We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Central Southwark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #402 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I booked this five months ago and the price was superb. Our family room was massive, clean , air conditioned and fresh. We stayed two nights and the room was spruced with towels changed after the first night. We ate breakfast on both mornings and it was superb value for money and very tasty. Every single member of staff was friendly and helpful , thank you ! We walked to the London Eye and Big Ben on our second morning and this only took 15minutes. The tube station is only two minutes walk away. This is a fabulous , central , clean, value for money base for a London break. Thank you again we ll be back soon .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BirdieR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    746
    284
    109
    70
See reviews for
658
541
65
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The greatest asset at this Travelodge is the staff. Every member of staff we encountered was polite, helpful, friendly & efficient. Our room was very comfortable & the buffet breakfast was very good!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konigswinter, Germany
Level Contributor
295 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Reservation & Reception:
=====================
Reservation is only through a central phone line, which in itself is not a problem, they just don't have any local information. I needed to make sure that we have two rooms next to each other, so I had to call the hotel seperately. They made a note of that and that it wouldn't be a problem. You know what's coming...? You guessed wrong, it wasn't on a problem. On (late) arrival we were assigned two rooms next to each other. Reception was very friendly.

Location:
========
The area is ok. It is easy walking distance to the next tube station (2 to 3 minutes). And you can walk to Waterloo in another 5 minutes. Even walking to the Eye and Westminster bridge is easily done in 15 minutes. Across the tube station is a Tesco express, right next to the entrance of the hotel is a small 24hour grocery store. Some restaurants nearby, too. All very convenient.

Rooms:
======
Both rooms were identical. They were decent sized (in London you often get really small rooms). They had a large desk, but unfortunately only one chair. There are two electric sockets at the desk (British three pin) but none on one side of the bed. The bed is a 1.6m, which they call king, it is more like a Queen, really. No cupboard/closet but a wardrobe style with two shelfs on top. No suitcase rack. No frills, simple and ok. Our room faced the multiple Underground and railway tracks, but we weren't disturbed by noise, so the windows must be pretty good.

Bathroom:
========
Bathroom simple again. Shampoo/shower gel is provided. The shower curtain started to change colour at the bottom, but it was not moldy yet. Good temperature and average water pressure. Lots of space to put your stuff but towel rack only good for one pair of towels. All in all no reason to complain. Hairdryer you need to pick up from reception (worked well), extra towels, too.

Room and bathroom could easily be improved at little cost by just two towel hooks/another rack and a second chair in the room.

Breakfast:
========
Hot part of the breakfast are scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, tomatoes and beans.
Other then that there were toast, croissants (factory produced, I only call them croissants because of the shape, not the taste), plenty of cereal selection (from boxes mainly), yoghurt, grapefruit, oranges, muffins, jams, Nutella and bits of cheese. Orange and apple juice and water from a machine. For the quality the scrambled eggs tasted terrible, I don't know how you can screw up preparing scrambled eggs but they were the worst ever. The sausages were really nice, though, so that compensated it for me. All in all good value for money, and a good start into a long sightseeing day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling-Wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I would reccommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet stay within half an hours walk to covent garden. Staff were great, in particular, Tarek on reception who got out the first aid box because our your son had grazed his knee. Room was air conditioned with a great view of the Shard. Breakfast was lovely and good service. All staff were very friendly. Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

After searching the net before leaving home looking for place to stay in Londoan we found the Travelodge Southwark. The price was right for London and the location was also good. The premises had recently been furnished, the room and bathroom was very good. Our room looked onto two rail lines but no rail noise was heard. Close to bus and tube transport and Waterloo station was not far away. The only critism I have of travelodge a in the UK is that a small refrigerator should be placed in all rooms together with a hair dryer for the ladies. This place is thumbs up for me.

Room Tip: Any room is ok we had a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on the 19th, very welcoming staff on arrival who were more than happy to help and store our bags as we had arrived before check in. Great location and very close to the tube. Air con was a god send as it was such a hot weekend. Did not end up going for breakfast as queue was to long but that was our own fault as we slept in.

Would recommend to anyone! Will definitely stay again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Friendly staff greet you at immaculate hotel, was in room overlooking the railway lines but glazing meant hardly heard trains and peaceful sleep. Quiet air conditioning meant room was kept cool on hot day and night. Breakfast was tasty and great choices. Nearby is underground so handy for sightseeing. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Julie-ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#237 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#414 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London City Hotel
#209 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing