We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Central Southwark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #398 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed at Southwark recently for one night and found it very well located, very pleasant staff and great sized room. Very clean, could not fault and would definitely use again. Nice looking bar area which we didn't use but it looked good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank olit06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    744
    283
    108
    69
See reviews for
658
541
63
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and I really cannot fault it. We were two families travelling together and we had 2 family rooms on the first floor. We arrived quite early to leave our cases so we could go off and explore. We were pleased to see that it was literally a 3 minute walk from Southwark tube station on the Jubilee Line and only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South Bank of the Thames.
The staff throughout our stay were very friendly and helpful and made you feel very welcome. the rooms were spacious and clean with comfortable beds and tea/coffee making facilities. It was very quiet with no noise from inside or outside the hotel. There was a handy supermarket next to the hotel too.
The dining room was fairly busy at breakfast but the staff worked hard to get you seated and the breakfast itself was excellent. Cereals, muffins, croissants, toast/jam, yoghurts, fruit, hot drinks and very nice bacon/sausage/scrambled eggs. The kids ate free with the adults which made it unbeatable value.
There was also some nice pubs very close by and the hotel itself also had a bar.
At the start of the Easter holiday for 2 nights including breakfast we paid £60 per night per family in a central location in London which really is great value.
Very impressed and will definitely look to stay here again when visiting London.
Well done Travelodge!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The room was really clean and fresh towels were provided on a daily basis. Staff members were really helpful especially Marco and always gave us a warm smile (both reception and cleaning staff). The hotel is really close to the underground station and that is a big plus for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is in a convenient part of London ,2min. walk from Southwark underground and about 10-15min. from the river. Plenty of restaurants and pubs round about, but a fairly quiet area. The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Will definitely visit again when we go to London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is in a semi residential area comprising a mixture of council flats small businesses. It is also sandwiched between two very busy railway lines on viaducts. Having said that, it felt a safe area and I could hear hardly any noise from the trains (although I could only see one of the rail routes from my room). It is very close to Southward tube station (3 minutes walk) and only 10-15 minutes walk from Waterloo station.

This is a typical Travelodge hotel (limited facilities) but it is clean and functional. I can’t recall if it had a bar / restaurant (as I didn’t use it). All rooms are en-suit, have tea and coffee making facilities and a TV.

There are plenty of places to eat and drink within 10 minutes walk if you head towards Waterloo, and there is a pub opposite (the Nelson) that looks uninviting from the outside but is unusual inside and very popular with people eating! Worth a try!

The hotel’s location is also handy for the south bank - it’s only 5 or so minutes walk to reach Blackfriars Bridge.

I stayed on a mid-week night and found no noise within the hotel and very little from outside.
A good hotel, in an area that was fun to explore!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malc-at-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Ideal base for our two night stay and close to Southwark underground. St Pauls, Tate, Globe, Strand , Westminster etc all within easy walking distance.
Comfortable bed, good breakfast choices and excellent, helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, great breakfast, clean rooms and linen . Great location 100 metre from Southwark tube station London eye 10 min walk, 5 stops from O2 arena by tube, east, and two stops from westminster

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Murry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#238 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#415 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London City Hotel
#209 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing