occupants so we are sorry to learn you had to ask reception for extra towels. It is regrettable to learn you found the air con was broken and would not heat up your room as we do expect all of our facilities to be in full working order. Our bar café staff are fully trained on how to prepare food to a great standard and to ensure that all items are readily available so we are truly sorry to learn that there was a lapse in service on this occasion. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team so that they are able to make the required improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Travelodges don't really differ so often its the location that matters. This one is great. A two minute walk from Southwark tube station on the Jubilee line, it has good security to make you feel safe.

If you're after room service and pampering, don't stay at a Travelodge. If you just need a room for a night or two and won't be eating in I'd recommend this one. Especially if you're a train buff as its great to watch them from the window!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#240 of 1,088 in London
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#410 of 1,088 in London
2,489 reviews
London City Hotel
#217 of 1,088 in London
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing