We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room for a reasonable price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Central Southwark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #398 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great room for a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed for a night, whilst going to visit the old victoria theatre. The hotel was in a great location, a ten minute walk from pretty much everything you wanted to do and only 2 minutes away from the tube.

The hotel itself was alot better then we expected, we paid £59 (which included an early check-in) and got a double room on the top floor. The room was massive, there was alot of room to move around and do everything we needed to do in the room. However there were a few broken lighting fixtures but it didnt take away from our experience.The bed was comfy enough, however there was a little bit of noise from around the room, which did get annoying but not bad enough to affect us too much.

overall the room was good enough for the price and will probably stay again , if we choose to visit the theatre again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeJarvis93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    744
    283
    108
    69
See reviews for
658
541
63
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here a few weekends ago as we were doing a sightseeing weekend in London. It was handy for the London Eye stop if you are using the Big Bus touring company (which I really recommend). Lovely and clean rooms. Tea and coffee topped up daily. Beds made up daily . Really comfy king sized bed. No complaints at all. This one even had a bar and food area, which is handy if you cant be bothered to go out. But the Lord Nelson pub opposit is great!! As far as I can rememeber :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mooshkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

i had a great stay at travelodge last december. Great location above all, and the room was really clean and comfortable, nice nights of sleep. I only wish the breakfast were free, or at least a little bit more cheap. But loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Renata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Having used this chain in many UK locations one expects a certain standard from this budget range. However our stay at Sothwark exceeded expectations. Arriving early we could either pay £10 for early check in, or leave our bags and come back. I chose to leave bag and visit the Museum of London for a couple of hours.
The hotel is 2 mins walk from the underground and well placed to get to most of the sights within 30 mins. The room was spotless and well appointed.
There is a bar and restaurant serving basic but good meals at reasonable prices.
Many of the staff appear to be from outside the UK and were very attentive, polite and eager to please. The team here all showed an exceptional level of enthusiasm and energy and always said hello and greeted us with a smile. This does make a trip more enjoyable.
Well done Guys, we will definietl use you again for our theatre trips etc.
Breakfast is good and eat as much as you like. Hairdryers are available free from reception.
Only negative is that showers have a pressure pump and this can be heard from other rooms, so could affect those who want to lie in. Not a major issue but just to be aware.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grantlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at Travelodge Southwark for one night as part of our theatre package. It took 15 minutes to get here on the tube from Euston and the hotel is literally a minutes walk from the tube station, fantastic!!
Great welcome from the reception staff, really friendly. Room small but more than adequate, very clean and functional, my one and only complaint was that whilst there are plenty of mirrors, not one had a plug socket anywhere near it to allow you to see what you were doing when drying your hair!!! A minor glitch in an otherwise fab stay.
Rooms have air con which was much appreciated as hotel rooms can be too hot for me to sleep in,I was pleasantly surprised to see this in a budget hotel.
We stayed on the 5th floor and it was really quiet, we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast had a good choice, the coffee was lovely which was a surprise as it was out of a machine. Staff again really friendly and welcoming.

If you're looking for a great value, great location hotel in London Travelodge Southwark ticks all the boxes. It's super easy to get around on the tubes from here and there are some great pubs and restaurants in the area including Nandos. We will be back again on our next jaunt to London. Well done Travelodge

Room Tip: 5th floor was really quiet, no road noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Was a very good staying. A lot of options for breakfast, confortable and clean room and perfect located near the tube. Around the hotel there are a few great pubs and restaurants. The only thing that was not perfect was the employees that, maybe because the number of then, they couldn´t give much attention to us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here for four nights. Staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. Speedy check in and we were able to leave our luggage after we checked out so we could go and explore before heading home. Room spacious, clean and fully functional. Location excellent - couple of minutes walk to Southwark Tube Station. Great value for a hotel in central London. 24 hour shop outside, which was really handy. We only had breakfast on one of the days but weren't overly impressed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#238 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#415 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London City Hotel
#209 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing