We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous guesthouse in London”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain Bligh House
Ranked #1 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Landshut, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous guesthouse in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

My wife and I have been staying in the most fabulous guesthouse in London, the Captain Bligh House. Our hosts, Gayna and Simon, were wonderfully welcoming and most helpfull in every way. We stayed in the Royal Suite, a jewel and charming, most comfortable appartment, with quiet bedroom facing the garden side. Everything was just perfect. Captain Bligh House is ideally located for visiting London.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
129
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The most amazing place I have stayed in by far.
I stayed in the Captain's Cabin alone for four nights whilst doing a work placement away in London. The location was absolutely perfect with great bus links etc.
Gayna and Simon are the loveliest people. So welcoming and really make you feel like it's your home. But also, they leave you alone to do your own thing which is great too!
The room was absolutely spotless and the bed was so comfy, I found it very hard to get out of it at 6am every morning!
I loved the idea of having my own cooking facilities, it made my life so much easier being on my own and it ended up being a lot cheaper too!
I felt very at home here and was very sad to leave.
I will definitely return, with others in tow this time to show them how beautiful it is.

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone choose the Captain's Cabin. Perfect size and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Punkyfish149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veendam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

As we made plans for a mid week exploration of London we soon discovered the Bligh House website, wich looked very special and inviting to us !
At our arrival there, we were most kindly welcomed by Gayna and Simon and introduced to the appartments.
The Royal Suite is very well equipped and has indeed a royal-like appearance, while the London Appartment is more modern
The kitchens also have everything there is to be needed, and we found things for breakfast in the refrigerators
The beds guaranteed a good night sleep, so we were well rested to dwell the City
Buses stop nearby and the underground is at a three minute walk distance
In short; we looked for a place with a true english character, where we felt at home, and I,m sure we found it !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, AL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were looking for a special accommodation for our teenage granddaughter's first London visit, and we found it. Captain Bligh House is a tiny vintage jewel of a house with five beautifully and uniquely decorated apartments, each perfectly equipped, wonderfully comfortable and spotlessly clean. We stayed in The Crow's Nest, The Film Studio and The Captain's Cabin and loved them all. Hosts Gayna and Simon, who live on-site, are absolutely fantastic: we were given great guidance and otherwise provided with the freedom to make ourselves completely at home. This particular trip, which was far from our first, will become the measure against which all other London experiences will be measured, in no small part due to our accommodations and wonderful hosts. We'll never again stay anywhere else. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithandHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Home from home...
We spent 4 days at Captain Bligh and loved every moment of our stay. Gayna and Simon are great hosts - never intrusive but very helpful and hospitable.
The location is perfect - it's only 2-3 minutes to the underground (which is a direct line to Paddington, where Heathrow express arrives), 10 minutes to the London Eye and another 5 to cross the bridge to the Houses of Parliament.
The accommodation is clean and comfortable, with all the necessary cooking facilities, which is a huge advantage in London. There's also a TV, free Wi-fi in the rooms, a hairdrier and an iron - actually, there's everything we usually need when we leave home. Will definitely return...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Hubby and I just returned from a week in London where we made the Captain Bligh House our home away from home. It was a beautiful place...we stayed in the newest room: The Crow's Nest. It's on the very top of the house...lots of stairs...but so lovely! The owners of the Captain Bligh House, Gayna and Simon were delightful. Helpful, but not interfering.
There is a tube station (Lambeth North) just about a block away, and a larger station (Waterloo) a bit further away. There are a couple of small grocery stores nearby which was really handy since the Captain Bligh House makes it possible to cook on your own.
We cannot wait to go back and we would definitely stay here every time we go to London.

Room Tip: Being at the top of the house was quiet, but not for someone who cannot walk up several flights of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed at Captain Bligh in November (and reviewed it), and came back in February. Suffice to say, I've never been to the same place twice, with the exception of Captain Bligh. Thanks, Gayna and Simon - I'll be back soon :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrinaPetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Bligh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Bligh House

Property: Captain Bligh House
Address: 100 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain Bligh House is situated within the wonderfully vibrant South Bank area with its exciting restaurants, theatres and street entertainers. A 10 minute walk to the London Eye, 20 minutes to Covent Garden or, with our excellent transport facilities, only an 8 minute bus ride to Piccadilly and London’s famous West End Theatres. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Bligh House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing