We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Stay - April 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #412 of 1,069 Hotels in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“London Stay - April 2014”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The room was really clean and fresh towels were provided on a daily basis. Staff members were really helpful especially Marco and always gave us a warm smile (both reception and cleaning staff). The hotel is really close to the underground station and that is a big plus for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    808
    310
    122
    78
See reviews for
720
594
74
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is in a convenient part of London ,2min. walk from Southwark underground and about 10-15min. from the river. Plenty of restaurants and pubs round about, but a fairly quiet area. The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Will definitely visit again when we go to London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is in a semi residential area comprising a mixture of council flats small businesses. It is also sandwiched between two very busy railway lines on viaducts. Having said that, it felt a safe area and I could hear hardly any noise from the trains (although I could only see one of the rail routes from my room). It is very close to Southward tube station (3 minutes walk) and only 10-15 minutes walk from Waterloo station.

This is a typical Travelodge hotel (limited facilities) but it is clean and functional. I can’t recall if it had a bar / restaurant (as I didn’t use it). All rooms are en-suit, have tea and coffee making facilities and a TV.

There are plenty of places to eat and drink within 10 minutes walk if you head towards Waterloo, and there is a pub opposite (the Nelson) that looks uninviting from the outside but is unusual inside and very popular with people eating! Worth a try!

The hotel’s location is also handy for the south bank - it’s only 5 or so minutes walk to reach Blackfriars Bridge.

I stayed on a mid-week night and found no noise within the hotel and very little from outside.
A good hotel, in an area that was fun to explore!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malc-at-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Ideal base for our two night stay and close to Southwark underground. St Pauls, Tate, Globe, Strand , Westminster etc all within easy walking distance.
Comfortable bed, good breakfast choices and excellent, helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, great breakfast, clean rooms and linen . Great location 100 metre from Southwark tube station London eye 10 min walk, 5 stops from O2 arena by tube, east, and two stops from westminster

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Murry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

When we arrived around 12pm the reception staff were lovely. We knew we couldn't check in until 2:30 but they were happy to hold our bags and treated us very well. The hotel is in a fantastic position, right by the Southwark tube station but we decide to go for a stroll and 10 minutes later found ourselves by the Thames and had some lunch at a lovely pub.

We went back to check in at 2:30pm and went to nose around the room (419). There was a locked door which needed a room key to get into the room corridors which made us feel very secure. The room was basic (which was expected for £68) but were very clean. The ONLY issue with the cleanliness of the room was the small amount of mould on the wall and curtain by the window. It didn't smell or anything but didn't look great.

There were 3 of us so we'd booked a family room and found that we had a double bed and two pull out beds. Being completely honest..... it would have been more comfy to sleep out on the pavement. The pull out beds are extremely hard and when you tap them they make a loud hollow metal noise. I woke up with a bad back and my friend didn't sleep a wink all night. With this being said, our friend that slept in the double bed said it was lovely and slept like a baby!

On check out we told reception of our terrible night (well the two of us anyway) and they gave us 3 free breakfasts to make up for it which was fantastic and made all the difference.

All in all its a fantastic clean hotel in an amazing location and I would definitely return (but never again with the pull out beds)

Room Tip: Don't choose a room with pull out beds, they're very hard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here last month and couldn't fault it at all. It was clean, comfortable and seemed to be pretty new. Had a very good nights sleep even though it was a Saturday night so it could have potentially been noisy. Very good value and a good location too being only a few minutes walk from Southwark tube station (on the jubilee line). There was also a shop right next you the hotel.

An added bonus was that we could leave our luggage and shopping in a storage room both before we checked in and after we checked out. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#259 of 1,069 in London
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Nozio Netplan srl, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing