We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our key broke off in the lock”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amber Residence Hotel
Ranked #242 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our key broke off in the lock”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Upon arriving at our room the key broke off in the lock. The caretaker could not guarantee when or if it could be fixed. We had to keep checking back in. The caretaker was apathetic, unprofessional and unreliable. The management was unresponsive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    23
    8
    1
    8
See reviews for
10
11
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fano, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We were in London 3 days in September 2013. We enjoyed our stay in this residence.
The location is great. A few steps from the metro and shopping streets. A few meters from the bus stop Easybus to Stansted Airport.
Furnishings are modest but very clean.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
We will return in the spring.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AgneseKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramat gan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Although Amber is not a hotel as such you feel more comfortable and have more amenities at your fingertips than a hotel. All rooms come with a kitchenette and separate bathroom, carpeted floors, tv, and of course a comfortable bed, small table and chairs and large closet.
The location is absolutely central London - few minutes walk to the famous Oxford Street including Selfridges and Marks and Spencer, few minutes walk in another direction to Baker St. station where is can catch the underground going in several different directions. Hyde Park is around the corner. Buses almost at the door step whether you want the West End for the theatres, or trips to the outer suburbs around London.
I just spent 5 days there at the beginning of December, and have booked for 8 days for myself and some family members for July 2014 - we feel we can't do better than Amber in London!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzcrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We booked at amber residence hotel from june 27 till july 4, 2013. For under than 100 pounds a night, you get a clean, renovated room with kitchenette, couple of meters away from oxford street, major tube/subway stations, bus stations, and Tesco (Supermarket). Don't get scared with the pics they have online, the rooms are much much better. The website needs an update. The entrance/check in area and the stairs sure need some renovations, but for this price and location, they're just fine. I definitely recommend this hotel if you're staying in central london.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mghantous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

My wife and me stayed here from 10 march 2013 to 6th April 2013. We felt like at home. Safe, at ease, comfortable and cooked our dishes. Fantastic. The staffs are friendly and very helpful.
2. We will stay here again on our next trip.
3. You won't regret staying here.
Mohd Amir Sulaiman, MALAYSIA. 11th April 2013.

Room 208.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohd Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I would rate hotels according to 6 conditions:
1. location
2. Room and facilities.
3. Breakfast
4. Price.
5. service
6. Overall feeling –would I come back

Amber Res is in very good location very close to marble arch and Oxford st.. The room I was in was nice with nice kitchen and nice showers -so no breakfast served which is ok as nearby there are many places to dine or you can make your own breakfast (few steps TESCO EXPRESS).
The price is very good and so is the service.
The only bad thing I found is the WI-FI that you have to pay for and it didn't work.

Room Tip: good place to stay in london if you do not need Wi Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benny-rehovot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed for the duration of the London Olympics 2012 . My room was ready for me when I arrived. the room was a good size for London. It came with a mini fridge, oven, sink & Television. Beds were clean and comfy. Bathroom was always clean with fresh towels. The maid did a wonderful job at keeping my room clean and tidy. There was internet for a minimal fee. They provided me with wisdom and knowledge of the town. Places I should visit and eat. It is located in a great location for shopping restaurants or a 5 min walk to the underground tube. The price was very affordable for what you get. Thank you for a wonderful stay hopefully I will return sooner than later :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#64 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#688 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#274 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#146 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#793 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Marylebone
Hotel 82
Hotel 82
#677 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Residence Hotel

Property: Amber Residence Hotel
Address: 42-44 Gloucester Place, London W1U 8HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Amber Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing