We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #417 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked this back in October for April 2013 when there was an offer on London rooms - we got 3 nights at a really good price, so pays to book early.
The hotel is in an great location, just a couple of minutes from the tube.
Nice travelodge room, but the staff at this hotel make it - they could not be more helpful. The little bar is great and serves good food. We also ate at Nando's which also was great (see review for that!) Did want to try the little Italian next door but no kids menu.

Highly recommended and we will definitely use again for our next trip to London

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is the third Travelodge I have used in London and is by far the best in all aspects,great location for underground and 5 min walk to Waterloo main line,staff friendly and helpful,room clean and fresh looking.Four or five great pubs within walking distance.Will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: we were on sixth floor and although you could see trains there was no noise unlike KingsCross
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great location to access South Bank, Tate Modern and Borough Market.
Room too basic given relative high cost. No toiletries beyond a tiny stick of soap. Biggest grievance is the £10 charge for early room access. If a room is available it's traditional to consider offering to guest and gives a real feeling of service... A nice treat. The charge is pure profiteering as there are no real costs associated with allowing an extra hour in a paid for room. I think this charge for everything attitude at a premium will damage the Travelodge brand.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Checked in with my husband and my sister for a three night stay visiting and playing tourist. The hotel was very easy to find being a 2-3 minute walk from Southwark underground station. We had a family room, room 627. Room was very clean and very quiet. The double bed was extremely comfy. A little lacking on storage space as there were no drawers, so the fact that we had taken extra clothes hangers was an advantage. We had been given two single beds and just used the spare for laying other clothes, etc on. Plenty of tea/coffee available in the room. The only drawback really was the fact that there were only two plug sockets in the room. Not great when you have hairdryer, phones, tablets, etc. A family staying with children would probably struggle there so I would recommend finding room in your luggage for a plug bank.

We paid in advance for breakfast and really couldn't fault it. Eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, tomato, cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurt, juices, and tea/coffee all available. Depending on the time it could get very busy and cause a wee bit of a wait but it wasn't really a problem and everything was replenished just by asking the staff. The food available at night was really quite good and there are takeaway pizzas available 24 hrs.

The location was great for getting around. The Southbank was in walking distance so the London Eye, Westminster, St. Paul's and Millenium Bridge were all easy to get to. The closeness of the undergound also meant that you could get anywhere in hardly any time at all.

We also pre-paid for unlimited internet access bur only two devices can be registered no matter how many are staying in the room. Again, for families staying with children that might be an annoyance.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here and my husband and I plan to use this hotel again for further stays. We

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank pammypurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have astham so do like to be able to open a window-albeit a limited and secured gap for protection-this hotel did not have this. Air condition did not work properl-published guide did not match the actual control panel-very disaapoibnted-room smelt of damp

other travelodges have had wiondows that can be opended a bit

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank andycaseydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment andycaseydesign. We can confirm that regrettably the windows for our London Southwark hotel do not open however all of our rooms will have a working air conditioning unit which will be checked before your arrival to ensure it is fully functional. If a guest has a problem working the unit we can confirm that our reception team will be available at any time who will be more than happy to help assist you further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at this location for 4 nights. There were 2 adults and 2 children in a 'Family Room'. Room was located on the 5th floor overlooking the train tracks (not a big deal as we were not there for the view and we did not hear the trains at night) The room was very large and included a Queen Bed, and 2 roll away beds. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location is great. Unfortunately, now for the negatives. The room was very dirty. Carpets looked and smelled as if they had never been cleaned. The walls were marked and scuffed throughout. There were greasy hand and feet prints on the walls. The bathroom was not fresh and clean and was not cleaned on a daily basis. There was mold on the grout of the tub and along the base boards in the bathroom. In the hallway just outside our room there was a few patches in the ceiling where you can see they had a leak and looks as if mold has formed in those areas. It is very unfortunately about the cleanliness of this hotel, because staff and location were great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank DestinationsCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Whilst it is great to hear you found the location was great and the staff provided a great service DestinationsCS, it is truly regrettable to learn of the issues you have raised regarding the cleanliness of the hotel. Our housekeeping staff follow a strict routine when cleaning a room and they are expected to ensure all of our rooms are clean and fresh and up to great standards. We’d like to be able to investigate this and contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Clean, great location 2 minutes from tube 5 min from Waterloo. Superb friendly staff, everyone we spoke to was friendly and helpful,Even got free breakfasts thrown in. Will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vodkancoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#268 of 1,077 in London
3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#454 of 1,077 in London
2,691 reviews
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £66 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TravelUp, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing