We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Cross Inn Hostel
Ranked #413 of 824 Speciality Lodging in London
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

A large group of us stayed here for 3 nights. It was easy to get to and the staff were very helpful. Anything with free Tea and Coffee is a winner in my eyes!

The area was clearly dominated by young people with a club just below the hostel itself and, at times, it proved difficult to sleep. The rooms were clean and came with a sink in so that made it easier than having to queue for the bathroom when you wanted to brush your teeth!!

The showers did break quite regularly but there were others on other floors which we used without any problem.

On the whole, I would say this was a good place to stay. Very cheap, with friendly staff and we definitely had a great time!

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beckyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    24
    31
    17
    23
See reviews for
11
9
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I stayed in a 4-bed room with two bunk beds. I got the upper bed. I tried to find a good sitting position on the bed to use my laptop (the wireless Internet was ok) but just couldn't. It was too springy. It was also a bit lumpy, but that didn't affect my sleep. It seemed like most people used their beds just for sleeping. The rest of the time, if they're in the building, they're out in the common areas: the many stairways, the common room, and right outside the building - drinking beer, smoking, sitting on the wooden benches that are close to the bar entrance, or doing all of that and watching the life on New Cross Road.

The sense of camaraderie is great. I kept a low profile in the time I was there, but more than once someone tried to talk to me.

It's not that far from the City of London (London Bridge, etc.). There are direct buses that take about 30 minutes to go there. The New Cross Road overground station is just a few minutes away.

Finally, it is in the heart of the Goldsmiths area, so the neighborhood is full of young people who are there for a good reason (to study in the day and drink in the night). Lots of pubs around. Cheap and good food at a place called Sefa nearby.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for cheap accommodation in a well-connected part of London, wouldn't mind sharing a small room with 4 to 8 others, and wouldn't be too fussy about spotless toilets.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

this hostel is cheap, has small friendly rooms but is far from the center of london.
the main problem is that is is located just above an extremely loud bar (more of a night club really) and that there is a lot of noise every night. even with ear plugs you can hear the bass and the bed is vibrating !

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramdam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Heilbronn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Thank you for a very interesting stay! I stayed at New Cross Inn for five nights (8-13.7.2010) and I really don't have much to complain on. Of course it would be nice to be able to flush the toilet all the time, but hey, you can't get everything in life! ;)

Outside the hostel/pub is the place to be if you want to meet people - mostly nice people also!

We had the best time, me and my girlfriends! New Cross is a perfect place if you want to have fun, but maybe not if you're planning to have a romantic weekend with your boyfriend.. :)

Many hugs to the lovely staff!
Josefine

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josefine095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

This hostel is not a five star hotel, but the price is around 10/12 pounds each night, which is great, and they give breakfast. Not a great breakfast but with everything that you need... corn-flakes, coffe, tea, milk, etc.
The location is really good, in my opinion, cos you pick the train and in 5 min you are in London Bridge station. With the Travel pass you can use without paying extra tickets.
The staff is kind, also
So if you don't have a big budget, just go there... it's nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cath_rf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Feels like you are stepping in a different dimension, the place is full of character, has a unique atmosphere a bit retrò a bit bohemian, we loved it, staff is friendly and helpful, regulars are welcoming...not suitable for fake backpackers that book there and pretend to be at the Savoy!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicoCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Via Lewisham
#421 of 824 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
RMA Hostel
#180 of 824 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Atlas Hostels
Atlas Hostels
#190 of 824 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Southwark
Dover Castle Hostel & Flatshares
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#45 of 824 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Cross Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Cross Inn Hostel

Property: New Cross Inn Hostel
Address: 323 New Cross Road, London SE14 6AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #413 of 824 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — New Cross Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your New Cross Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Cross Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing