We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a couple of nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Cross Inn Hostel
Ranked #357 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The New Cross Inn is very reasonably priced and in a great location. I had spent a long time looking through the internet for cheap places to stay in London and this place was definatly the most reasonably priced with a good location. I think what people need to bare in mind when booking a hostel is that you are indeed booking a hostel and not a hotel!! The whole place was cleaned every day, the bathroom and the furniture was quite old but nevertheless the place was clean and is perfect for a couple of nights stay in London, especially if you are going out at night as well! Would definatly go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECarmenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed at this hostel while backpacking around UK. The staff was really nice and helpful, they offer free breakfast and internet. The station and bus stop are couple of minutes away and the area is plenty of places to eat and hang out with fair prices (I suppose that's because the university is just in front of it so normally there are a lot of students are always around). In general the ambience was good.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but internet works better on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I went backpacking in England and stayed at this hostel for a week. Our first night we had a private spacious room with excellent views , although we did have to share a bathroom. On all of the other nights we stayed in a four person room (with two bunk beds) and a private bathroom. We never had a problem with our things, we would either lock our packs to the bed with bike locks or they also have lockers that you can rent.

It's a very relaxed place, they have a common room with a kitchen and TV and everyone hangs out in there. Also, there is free WiFi available, the connection wasn't great but it got the job done. They also have a computer down in the lobby that you can pay to use.

It's located right above a pub, and if you show proof that you're staying at the hostel you get free entry and free breakfast in the mornings. You have to know a code to get into the hostel, which they changed several times in the week that we stayed here so it was very safe.

The bathrooms are cleaned daily, and when you want your sheets washed you simply place the dirty ones out in the hall and when you come back they will have put fresh ones on the bed.

The only cons we would say is that the whole place smelled like a toilet... a clean toilet, but nonetheless a toilet. Also you're not allowed to use the laundry facilities on your own, but you can give your load to the front desk and pay for them to wash it. It was slightly awkward because I'm hanging over my bra and panties for some man to wash... also, it took around four hours to get my load back so I know he didn't throw it in the wash right away.

One last thing, this is in an optimal location. There is a bus stop a couple blocks down from the hostel, as well as a tube station. Hop on the bus and go 15 minutes one direction and you're in Trafalgar Square, or go 15 minutes the opposite direction and you're in Greenwich Park. There are also little shops in the area where you can purchase day passes for the buses.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharshleysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed one night in this hostel... Not used to London and found this hostel really easily once getting off at new cross gate. Was checked in by a lovely lady and she even checked train times for me for early the next morning. The room itself was basic but beds were comfy. I was in a 4 person room, and the room also had a fridge. Lots to do around the hostel, lots of bars, fast food, train stations etc.. One thing I was really disappointed in though was breakfast was meant to be served at 8 and as I had to catch a train I arrived 5 mins early so I could grab once it was set up and I could run to catch my train... But sat for almost 15 mins and there wasn't any sign do ended up leaving without it. But otherwise can't fault the hostel! I had a great nights sleep and would definately go back again!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrselmerfudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was the last place we stayed after six months of travelling, and it was also the worst. In no other city or small town were we this uncomfortable (my hunch is that all these great reviews this place gets are from people just starting their travels). The beds! Oh my god, the beds. More box spring than bed. You could actually SEE the springs through the sheet, and you could feel each one digging into different parts of your body no matter what position you were in. Our room was also located just above the entrance to the bar, and it is LOUD. day and night and early morning. i could hear the bass through my earplugs. Between the noise and the beds, a good night's sleep was totally out of the question.

Then there's the cost. We spent more on this room than we did anywhere else in Europe. I know, I know, it is London, what do you expect? I say, a little more for 60 pounds a night. An actual mattress might be a good place to start. This place is, in my opinion, an incredible rip-off, and I encourage you to look elsewhere for a place to stay while you visit the city.

The ONE thing it had going for it was its location. It is not central, but central London can be accessed very easily. And we really loved getting to hang out in New Cross. Its a diverse neighbourhood, with tons of different kinds of food (all cheap and good), and a few really good pubs (go to the Royal Albert a little ways down the street for good music and board games). Also ate a delish breakfast at The London Particular.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acdubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed for a weekend with some friends and we liked the place. You can met people from everywhere and have a good time. The room was clean and is not like other places that make you pay for everything, they offer wifi, breakfast and towels for free. A plus is that is really well connected with the city center and there are local bars around (so you can avoid turist prices)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rharu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Good hostel in a very happening part of inner city London. Comfortable rooms and fun atmosphere, great place for party lovers. Average cleanliness. Great views of London from the rooms at the back of the building - London Eye, Telecom Tower, St. Pauls, The Guerkin and the City of London and Canary Wharf all visible.
The hostel is located above a pub with live bands most evenings and next to a nightclub this is a good place for people who like to spend their evenings entertained. Perhaps not so good if you like to go to bed early and you haven't got any earplugs!
New Cross is a very multi-cultural area with the local arts university adding an interesting edge to the mix, making for some very unique and characterful pubs in the area with lots going on.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Via Lewisham
#456 of 908 in London
35 reviews
Home London
#497 of 908 in London
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RestUp London
#477 of 908 in London
531 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Cross Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Cross Inn Hostel

Address: 323 New Cross Road, London SE14 6AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £14 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Cross Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Cross Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Cross Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing