We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot complain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #403 of 1,088 Hotels in London
2 reviews
“Cannot complain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Comfortable bed. Nice breakfast (included in what we paid - wouldn't pay 8 quid for it). Friendly helpful staff. Stayed for one night whilst we watched a show so we got exactly what we needed. Hardly expected it to be amazing so it surpassed our expectations.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BenCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    754
    290
    110
    71
See reviews for
670
546
70
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

It's my second time in this hotel. The area has improved a lot in the last 5 years, There are bars, restaurants and convenience stores nearby. It's near the main London sites and has underground nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Hi everyone,I would like to share my experience at the travelodge in Southwark london with you.
After checking in we went to the room to drop the bags off basic but clean.Just two plugs in the far corner so bring a extension lead and a addaptor with you.Only free wifi in the bar so you spend money at the bar,the rooms cost enough just let us have it for free.We arrived back to the room Friday night the air conditioning was making noises even when I turned it off just sounded like water was running down the drains from the rooms above (which it could of been) the toilet made a loud noise when flushed,you could even hear of people flushing the toilet above.I am a light sleeper and did not get much sleep at all.In the morning I had a shower which made a continuous noise,so I went to reception to complain I said room 528 there is too many could you change our room,which they did to 509 a lovely view of the shard,anyway the same noises started again so if your a light sleeper go elsewhere.

Kind regards

Darran

Room Tip: Bring your earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We arrived early, quite tired, and were told that we couldn't check-in until 2.30pm. This was expected, so we left our luggage and went out. We later found out that we could have checked in early, at noon, for only £10 more. We would have happily paid that, but were never given the option.

When we finally entered the room, it had a unpleasant smell and a damp/humid feel to it. There was some black mould around the windowsill and the bathroom door frame so it seems there is a bad problem with a lack of ventilation (the window cannot be opened, and the vent in the bathroom did not seem to be effective.).

On top of that, there was only one bath towel provided. And other than a tiny bar of soap, there were no toiletries provided at all, not even shampoo. I don't know if this is Travelodge policy or just a problem here.

There is no free WiFi in the rooms. This was common 10 years ago, but most hotels now realise that travellers expect WiFi just as they expect hot water. Travelodge seem to be wishing it was still the old days.

Other issues - There were only two power sockets in the entire room, both in one corner. And the plumbing system makes very strange noises all night long.

On the morning we were due to depart, housekeeping called twice. The front desk should know exactly which rooms have checked out, so this just an annoying interruption which could easily have been avoided.

On the plus side, the location is very good, and the breakfast is acceptable if included in your booking price (don't pay full price for it).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oneinamillion12
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The travelodge is in a good central location about 2 minute walk from the tube station, rooms were basic but comfortable, we stayed in a double but were only given one bath towel and one hand towel so we had to request more, I also had to ask for a hair dryer from reception, the staff were helpful and friendly, would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneinamillion12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here with friends for the weekend, and after much deliberation we settled on the Southwark Travelodge. The rooms were clean and well kept, as were the bathroom facilities. From what I could see, it seems popular with young families, though there were a few guys stood outside smoking with beer, though this is to be expected on a night!

On the Saturday morning the breakfast service was good, and as it is all self-service much couldn't have gone wrong.

Unfortunately on the Sunday morning it was a different story, with quite a few guests coming down late. One member of staff, I think her name was Joanna, was very good, especially considering she was a one woman team! Not only did she seat guests, she was in and out of the kitchen non-stop trying to replenish the food and bowls/plates, clearing tables and trying to answer questions at the same time. The other members of staff were seldom seen and didn't see to be doing much at all.

Overall though, an excellent stay, and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sourpuss33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Fab hotel. Friendly staff, clean room and a VERY comfy bed!! Perfect location for sightseeing - 15 min walk to London Eye/aquarium/etc. 3 night stay, will definitely be returning&definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
3 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#240 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#410 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
London City Hotel
#217 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing