We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally adequate travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #402 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Totally adequate travelodge”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

i was told on arrival very late at night that my booking had been cancelled by the booking company and the hotel was full!!! Luckily I had my booking confirmation email. A room was very quickly found and I was on my way up in the lift. I could not fault the way every traveller's worst nightmare was dealt with. My room was clean and very basic as is the travelodge experience. Breakfast was very nice and help yourself - which I did! It was advertised from 0700 but was actually not ready until about 0715. It is only a one minute walk to the jubilee line too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    788
    305
    119
    76
See reviews for
693
584
73
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Recently spent two nights for some time in London with my wife,we booked this based on the price and location as southwark tube station is a couple of minutes walk and the london eye which we had pre booked wasnt too far away that we couldnt walk it.
Booked in no problem,reception is on the 1st floor and there are two lifts or stairs to get you there,was informed of breakfast times as we pre booked breakfast and that they lock the front door at 10pm but your keycard will get you in so no problem.
You get what you pay for it is a good 'base' to explore from,room with a bed,tv and small bathroom/shower,it was clean,had aircon/heater too,we never used the hotel bar so cannot comment on that,our room was the roadside looking over the Lord Nelson pub (who do a lovely ribeye steak btw) so there was some degree of noise but nothing you couldnt put up with,it is a busy city afterall so it isnt going to be quiet!
i had two slight gripes,one being the breakfast,i personally didnt like any of the 'fried' food which i was looking forward too so ended up having toast and marmite,there are cereals and stuff available aswell,the latte from the machine wasnt bad.
The other thing was the main door to the corridor outside our room,rather than spending a few seconds just to close it as not to disturb anyone sleeping some lazy people where letting it 'bang' shut,this is a type of door you need a keycard for so it needs to close but inconsiderate lazy people dont spend a few seconds just to close it as i did,so not the hotels fault really but it did wake me up a few times! other than that all good....
An average score from me,nothing fantastic here but would stay again,the staff i saw where all friendly enough and its pretty well placed for the tube,i would definately go over the road for a few more beers and another steak but i wouldnt pay for the hotel breakfast or hopefully not have a room right near the corridor door.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1973shep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed at Southwark recently for one night and found it very well located, very pleasant staff and great sized room. Very clean, could not fault and would definitely use again. Nice looking bar area which we didn't use but it looked good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank olit06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and I really cannot fault it. We were two families travelling together and we had 2 family rooms on the first floor. We arrived quite early to leave our cases so we could go off and explore. We were pleased to see that it was literally a 3 minute walk from Southwark tube station on the Jubilee Line and only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South Bank of the Thames.
The staff throughout our stay were very friendly and helpful and made you feel very welcome. the rooms were spacious and clean with comfortable beds and tea/coffee making facilities. It was very quiet with no noise from inside or outside the hotel. There was a handy supermarket next to the hotel too.
The dining room was fairly busy at breakfast but the staff worked hard to get you seated and the breakfast itself was excellent. Cereals, muffins, croissants, toast/jam, yoghurts, fruit, hot drinks and very nice bacon/sausage/scrambled eggs. The kids ate free with the adults which made it unbeatable value.
There was also some nice pubs very close by and the hotel itself also had a bar.
At the start of the Easter holiday for 2 nights including breakfast we paid £60 per night per family in a central location in London which really is great value.
Very impressed and will definitely look to stay here again when visiting London.
Well done Travelodge!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The room was really clean and fresh towels were provided on a daily basis. Staff members were really helpful especially Marco and always gave us a warm smile (both reception and cleaning staff). The hotel is really close to the underground station and that is a big plus for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is in a convenient part of London ,2min. walk from Southwark underground and about 10-15min. from the river. Plenty of restaurants and pubs round about, but a fairly quiet area. The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Will definitely visit again when we go to London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is in a semi residential area comprising a mixture of council flats small businesses. It is also sandwiched between two very busy railway lines on viaducts. Having said that, it felt a safe area and I could hear hardly any noise from the trains (although I could only see one of the rail routes from my room). It is very close to Southward tube station (3 minutes walk) and only 10-15 minutes walk from Waterloo station.

This is a typical Travelodge hotel (limited facilities) but it is clean and functional. I can’t recall if it had a bar / restaurant (as I didn’t use it). All rooms are en-suit, have tea and coffee making facilities and a TV.

There are plenty of places to eat and drink within 10 minutes walk if you head towards Waterloo, and there is a pub opposite (the Nelson) that looks uninviting from the outside but is unusual inside and very popular with people eating! Worth a try!

The hotel’s location is also handy for the south bank - it’s only 5 or so minutes walk to reach Blackfriars Bridge.

I stayed on a mid-week night and found no noise within the hotel and very little from outside.
A good hotel, in an area that was fun to explore!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malc-at-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#251 of 1,069 in London
3,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing