We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, however room wasn't too good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #405 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Newcastle
1 review
“Very friendly staff, however room wasn't too good”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The staff where excellent couldn't fault them, very friendly and helpful, however the room was not worth the money I paid for it! The tv was small, minimal features, the bathroom was tiny, didn't include a bath and as for the shower I could have cleaned my self quicker using a bottle of water!! Also on the night time we had to get food from the bar area as we hadn't had time to eat out we ordered pizza, garlic bread and chips which came to £17 not worth the money at all pizza was just an oven pizza and the garlic bread was hard and not cooked properly!! Was very disappointed. Overall I would not stay again in a hurry

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slushpup95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    804
    308
    122
    76
See reviews for
713
593
74
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for one night this week and it was a perfectly decent stay. Room was huge, everything was very clean and bed very comfy. Shower was pathetic which was frustrating. I am a light sleeper so being right up against an array of train tracks was not ideal. Thank goodness for ear plugs! Great view of the Shard beyond the trains! You get what you pay for and this was definitely a decent place for what I paid. Would use it again as it was really close to the tube and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggers1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed there May/2014 with my Family and Friends we wanted a budget hotel and well located and that is what we got the Hotel is well located Mini Supermarket 24h just one step out of the door large All the Staff are very friendly and helpful restaurant 24hrs breakfast was simple but very nice I 100% recommend this Hotel for a budget trip

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wife and I stayed for just one night in May, wanted to be south of the river so we could take the Jubilee line to Stratford to meet friends the next day. Well situated in Southwark a few minutes walk from Blackfriars station with its Thameslink services. Good for us coming from St Pancras.

Modern hotel with upstairs reception, good refurbished rooms. Room faced inwards into the centre of the hotel and was very quiet. A lot of elevated railway lines about and an outer room could be noisy, I suspect. Didn't use the catering facilities but restaurant looked OK.

Check in was OK, lots of student types around but no noise.

Cost rather more for the night than a provincial Travelodge but then that's London !

Room Tip: See text re an inner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mothmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Check-in quick and easy. Desk staff very pleasant and helpful.
Room very clean, with all that I needed for a one-night stay. The air-con works very well . . . . which was great after a day of walking about in a pretty humid London.
Quiet room - facing onto internal courtyard but it sounds like all the rooms are quiet from others comments.
Breakfast was excellent - it's served up in the bar area and everything is there from cereal and fruit to full cooked breakfast.
I will definitely stay here again. I've also recommended it to my work colleagues.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Al_and_Daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Follo, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great place to stay to visit London everything near tube station near and no noice ta all from outside client and friendly staff with air conditioning in all roomsI I stay there for 4nights with my family and enjoing my trip

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Danieluxjuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I booked the Travelodge as me and my boyfriend were spending the weekend in London for his birthday. Had a really enjoyable stay, the rooms were clean and the staff really friendly, especially the man who was on the bar in the early hours of the morning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#260 of 1,069 in London
3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, HotelsClick, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing