We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I strongly recommend it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Central Southwark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #402 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Vis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I strongly recommend it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was in this hotel twice and I really like it. It has a great position - Southwark is very interesting and beautiful neighborhood, it's close to everything and metro station (Jubilee line - Southwark) is a minute walk from the hotel. Staff is friendly and ready to help you anytime. Rooms are spacious and preety, they are also well maintained and clean. Bed is very, very comfortable and sleeping in it is like in heaven. Bathroom is clean, shower has a good pressure and warm water all the time. The only thing we didn't like is that wi-fi is not free all the time, but you have 30 minutes of free wi-fi every day and you can pay 3 pounds for 24 hours. That's not a lot of money but I think today free wi-fi has to be a standard and that we don't have to be bothered with it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank IvanaVis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    746
    284
    109
    70
See reviews for
658
541
65
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

One night stay. Good service, great location, good value for money. We would use this Travelodge again when staying in Central London. Recently refurbished and facilities modernised. Bar cafe very convenient.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Shelagh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countess2
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have stayed her a few times now. It’s so convenient to tube (Jubilee Line) and only a short walk from Waterloo Railway station. The rooms are spacious (507 on 5th floor with view of the Shard). Refurbished recently with nice big comfy beds. The Air conditioning here is a must for me on a summer visit to London and not all Travelodge hotels have it. The bathroom was good, with nice crisp clean towels and even dispensable soap/wash at the basin and in the shower. Only thing I would change is to have a shower screen in stead of the shower curtain. I get annoyed at having to keep peeling the shower curtain of me as no mater what you do it ends up sticking to you.
The staff were very helpful even finding me an extension lead as the only plug in the room was in one corner on the opposite wall to the bed. On checkout we left our luggage in their secure storage room for an optional donation to a cancer charity. They even offered to lend us an umbrella as the weather had turned stormy. Will defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the higher floors - as some rooms overlook other buildings - higher floors are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I changed all my plans around and ended up as far away from the theatre as I possibly could! Travelodge was typical Travelodge - not the friendliest welcome and was getting the 3rd degree on whether my 2nd guest would be coming or not. Would stay again as a base - I was in room 528 which had a fair bit of "passing traffic" in corridors outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

It is close to train station, and easy to locate. It is very clean and very tidy. Restaurant evironment is good. The room environment is neat and clear. The window view is good. The bed is soft and comfortable, for a good sleep. The toilet and bathroom is spacious. The room rate is fare. Breakfast is served well with variety of food, charge is economical. The passage is bright and wide.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank escoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very standard Travelodge room, no frills, bed, air con and a decent bathroom with decent food served at night in the bar.
Convenient walking distance to the tube, also very close to the millennium bridge and all the standard tourist attractions in London
Good budget hotel for short stays.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Arrived about 30 minutes before official check-in time but were given room key immediately. Desk staff friendly and efficient. Room reasonable size although only hanging space, no drawers or shelves. Big desk space under the window became clothes storage. Air conditioning worked fine although took a while to get setting right otherwise it blasted out cold air.
Room faced railway line but no noise whatsoever in the room, thumbs up for the double glazing. Windows obviously don't open
Adequate room in the bathroom and good flow from the shower, no bath if that is what you prefer. No bath mat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#237 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#414 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London City Hotel
#209 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing